We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll get what you paid for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Inn to your Saves list
Windsor Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1842 16th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“You'll get what you paid for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited DC for a graduation trip. As budget travelers, we book the hotel through hostelworld. We chose standard double bed private.
We were quite disappointed that our room is actually in the "Garden Level", which is actually the basement. Our room was at the end of the hallway, next to the rear gate of the building. The housekeepers did laundry and chitchat right outside our room.
The building itself is very old. It needs to be renovated.
The ROOM and the shower itself is very small. There is a sink next to the double bed. Even though there is a window, you wont open the blinds as it faces the hallway (People can see your whole room if you don't close the blinds). There is cable (small TV) and free wifi. Yet, the sheets are clean and the bed is comfortable.
Do not book this hotel if you planned to stay in your room for a long time. It works for us as we went out early to the museums and came back after dinner time for shower and sleep.
The BREAKFAST is ok. It is self served. There is cereal (basic type), milk, coffee, donuts, bread, etc. Don't expect too much and you'll be fine.
LOCATION is great. 15 min walk from subway. But I would suggest taking the bus. There is a bus stop outside the hotel. It's convenient to travel to the museums. It is also a very safe area. You'll see people walking dogs at night.
You can also ask them to print your tickets for you.

Room Tip: Avoid garden level rooms. It's not worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    68
    59
    29
    29
See reviews for
23
62
42
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We recently visited DC for a pleasure trip. We got a great price on this place and you cannot beat this location for night life and shopping. We were only a few blocks from the train so we did not need our car to see all the sights. My impression from the room was that this is an old building that has had some good use. I never saw anything that grossed me out though. We only spent enough time in the room to sleep and get ready for our next adventure. The place worked well for our visit. If you're planning on spending a lot of time in your room or you typically stay in nicer hotels you may consider another place. It was a little small, the guest help was not the friendliest bunch I have met, there is no elevator, the carpet was pretty worn, and there was no parking. Besides that it was cheap, clean, bed was comfy, and you can't beat the location if you're looking for fun. It seems like you're asking a lot to pay less than a 100 bucks in the middle of a city and expect luxury.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Hotel is in need for a complete remodel. Run down rooms, halls, Place is on the dirty side. Location is great, but NO parking,
If Windsor would remodel, this would be a nice place to stay.
rooms are over priced for what is offered.
this hotel is Only for a single college kid that is used to sleeping in a dump.

Room Tip: Always Request rooms on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We booked this hotel via priceline, and so got it at a lower price than we were getting any hotel in the area from expedia, or hotels.com. In return, we got a suite in the basement. The place was next to a boiler room and so gloomy and dark that we didn't want to stay there at all, so we spent all our time outdoors in DC. We asked them to book a cab 24 hours before for next morning 6am to go to the airport, but no reservation was made. The person at the desk simply said, "I dont know anything about it, you didn't make the request to me." Then he says: "Its raining heavily outside, a can wont even stop if you shout it down". Such hospitality.

If you want a good location in town, and care about saving money, and nothing else, and will just occupy a bed at night, go for this hotel. Else, run away from it, you are sure to find a better deal somewhere else.

Room Tip: AVoid the basement rooms at any cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Arrived at the Windsor Inn which was booked for me by someone else. Was given a 4th floor room (walk up with HUGE suitcase). Asked if someone could help me. They looked at me like I was from outer space. The room was so small, the bed was tiny, no blanket to speak of. Moldy shower and walls, Loud ac and fan in bathroom. Travel all the time. This is HONESTLY the worst place I have ever stayed! Flew home a day early, they wouldn't refund my money. Make you pay when you check in.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Windsor Inn. The staff was friendly, especially the French gentleman in the afternoon. The inn is not really fancy, but is cozy. Breakfast is pretty much coffee or tea, pastries and Cheerios. There is no elevator so getting your bags up a flight or two can be a bit of a hassle. The bed was harder than I like, but I still slept well. The rugs were vacuumed daily, which I really liked. The location is close to two Metro stations and many restaurants. The street is very quiet and is in a nice residential area so I felt safe. If you are not expecting luxury but are looking for a decent, quaint, friendly, quiet, clean place to stay then I recommend the Windsor Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I liked the Windsor Inn and would stay there again. It's a really charming older style guesthouse at a reasonable price for DC. The rooms are nicely decorated, comfortable, and clean. I was upgraded to a junior suite and it was just what I was hoping for. The desk staff went out of their way to be helpful. The location is great, between a couple of commercial districts with lots of restaurants and other shopping. It's about a 20 minute walk to the national mall.Nevertheless, a few simple improvements would really be nice. The bathrooms need hooks to hang wet towels. Curtains in the rooms would block morning sunlight better than the current venetian blinds (keep the blinds, just add curtains). Instead of the cold continental breakfast they serve, they could perhaps offer hard boiled eggs, cheese slices, yogurts, and maybe some apples and bananas - not a big expense. Also, the wifi tended to be a bit spotty. It seemed best in the breakfast lounge. I think maybe they need an amplifier. I know this is a historic building, but if they could find a way to fit in double glazed windows, it would really cut down on street noise. 16th NW is a major street.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Windsor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Inn

Address: 1842 16th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Inn is a charming forty-eight room European-style hotel conveniently located on 16th Street several blocks from either the DuPont Circle Metro station or the Memorial/Cardoza Metro station. Business travelers as well as tourists seek out the Windsor Inn for its rooms that offer comfort, location, and value. The Windsor Inn's art deco lobby has original moldings and floor tiles from the 1920s renewal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Windsor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Washington Dc
Windsor Inn Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.