We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i dont know why theres so many bad reviews.. 5 stars from me” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Inn to your Saves list
Windsor Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1842 16th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Clifton, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“i dont know why theres so many bad reviews.. 5 stars from me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

i really cant see how so many people had such a bad experience.. me and a friend went down dec. 3rd 2011 for an event going down at U street music hall which is a 5-10 minute walk away.. the location is perfect.. right next to all the bars and nightlife on u street..

booked it through hotwire.. $93 after tax.. not bad.. called the hotel to make sure they reserve a double double room so i dont have to sleep in the same bed as my friend..

when i first got there they gave me a key to a single room by accident (or maybe not, who knows) but as i was walking back down the stairs the front desk agent had the right room key in his hand to give to me..

the room was much nicer then expected.. the only thing was the shower handle was broken but it wasnt hard to figure out how to use it.. i did a speed test on the wifi, 5.6mbps.. which is much faster then other hotels.

1 thing that sort of ticked me off was when we were heading out of the hotel around 5-6pm we walked past the front desk and the guy screams "so you guys are the ones staying in room 401?" i dont see why he had to ask us that as if he wanted to keep his eye on us because we are young or something. i mean it doesnt really matter that much to me..

overall.. i would deffinetly stay in this hotel again, but only under the circumstance that they give me the same exact room that i stayed in and it is the same price that i payed because i feel like i got exactly what i payed for.. planning another trip to DC december 15-18 so ill deffinetly give them a call and see if they still have that room available.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    68
    59
    29
    29
See reviews for
23
63
42
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Nice hotel in a nice neighborhood. Been there in early Nov for a conference, stayed 4 days. Reasonably clean and reasonably kept. Cleaning in room - every day. Staff is helpful without exceptions. No elevator, but I don't care about that, although if you have a heavy bag you will be inconvinienced.
Wireless is fine. Food (breakfast) is awful. I have wondered in several different hotels around the world how they manage to serve old cakes every day.
So for a single person coming to WDC this is fine. Really suitable. For a family, esp with kids - no good.

Room Tip: no idea. go for a lower floor if you have luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I with our other team members were on business trip to WDC in the month of May 2009. This hotel was booked after internet search and we chose this hotel because of it being on the K-Street. Our place of work were also in the K-street.. We found the hotel satisfactory. The metro stn. DuPont circle was in vicinity and hence it was a great advantage as it helped me/us save many dollars. Yes, the upkeep of the hotel was good.It provides complimentary breakfast but with limited choice. it also provides a Micro-wave oven in the lobby..Besides this it also provided us free internet browsing facility.

The attraction was an Spanish concierge who was a die hard fan of Indian Superstar Amitabh Bachchan. He entertained us in the alien territory like anything. His way of mimicry was worth watching. However, all others were not equally good.

I can say it was a good stay.

Room Tip: Front Rooms as its window opens with the roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, az
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in January to bring our daughter for her winter program in DC. We rented a car for her suitcases, but very soon found out parking was costly and rare around there. Luckily , this hotel was a 10 minute walk from the subway and we were able to return the car the same day. Our double bed room was small but enough for us , clean, bathroom was clean. However everything was old and almost threadbare. Old and smelled moldy. Room temperature was good, though. Breakfast was served in a back room and consisted of pre-packaged items, bagels, muffin, cereal and standard coffee and juice. Its ok and appreciated since the alternative is walking out for 10-15minutes in the cold to go for morning coffee. This hotel is adequate for a stay in DC where there is so much to see and visit, one just comes back to hotel to shower and sleep.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Washington DC hotels ARE expensive. Windsor Inn is at the cheaper end of the scale. With this in mind the WIndsor is an acceptable place to stay: great location, fine breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. But beware, it is not 'luxurious', it does not exude European luxury, although the website claims it does. It is more like a two star European pension. You may strike lucky and and get an upstairs room; you may luck out and get a 'garden' room (located in a rancid basement lacking ventilation). Three stars for an upstairs room, but barely two stars for a basement room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Maur-des-Fosses, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We had to stay in this hotel during August 2011.
Not our choice.
Reservations at District Hotel (a sister hotel) dated October 2010 but upon arrival our rooms were not available.
We were transfered to Windsor Inn
There, we discovered that we could only have 2 small rooms for 2 persons each, but we were a party of 6 people !!!!!
Nothing to be done at that point.
We got two inflated matresses that we had to inflate ourselves. One of them even lost air.
Once they were on the floor, we could not walk into the rooms, as they were both so tiny !!!
The room on the garden floor (the basement) was even more tiny, and unbearably noisy.

In the morning, bad surprise again. We came at 8:30 for breakfast (included into the price) and nothing was left.
The person at the front desk said he could not help, and that breakfast was served upon a first in first served basis (but we still have to pây for it, whether served or not !!!).

Both hotels were a great disappointment for us for our first stay in Washington DC.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The company operating this hotel is a rip-off stay away they are liars !!! I had a an online reservation at this hotel for the Deluxe Double Double bedroom (3 nights) when I went in and talked to receptionist he made me wait for a while to check then he said you have reservation for single bed bedroom right? I said no it it is the Deluxe Double Double, then he said let me see and after a while he said the room was given to another person, and he start calling other hotels managed by the same company, he send us to another hotel claiming it is a sister hotel, and I asked if it has the same service he said yeah it is the same, I didn't rejected because I was very tired after a busy week and the difficulty finding a parking spot in that area. The other hotel ( district hotel) was not the same, it was far less grade than windsor. Apparently, these people don't know what reservation is, they only know how to take reservation and rip-off people. I sent a complaint email to the management and they didn't bother even to replay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Windsor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Inn

Address: 1842 16th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Inn is a charming forty-eight room European-style hotel conveniently located on 16th Street several blocks from either the DuPont Circle Metro station or the Memorial/Cardoza Metro station. Business travelers as well as tourists seek out the Windsor Inn for its rooms that offer comfort, location, and value. The Windsor Inn's art deco lobby has original moldings and floor tiles from the 1920s renewal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Windsor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Washington Dc
Windsor Inn Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.