We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in the District” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1733 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now and Save $20
Ranked #62 of 138 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in the District”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We recently had a two night stay at the Topaz. This was our first time at this Kimpton property and we were very pleased with both the hotel and the central location near Dupont Circle. The staff are extremely friendly and professional. Rick will take great care of you at happy hour and Donte makes sure everything runs perfectly.

The hotel retains its old style charm but has been completely renovated and updated. We had a huge room with plenty of space to spread out. As another review mentioned the separate vanity area was a real plus. The hotel is in a mixed residential/business neighborhood so there is no traffic noise and even though you are very close to the heart of the Dupont Circle shopping area you really feel like you are away from the hustle and bustle.

We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi 1Maggie,

Thanks for posting a review of your experience with us. We appreciate you taking a moment to do so. We always know our guests are being treated well when Rick is behind the bar. I'm flattered that you mentioned that I make sure everything runs smoothly. I'm fortunate to have a team that sincerely cares and works hard to provide great service to our guests.

Thanks again for taking time to post a review!

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here recently while on a little vacation by myself - the hotel staff was SO nice, Rick, Jacqueline and Donte really made me feel welcome and at home. The room was very clean and HUGE. Not what I was expecting, it was really nice to sprawl out and I loved the separate vanity from the bathroom. The location was perfect as well, great walking distance from everywhere. I didn't eat any food here but there were a bunch of places open late night near by and if the bar closes before you're ready to go to bed there are great bars all around the area. I always get nervous that I'm not going to pick the "right" hotel (location, ambiance) when travelling but this was absolutely great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi Lauren,

Thanks so much for the awesome review! It was great to have you with us and I'm glad we were able to help you navigate through our Nation's Capital on your recent visit. We all enjoyed meeting you. And you'll always have a home away from home here at the Topaz. Stop in for a visit soon.

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

While visiting family in D.C., we found the Topaz to be in a beautiful neighborhhod which we enjoyed walking in, and we also found that it was surrounded by several great restaurants. We had a very enjoyable stay there, and also, the staff was very friendly, always pleasant and helpful. A special thanks to Stephanie, Candace and Ahmed for going out of their way! Also, the rooms were large and comfortable. We would definately recommend it, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We loved our room facing the neighborhood - the windows were large, and the room was bright and sunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello George,

Thanks for posting this review! Stefani, Candiance, and Ahmed are all assets to our team. I'm glad you had a chance to meet them. Hopefully you visit the family again soon and have a chance to stay with us again.

Thanks again for the review.

Donte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I loved this hotel -- a real European feel in an American hotel, although my room was much bigger than what you usually get in Europe. This hotel is for people wanting ambiance, style, and comfort, not for those who need every bell and whistle in the bathroom. The location on a residential street within easy walking distance of a main shopping and transportation hub made it both quiet and convenient. The staff at reception and in the small lounge were great, making every effort to accommodate my needs. Room service offered organic options. The lamb kabob was terrific. As a single woman travelling on business, I felt very safe and comfortable sitting alone in the lounge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethujana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello bethujana,

Thanks for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed our rooms, service, and location. That's the big 3 for us. So, it feels like we're doing very something right. Then making you, as a female business traveler, feel comfortable is a HUGE bonus!

We hope you come back soon.

Thanks again,

Donte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The staff is totally accommodating We'll Stay at the Topaz again on our next DC visit!
Very satisfied with the level of service. The unusual "L" shaped room layout proved extremely convenient,Good coffee from your coffee maker in our room.
Special thanks to Kelly and Stephanie who went out of their way to make us and our entire family feel welcome. Our grand daughters, ages 6 & 10 and their parents also stayed with you. The little girls loved playing with your hula hoops and having goldfish in their room.
Your other staff members, engineers and housekeepers were also a pleasure to deal with.
.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello Ray,

Thanks for posting this awesome review! Kelly and Stefani do an amazing job. I'm glad your granddaughters had fun with the hula hoops. We love whipping out the hoops and goldfish for the little ones.

Thanks again for the recommendation.

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were there for 3 nights while moving our daughter into university. The location was ideal for walking our dog while enjoying the architecture of the neighborhood. Lots of great restaurants close by and a nice stroll to the White House & monuments.
I have grown to love Kimpton Hotels for there extraordinary attention to detail and welcoming staff. Topaz did not disappoint.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msmosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi msmosser,

Thanks for taking a moment to post a review of your stay with us. It's great to read that you had a great time moving your daughter in at school and that you love our hotels.

Thanks again and come visit her/us soon!

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It's on a lovely tree-lined, quiet, safe, residential street. I got a Kimpton flash sale rate, to attend a conference at the Mayflower, a 5 minute walk. The building used to be apartments and condos, so room layout is unique. The L-shaped room was huge, the purple couch a jazzy touch next to a retro white chair. Nice work area in the "L." Swiveling large flat screen tv, which I watched from the fabulous bed. Bed linens are pristine and high quality, and the pile of pillows offers every possible option, soft to very firm. Bedside tables with plenty of outlets for electronics. Electric kettle, mini-bar, safe.

The color scheme is soothing: pale blue and green patterned carpet, new and clean; pale blue green/cream abstractly striped wallpaper.

Bath is small with ultra-modern sink, tile floor, makeup mirror, and decent lighting. Water pressure was a bit muted (mandated flow controls), but the rainshower head was modern. I did not like the strong minty scent of the wall-mounted bath gel, as it was not compatible with my perfume. I used the unscented bar soap after the first shower. The towels are high quality, thick and thirsty.

The bonus is a large "dressing room" with a vanity and mirror, stool, and floor length mirror, where I spread out all my cosmetics, bags, etc. No light in that room, however (light comes from bath and hall).

Heavy drapes in the bedroom control the natural light that floods in through huge windows all across the front. The large mirror there provides the best light to apply makeup. No street noise on the 8th floor.

Building exterior is unassuming. Inside, a small lobby in front of the bar/dining room. Lots of cozy seating areas to enjoy the wine hour. I only made the wine hour my arrival night. The quality of the wine was good, and the young man pouring was gracious and welcoming.

The service overall was outstanding. A shout out for Kelley, who seems to be omniscient, anticipating guests' needs. More applause for the young gentleman and young lady who provided dinner advice the night I arrived, and for the friendly housekeeping staff.

The special rate probably influenced my review. If I had paid a lot more I might have looked for problems: the steps leading to the elevator, making it tricky to pull baggage to/from the elevator. However, Kelley is always on alert to make sure guests don't take on more than they should, and she is very petite. The halls and elevator are not fancy, but carpet is new and clean. Had to request a shower cap. Cotton swabs were not provided; fortunately I brought some. Tea bags were not replaced, but the restaurant offers complimentary coffee and tea every morning. The coffee was a bit weak for my taste; maybe it's a D.C. thing.

17th Street (thanks, Kelley) offers an array of dining options with a casual 'hood vibe.

The value here is in the terrific quiet but central location, huge rooms, the bonus room, and the Kimpton "touch."

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1happytraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopazHotelGM, General Manager at Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi 1happytraveler12,

Thank you for this awesome review! Kelly is basically a service rock star. Our guests love her and she's a joy to work with. I'm really sorry about the tea and I've reviewed this with the good folks on our housekeeping team to ensure that we're paying closer attention moving forward. The coffee we serve is completely organic. I'm not a coffee drinker personally. But, I suspect that going au naturale likely results in a slight decrease in potency.

I'm glad to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one on the whole and we hope you come back soon.

Thanks again,

Donte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
Rouge, a Kimpton Hotel
#55 of 138 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,553 reviews
Dupont Circle
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
Madera, a Kimpton Hotel
#41 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Dupont Circle
Palomar Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
U Street Corridor
The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel
The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel
#35 of 138 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row
#24 of 138 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1733 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing