We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service in DC.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1733 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Upper Northwest)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 50% off parking!
Ranked #25 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best service in DC.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This hotel was exceptional. The staff was helpful and the service was great. All of the staff was warm and friendly and went out of their way to offer recommendations. In addition, we brought our dog and they were very attentive to his needs. I will be staying here from now on when visiting.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    449
    273
    66
    26
    10
See reviews for
126
218
87
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

My girlfriend and I just returned from a 3 day stay at the Topaz and we couldn't have been happier with the property. Gorgeous rooms, wonderful amenities, and a very attentive, focused, and accommodating staff all helped create a delightful atmosphere for the property that really helped us enjoy Washington to the fullest. Hurricane Irene was passing through the area during our stay and the hotel seemed well-prepared - a flyer was slipped under our door with emergency information should it be needed, and Kelly, who works at the front desk, even gave us glow sticks and "hurricane candy" upon our return one night! All in all a great place - very accessible by walking and Metro as well. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The location was good for my family. We ate dinner at Morton's down the street and took the Metro to the Capitol. I did not like the $35/day to park our car. Our wait for check in was a bit long but they quickly compensated for it with complementary breakfast the next morning. The whole lobby and breakfast area was tiny and a bit chaotic due to extensive renovations. The room was a good size and the decor was eclectic & chic. My greatest concern was the obvious blood stain on the mattress cover under the fitted sheet...yes; I inspect the mattresses at every hotel I stay at. This was downright nasty - especially since the half-dollar sized brown-red stain should have been clearly obvious to anyone changing the bed! I called the front desk and they immediately sent someone to change it. That someone was a maintenance man who spoke no English or Spanish apparently. He said "no more covers - housekeeping gone for the night" (I think). He then gave us about 5 flat sheets that we tucked in over the mattress under the fitted sheet. Though the rest of the two night stay was enjoyable, including the kids free gifts, that one gross moment upon our arrival was unacceptable and with many other places to stay in the DC area we will not be back here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at Topaz this weekend and what a great experience! The location is great. A quick and lovely walk to all the major tourist sites. The hotel is on a very quiet block that is only a one block walk to great restaurants and at night lively bars and nightclubs. The best of both worlds.

The staff is so friendly and welcoming. Even housekeeping stopped us to say hello and let us know if we needed anything just call! While we didn’t have a pet, the was a wide friendly assortment of pups in the hotel.

This is not a typical Kimpton. Its definitely more basic but still has that funky vibe. We just could not have gotten a better deal for the price anywhere. For a 3.5 star, you get an amazing experience and 5 star service.

As a Kimpton frequent guest, we got a $10 credit to raid the mini bar and the NY Times on Sunday! Plus the wine reception and continental breakfast! Seriously – we loved our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This place was amazing to stay at. It is located on a fairly quite street, so you can enjoy some peaceful sleep without the heavy traffic and rambunctious people. It has a couple of eateries on the same block (the Tabard Inn has a wonderful brunch/breakfast). It is also a nice walking distance to Dupont Circle and also 17th Street shops, bars and restaurants. My friend and I are huge walkers, so we walked to almost every landmark and relied on transportation if we got tired or lazy.

The rooms are cozy and have a luxurious feel to it. The staff is very helpful and sweet. They even have a doggie bowl outside and inside to keep their furry guest hydrated as well. It's definitely worth another stay for me next time I come back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, MN
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The Topaz is a lovely hotel in the middle of a quiet neighborhood but close to the Metro and many great restaurants. The staff could not have been more helpful with great ideas for lunch and dinner as well as in providing directions.There was an afternoon refreshment as well as a happy hour in the lobby. I will be sure to stay there when traveling to DC in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel was an excellent home-base to explore DC for a few days. It was a short walk to two different metro stops - Dupont Circle or Farragut - making it very convenient to see the sights, and the neighborhood itself was also fun, with plenty of restaurants, bars and nightlife. But the street that the hotel is located was fairly quiet and we never heard any traffic noise from the room, and ours looked out on the street. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The one negative was that the bathroom vanity was a bit small. It has a very modern sink on top of the counter, which means that there isn't much counter-space left for toiletries. The only reason I bring this up is that the room itself was HUGE, so it seemed odd that they didn't just build a larger bathroom to begin with. But it is an older, historic building, maybe there's restrictions around that? Ice water in the lobby and sangria at happy hour were nice perks each time we returned from the hot, muggy weather outside.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 1733 N St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Topaz Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topaz, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.