We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Phoenix Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phoenix Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   520 North Capitol St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (National Mall)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is perfectly located, clean and the staff is so friendly. It's a short walk to Union Station and Wal-Mart. There is a great bar downstairs. The bed was so comfortable, I only wish it had a full size mirror and fridge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your visit and sharing your comments. We do have fridges available upon request for future visit. We thank you for your business.

David Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    299
    88
    35
    37
See reviews for
177
246
100
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Farmington, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Check in/out was very fast. Bed was the most comfortable bed I have every slept in. Very clean and quite for the area. Walking distance to just about everything. Any place else we needed to go we had Union Station right across the street.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and found our location perfect for your travel needs. We hope to welcome you back again in future.

David Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at a number of different hotels in Washington. The Phoenix Park strikes an excellent balance between comfort, cost, and convenience. We arrived on Amtrak and it is a short walk to the hotel from Union Station, the convenience to transportation is a major plus for this hotel. We enjoyed the Historic Hotel feel of the rooms and lobby, and frequented the excellent Irish Pub (Dubliners) downstairs each evening for good food and drink. Our only exception was that the air conditioner in our room on the 6th floor was not cold enough for our taste on a hot August day. The staff attempted to fix it, but we needed to move to a room on the 8th floor that was very comfortable for us. The beds were very comfortable too.

Room Tip: The 8th floor had better A/C than the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to welcome you back again in future.

David Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My experience with this hotel was awesome!! The beds are extremely comfortable and the staff is terrific. Rooms are small, very European in feel, which I thought was cool. We stayed there because my niece was having her wedding reception at the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel for a wedding reception! The food was probably the best that I've ever had at a reception. She opted for stations so people could select what they wanted to eat, there were probably 10-15 stations of incredible food. The wait staff and bartenders were also amazing. Now having said that, the location is also terrific. We were only a couple blocks from the capitol and monuments which we had a blast visiting on rented bikes (there is a rental station right along side the hotel) I highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to see sights, attend a wedding/reception and get a great nights sleep too! It's also 1 block from Union station so it's easy to get to and from the airport as well as any other place you might like to visit and not have to cab it.

Manya - Bayside, WI

Room Tip: Ask for a room that views the capitol
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are so glad to have been a part of your family's special event and are so pleased you enjoyed the wedding and your visit. We hope you will return on another weekend in future.

David Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This property was as close to perfect as possible. First, its location at 520 North Capitol Street (at Massachusetts) was across the street from Union Station (buses, taxis, tours, Greyhound, Amtrak (which serves BWI Airport), Metro (which serves Reagan Airport), restaurants and shops). The Capitol grounds are one or two blocks away and the National Mall is on the other side. Although the hotel is expensive, we got a great price on Booking.com which included breakfast from a menu. The Dubliner Restaurant is adjacent and open late. There is a cafe at the end of the block. You can take the usual tours but it is possible to see many of the sights - and architecture - on city buses. The hotel decor is historic, and the rooms, while smallish, are adequate and nicely appointed. In fact, there were thick terry robes in the closet. However, all rooms may not have all amenities. We had a wall of toile-draped windows but only a shower, while our guests had a full bath and a bigger room, but with little natural light. The nice furniture and wallpaper were the same. The staff is really friendly and that part of town is well kept. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We slept well, but the sunnier rooms with windows may face the street and be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are so happy you and your guests enjoyed your visit and appreciated our excellent location and historic detail and charm. We hope you will return in future.

David Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location across from Union Station and the Metro and near several different bus routes. Within walking distance of the Capital Building and the National Mall. Check in and check out took only minutes and the desk staff were efficient and very friendly. Even though the room, on the fifth floor, overlooked two outdoor restaurants which were open late into the night and were busy, it was always very quiet. The King deluxe room had a sofa and club chair and large ottoman / coffee table. The king bed was very comfortable with nice linens and pillows. The compact bathroom had great water pressure in the shower and a wonderful showerhead. The towels were thick and soft.

Room Tip: Room 513 was a corner unit with windows on two sides. It was bright all through the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to D.C. to attend a religious event sponsored by the Dominicans from the Dominican House of Studies in D.C. at the Basilica of the Immaculate Conception. Stayed two nights at the Phoenix and enjoyed our stay there.

Our room was a bit small but it had two double beds that were very comfortable and the usual amenities. It lacked a refrigerator and microwave.
Parking was very accessible and free. Valet parking was $50 a day which we did not take advantage of since self parking was free and so close to the hotel.

The hotel was within walking distance (several blocks) to the Capitol which was in view from the entrance to the hotel.

The "Dubliner Pub" was attached to the hotel and it had great food and service; a bit pricey but not for this area of D.C.

Room Tip: Suits are more expensive but well worth it from what I was told. They have a dining room, a work are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and found our location perfect for your needs and our staff looked after you so well. While I understand that you did not utilize our valet parking during your visit, I want to clarify for readers that you must have parked your car on the street and avoided the parking meters. The hotel does not offer any free self parking option. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Park Hotel

Address: 520 North Capitol St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > National Mall , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Park Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Phoenix Park, a premier option for downtown Washington DC hotels and just steps from Union Station, the offices of the U.S. Congress, and close to the city's most notable attractions, is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Phoenix Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Park Washington Dc
Hotel Phoenix Park
Pheonix Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.