We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent is an understatement!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1733 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Morning Glory
Ranked #38 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent is an understatement!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We spent Labor Day weekend at the Topaz. Everything was just wonderful. We will return ASAP. Not because of their location, which is excellent. Not because of the rooms, which were very very comfortable. But, because of the staff, who could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Combining the excellence of the staff with the location and great rooms results in a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    313
    79
    31
    13
See reviews for
145
254
97
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed one night at the beginning of my vacation, before getting BWI flight the next day. Right up there with the other Kimptons I've stayed in. They upgraded me to a "motion" suite -- very big room with separate sitting area, exercycle, and "jeannie bottle" like sitting area with a curtain enclosure. Excellent location, two blocks south of Dupont Circle -- when driving in, be sure to map it in advance; the one-way streets make it a bit challenging to drive to. Breakfast was skimpy. Excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed at the Topaz for two nights and it was wonderful. The staff was so genuinely friendly and helpful and attentive. We would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This hotel was exceptional. The staff was helpful and the service was great. All of the staff was warm and friendly and went out of their way to offer recommendations. In addition, we brought our dog and they were very attentive to his needs. I will be staying here from now on when visiting.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

My girlfriend and I just returned from a 3 day stay at the Topaz and we couldn't have been happier with the property. Gorgeous rooms, wonderful amenities, and a very attentive, focused, and accommodating staff all helped create a delightful atmosphere for the property that really helped us enjoy Washington to the fullest. Hurricane Irene was passing through the area during our stay and the hotel seemed well-prepared - a flyer was slipped under our door with emergency information should it be needed, and Kelly, who works at the front desk, even gave us glow sticks and "hurricane candy" upon our return one night! All in all a great place - very accessible by walking and Metro as well. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The location was good for my family. We ate dinner at Morton's down the street and took the Metro to the Capitol. I did not like the $35/day to park our car. Our wait for check in was a bit long but they quickly compensated for it with complementary breakfast the next morning. The whole lobby and breakfast area was tiny and a bit chaotic due to extensive renovations. The room was a good size and the decor was eclectic & chic. My greatest concern was the obvious blood stain on the mattress cover under the fitted sheet...yes; I inspect the mattresses at every hotel I stay at. This was downright nasty - especially since the half-dollar sized brown-red stain should have been clearly obvious to anyone changing the bed! I called the front desk and they immediately sent someone to change it. That someone was a maintenance man who spoke no English or Spanish apparently. He said "no more covers - housekeeping gone for the night" (I think). He then gave us about 5 flat sheets that we tucked in over the mattress under the fitted sheet. Though the rest of the two night stay was enjoyable, including the kids free gifts, that one gross moment upon our arrival was unacceptable and with many other places to stay in the DC area we will not be back here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at Topaz this weekend and what a great experience! The location is great. A quick and lovely walk to all the major tourist sites. The hotel is on a very quiet block that is only a one block walk to great restaurants and at night lively bars and nightclubs. The best of both worlds.

The staff is so friendly and welcoming. Even housekeeping stopped us to say hello and let us know if we needed anything just call! While we didn’t have a pet, the was a wide friendly assortment of pups in the hotel.

This is not a typical Kimpton. Its definitely more basic but still has that funky vibe. We just could not have gotten a better deal for the price anywhere. For a 3.5 star, you get an amazing experience and 5 star service.

As a Kimpton frequent guest, we got a $10 credit to raid the mini bar and the NY Times on Sunday! Plus the wine reception and continental breakfast! Seriously – we loved our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1733 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.