We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Phoenix Park Hotel to your Saves list
Phoenix Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   520 North Capitol St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (National Mall)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Cheers from $109
Ranked #45 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Rawlings, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

What a great place to stay while touring the area. This was not our first visit to DC, but it was one of the best. The hotel could not have been nicer. Our initial contact with staff was very pleasant and helpful. They not only saw to our luggage, and checked us in in record time, they were also quite helpful in recommending and directing us to places we wanted to see given our short stay. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable (My wife is still taking about how comfortable the beds were). To top it off, the attached Irish pub/restaurant was fantastic! The waiter we had made all the difference. He took a real interest in what we got into, and made us feel very welcome. We looked forward to talking with him each morning. If it were only me, I may have never left the hotel. However, if you should decided to venture out, you're within a comfortable walking distance of all the museums, shops, restaurants, and watering holes to fill whatever time you're able to visit for. It was good to be in the nation's Capitol again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We could not agree more - not only a perfect weekend getaway but an ideal spot for any visit to Washington. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    317
    96
    38
    41
See reviews for
184
275
106
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband, toddler and I stayed here for a long weekend and we were pleasantly surprised. The location was great for us to walk to the Capitol and metro with a little one. The rooms were clean although they do need to clean their air vents. But we were most impressed with the staff. They were very friendly and courteous. Especially the wait staff at the Dubliner where we ate breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We are so pleased you found our hotel ideal for your needs and our staff so friendly and welcoming. Thank you for visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

As in the past, the stay at the Phoenix is always a highlight of a DC trip. I do believe this “boutique hotel” is one of the best kept secrets in DC. The staff treats everyone with class and the rooms are unique, from the high beds (which you may need the provided step to climb into) to the views and furniture. Of course the location allows you to take a train and then "walk the city".

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms overlooking the city. However, it can get loud if there is a celebration at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
I am pleased you enjoyed our excellent downtown location and our staff was so friendly and welcoming. We hope you will return one day in tehfutu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Having just 2 days in the city, I wanted a hotel that is very near to the attractions. The hotel is situated just opposite the Union Station for you to take the tour buses there and conveniently arrive/depart via train. Right at the end of the road is the US Capitol building which you can start your walk of The Mall. The hotel is a bit old but properly maintained. A good rate for it's location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We are delighted you found our location ideal for your needs and our staff so friendly and helpful. We thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I had a wonderful experience at the Phoenix Park Hotel. I was able to check in quite early, which made my day much less hectic. My room was comfortable, and the location was ideal. The staff is to be commended for their customer service. I'd stay here again gladly. The only thin I would suggest would be to install (or make available for rent/borrowing) air purifiers, as my dust allergies were horrible (though the room was quite clean--maybe the air ducts themselves?).

Room Tip: The standard size rooms are small and face the air shaft, but I didn't mind as it was away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
We thank you for your visit and delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Just a short walk from Washington Union Station, it is a great location for those arriving by Amtrak or from BWI via Amtrak. It is also conveniently located to the Metro system in Union Station for those folks arriving from National Airport and using public transportation.

The staff was warm and welcoming. The rooms, while small, are very pleasant. It almost gives you a feel of a boutique hotel. There is some street noise but it did not bother me. The amenities with the room add a very nice touch.

The Dubliner had great Celtic foods and at fairly reasonable prices. Great selection of local beers. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. I have always had walls to look at, but there appear to be many rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for your visit and we are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and Dubliner. We hope to welcome you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I spent two nights at the Phoenix Park while in DC for business. The location cannot be beat for Capital HIll access! My room had a lovely view of Union Station as well. The staff were efficient, polite and attentive. The bed was very comfortable. Overall a lovely and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and found our staff so welcoming and our location ideal. We thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Park Hotel

Address: 520 North Capitol St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > National Mall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Phoenix Park, a premier option for downtown Washington DC hotels and just steps from Union Station, the offices of the U.S. Congress, and close to the city's most notable attractions, is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phoenix Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Park Washington Dc
Hotel Phoenix Park
Pheonix Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.