We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Inn to your Saves list
Windsor Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1842 16th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Evesham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A modest but comfortable hotel equidistant between 4 very trendy areas; Adams Morgan, Dupont Circle, Logan Circle, and the U Street Corridor. In a very quiet and attractive neighborhood. Clean rooms, hot shower, and a decent complimentary breakfast. At $86 for a couple, a real bargain!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    70
    63
    31
    30
See reviews for
25
67
42
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We were very happy with this hotel, the people on the desk were lovely and very helpful. The decor was a little out dated but the rooms were spacious and clean, the breakfast was great with a brilliant selection of pastries! We loved the Cat it gave a nice homely feel to the place, plus she was so cute. The location was really good and the metro was not far. If I was to say one bad thing it would be that having no lift made getting up to the top floor with huge suitcases horrible, but that's just being nitpicky!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were told our room was $76 per night. We arrived and came to find out that our room was actually $96 for the night (plus tax it was $110).

Great room, comfortable beds, and extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Their site needs to be updated with the correct prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was the last hotel available in DC for the inauguration and now I know why. This property has seen its better days. We were totally overcharged for a worn out room with two twin beds after we had paid for a deluxe double. I doubt there is anything deluxe in this place. The pastries served at the continental breakfast were the best thing going.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
199 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Windsor Inn offers a good location, since it is located in the NW area of DC and close to many governmental institutions and public agencies. The neighborhood is nice but the services at the hotel are really poor.

I was charged $ 150 per night during 3 nights just when Sandy hurricane hit the area.
The hotel is not worth such value. I have been in other hotels in NW area for same value and much better experiences. I had a room in 3rd floor but hotel does not have elevators. Breakfast is very basic. The receptionists are very basic people and not courteous.

In conclusion, the hotel needs improve in service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Looking online for a hotel last minute, for one night near Dupont Circle, I stumbled upon the Windsor Inn. At $76 for one night (Nov 2012) I could not have done better. Centrally located on a pretty street. Rooms are basic and fading but clean; bathroom seemed recently redone.
The place reminds you of a inexpensive "pensione" in Italy or a small hotel in London.

A few things that were mildly annoying to me but may affect others stays: first, my room was on the 4th floor (actually the third floor but its European style) and there's no elevator and no staff, so I had to lug my heavy suitcase up the stairs. Second, there's a cat which has free reign over the lobby and lower level. Since I'm allergic to cats it meant I couldn't spend time in the lobby or breakfast room.

The Windsor Inn is not a glamorous hotel but if you're looking for somewhere clean and comfortable enough to drop your bags and sleep, you can't go wrong with this place for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Days Inn Washington, DC - Connec...
#108 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#120 of 135 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Baron Hotel
The Baron Hotel
#114 of 135 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Windsor Park Hotel
#112 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Inn

Address: 1842 16th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Inn is a charming forty-eight room European-style hotel conveniently located on 16th Street several blocks from either the DuPont Circle Metro station or the Memorial/Cardoza Metro station. Business travelers as well as tourists seek out the Windsor Inn for its rooms that offer comfort, location, and value. The Windsor Inn's art deco lobby has original moldings and floor tiles from the 1920s renewal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Windsor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Washington Dc
Windsor Inn Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.