We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel in a Convenient Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Phoenix Park Hotel to your Saves list
Phoenix Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   520 North Capitol St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (National Mall)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Save with AAA
Ranked #48 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
NY, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel in a Convenient Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Stayed here on a Saturday night during DC's Cherry Blossom Festival. It is located 1 block away from the metro which we used in order to get to the Festival. The front staff was very knowledgeable. The rooms are small but it is an older hotel so don't expect a contemporary over-sized Marriott because it isn't. It is very charming and had character. Free parking on the weekend was found on the side streets which saved us $40. The room and bathroom were clean and the bed comfortable. When you check in, ask for a larger room, and if it available, they will give it to you. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lproctor, Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2009
Thank you so much for your response. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location to the metro and the Cherry Blossoms. Washington in April is such a great time of the year!

We are also glad you found your room comfortable. Being a Historic Hotel, our rooms vary in sizes, but we agree, they are quite charming! We hope to see you again the next time you visit Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    366
    107
    40
    44
See reviews for
218
305
109
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Upon check-in, my guest and I found that the hotel would not give us the two double-bed accommodations that I had reserved through Orbitz. and also that the hotel itself confirmed to me last week when I called them to confirm. They said they had no obligation to honor specific accommodations booked via third parties, despite the fact that the hotel itself had confirmed both my reservation and accommodation request the week before our trip. What is the point in booking anything then? They gave us a king and open up couch, which already had sheets etc. on it, and the couch looked a bit grungy so we didn't use it. It was very windy and still cold (40’s) when we arrived (still April not July) but there was no heat available and we had a corner room on the sixth floor. We called the desk immediately and the technician said, if you can believe it, that they were already in summer mode and no warm air would be available via the dual hot/cold blower in the room. I never heard of such a thing. He offered us a heater. It took five calls to the desk until we got the heater on the night of our second and final evening. While the tech was in our room he got a call from the desk about two stopped up toilets, which we eventually had the pleasure of also experiencing on our last morning. The worst part was the fact that we had a corner room over two bars -- one of which was associated with the hotel. You can't believe the noise that these bar patrons caused until 2:30 or so each night when the bar closed, which carried to our SIXTH FLOOR room. There is outside seating and the noise was terrible. I can only wonder what it is like in the summer months when they are out in full swing. This was my first visit to DC in 20 years and it was a horrible experience.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenixPark, Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2009
Must of the time we are able to honor requests for a room with two bed. I am sorry we were unable to accommodate your request for two double beds during your stay. April is a transitional month and guests typically find the building a little warm, which is we choose to switch to the cooling system in the month of April. The noise from the Dubliner is typically well managed by the staff at the Dubliner. But to assist in managing the noise, we are looking into replacing the windows with a higher quality window to lower the sound from the street and to help the building become more energy efficient. I am sorry for your unpleased experience at the Phoenix Park Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

I was shocked to see a poor review about this hotel. Upon arriving, we were greeted VERY warmly by the staff, checked in quickly, offered an umbrella due to the rain, and our bags were quickly taken to our rooms. When we arrived at our room, housekeeping was just finishing up, and let me tell you, I have never met a friendlier housekeeper. She was working hard to make our room perfect, told us she loves her job and working there, asked us about ourselves, was cheerful and wished us a wonderful stay. I even got a hug from her before she left our room. Our friend is allergic to down and the housekeeper immediately reassured him, remade the entire bed with a different comforter, and did all this while smiling! The staff made reservations for us at Heritage in DuPont Circle - an AWESOME Indian restaurant. The rooms were beautifully decorated, extremely clean, and while small they were very cozy and comfortable. Every time we entered or left the building we were given a smile and the door was held for us. We felt like royalty! The location is wonderful because it's one block from Union Station - lots of food there, the metro is easy to figure out and very safe/clean, shopping, etc. We definitely plan on returning to DC, and we would not even consider staying anywhere else. Thank you to the management for such wonderful staff and for making our weekend away one that we will always remember!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenixPark, Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2009
Thank you for your great comments about our hotel. We will be sure to pass your complements along to the respective departments. We are looking forward for your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

Stayed a Saturday night in August 2008, took my 2 teenage sons to DC for 2 days for the sights and a Nationals Baseball game. On the weekends you can park in the lot across the street for free! Great location to walk to the Capital and the Mall. Short walk to Union Station to get on the Metro. Rode the Metro to the ballgame. Pub in the hotel was jam packed that night. Had Breakfast Sunday morning; was good but expensive.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenixPark, Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2009
I am glad you had an enjoyable stay at the Phoenix Park Hotel. Thank you for the positive review. Go Nationals!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for our fantasy baseball draft. This isn't a chain hotel, so each room is a bit different, some are larger than others, some have nice views, some have no view, so there are different experiences based on which room you get. The staff was very attentive and available. The meeting room was a good value for the price and the coordinator was flexible enough to meet our needs. The location is very good, across the street from Union station where you can park for $19/day and get a cheap breakfast. The museums, capital, and 7th street restaurants are within a nice walk on a good day. Two Irish pubs downstairs make for a safe night out for a couple of pints. Flat screen TVs, wireless internet, coffee makers, and robes made us feel comfortable. I felt that this was our best option to have a baseball draft and see DC.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

I was a bit surprised by the price (noticed someone got a room for $66!) My room was almost $400 with tax and then $40 to park my car at their hotel! Prices were ridiculous! The room was so small and cramped, I had to crawl into the desk chair as there wasn't room to pull it out. My dinner was half delivered (forgot my salad) and my room was half cleaned, unwashed glass...towel still on floor.

I have had better luck with a Holiday Inn at 1/3 the price. Free internet didn't make up for the rest!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lproctor, Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2009
Thank you for your response. In reviewing our rates during your stay, the lower rate was booked almost one year ago. At the time of your booking, we were almost completely sold out and our rates were based on high demand in the city.

Being a historic hotel, our rooms vary in size. We make every effort to block rooms accordingly based on guest needs. In your case, we were not successful. For your inconvenience, we apologize.

In regards to your comments about room service and housekeeping, we will address your concerns to the department heads to ensure this type of scenario is not repeated. Thank you for your honest feedback. We hope you will give us another try if you plan on visiting the DC area soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

For the price, was very disappointed in upkeep, front desk service and room quality. Had a problem with the free internet service, and manager never called back (even a week after the stay, after filling out a comment card and providing a phone number). They even tried to charge me for the phone call to their outsourced tech support.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lproctor, Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2009
At the Phoenix Park Hotel, our goal is to ensure our guests are completely satisfied with their stay. After reading your survey, it is apparent we dropped the ball. For this inconvenience, on behalf of the management and staff, we apologize.

Based on your comments, we will investigate the incident and respond to you accordingly. Again, thank you for your feedback as we take our guest concerns seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Downtown / Chinatown
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill
Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,654 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Capitol Hill Hotel
#56 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Park Hotel

Address: 520 North Capitol St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > National Mall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Phoenix Park, a premier option for downtown Washington DC hotels and just steps from Union Station, the offices of the U.S. Congress, and close to the city's most notable attractions, is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phoenix Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Park Washington Dc
Hotel Phoenix Park
Pheonix Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.