We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Phoenix Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Phoenix Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   520 North Capitol St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (National Mall)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great location, good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Phoenix Park Hotel occupies a very convenient location, near Union Station, just a short walk from the Capitol Building. My "very good" rating is really based on the location of the hotel and cost of our stay. From a critical point of view, the room was a little small and there was some noise from the street (passing emergency vehicles) which occasionally disturbed our sleep. Some of the staff were excellent, but others were unfortunately less competent! Overall our stay was absolutely fine and I would recommend it to those on a budget.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor to distance yourself from the road noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your visit and sharing your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and our excellent location. As an historic building, our guest rooms vary in size and are not large as we often state here. I am happy to hear that most of our associates provided excellent service and would certainly like to learn more about those that failed you and would appreciate if you would contact me directly with more details. Thank you again for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    300
    88
    35
    37
See reviews for
177
246
100
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Phoenix Park Hotel is a stone's throw from Union Station. Perfect if you're coming in thru there. Its also very close to the capitol building and then then all points relatively walkable from there. There was a hugh party checking in just before us...but they cranked thru handing out 25 door keys in just a few minutes that there was virtually no wait time. The staff was incredibly friendly especially Jerry at the door ready to assist all matters. It had a very quiet and comfortable feel to it. There's a great bar/ restaurant downstairs 'The Dubliner' that was a fun stop by. We received a very fair rate by booking early. If I went back to DC I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your visit. We are pleased that our team and Jerry at the front door provided speedy service and such a great welcome. We hope you will come again to experience our classic decor, perfect location and Irish hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altus, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Having stayed at this hotel on several occasions over recent years, enjoying the central location in D.C., the friendly and attentive staff, the quaint and historic atmosphere of the property, I was very disappointed in this years stay, noting a marked change in the demeanor of the staff for the worse. Our group has booked multiple rooms with the hotel over the last several years, as well as conference and dining rooms for events and receptions. A month or so ahead of our scheduled stay, the hotel informed us the conference rooms we had booked well in advance were no longer available. I was soon obvious they had bumped us in favor of a larger group. Upon check in they confirmed with me that I was staying through April 10th, yet on April 9th they contacted me and claimed I was due to check out that day. This made no sense, as everyone else in our group was booked through the 10th. No amount of negotiation served to resolve this problem and I was forced to change hotels. When my daughter and I returned to our room to pack and leave, we discovered the housekeeping staff had somehow caused my daughter's laptop to end up on the floor, with the disk driver extended and unable to fully retract and close. On another note, we found the water pressure in the bathroom to be substandard as well. Aside from these negatives, I still enjoy the Dubliner Pub associated with the hotel, but regret that we will likely have to seek a different hotel for our annual event in coming years.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
I am sorry to read your comments from your visit. We have been honored to host this group each year and as we discussed last month, our meeting space was fully commited by another group over the same period that had additional space requirements which required us to look for alternative venues for your meeting and dinner event. We booked meeting space next door to the hotel and not only covered the additonal cost but provided all members of your group with breakfast and other special considerations as thanks for your flexibility. We were happy to hear from the other attendees and the organizer comments of how well the space worked and how pleased they were with the alternative meeting set up along with the rooms at the Phoenix Park. So much so that they now desire to use this space again next year! I am sorry we were not able to keep you for the additional night but this room was commited to other arriving guests and your company had not booked this reservation for that evening and with their help, we were able to move you to an alternative hotel next door. We apologize for this inconvenience but we are sure you would expect the same effort if you had be arriving to take this room. We thank you for your business and hope we will welcome you back again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for 1 night with my son, we stayed In the king size room...Our stay was excellent and very convenient to Union train Station and national museum. The staff were very friendly and courteous. I totally recommend this hotel. My family and I will be going back for summer and that's where we will be staying. Good job Phoenix Park hotel and Staff!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are so pleased you found us and we helped to make your family visit a special one. We look forward to seeing you back again in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Amtrak recommended this gem of a hotel, two blocks away from Union Station and central to every available transportation. You can see the Capitol building from the street! The service is cordial and professional, knowledgeable and accommodating. Room was welcoming, lovely mod/European decor, incredibly comfy bed! Our room 307 looked out to the street and the beautiful Post Office building! A door from the lobby leads to the restaurant next door- The Dubliner- where you can get great fish and chips and other scrumptious meals! Down the block is the Bakery where you can have a great breakfast also. We were greatly pleased with this hotel and its proximity to everything! Thanks to Rosina and Gabriela!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We are so pleased you found us and enjoyed our location, great beds and classic charm. Rozina and Gabi join me and all our team in saying thank you and we hope to welcome you back again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We picked this hotel for 3 reasons: location, style, and cost. The location was perfect for our trip. Our family of 3 traveled with friends, a family of 4. We were close to Union Station, the Capitol, and the Mall. We easily walked to Union Station for dining and the Metro and the Mall for the museums. The style is European Boutique, which is a favorite for us. The cost was terrific for DC. We were able to book a BOGO for 2 nights through Bookit.com. While parking isn't free at the hotel, it is free in the lot across the street on the weekends. The hotel staff was very accommodating, upgrading our room on arrival so that we could have an immediate check in. The hotel is clean and the amenities were adequate. Breakfast is served at the restaurant downstairs, but we found a great, inexpensive breakfast on the same block. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your visit and sharing your comments. We are happy your family and friends enjoyed your visit and found our location perfect and our staff so welcoming. We hope you will return again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This charming historic hotel is ideally located only about 2 blocks from the train and only a few blocks from the Capitol and the Mall. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean; however, the walls were a bit thin - we could hear our neighbors on both sides.
It was nice to have the Dublin House pub as part of the hotel. Food is only ok, but the fun atmosphere with live music make this a good choice. (We were there during Cherry Blossoms - so it was very busy.)
We would stay again - much nicer than a chain hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and we are glad you found the hotel comfortable, location perfect and the Dubliner a lively addition. Our staff hope to welcome you back again in future and turn that 3 Star to 5 Star
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Park Hotel

Address: 520 North Capitol St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > National Mall , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Park Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Phoenix Park, a premier option for downtown Washington DC hotels and just steps from Union Station, the offices of the U.S. Congress, and close to the city's most notable attractions, is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Phoenix Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Park Washington Dc
Hotel Phoenix Park
Pheonix Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.