We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Phoenix Park Hotel to your Saves list
Phoenix Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   520 North Capitol St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (National Mall)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Cheers from $109
Ranked #45 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Anniston,AL
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a wonderful historic hotel located near Union Station. We had 2 rooms for 6 people, and both were beautifully furnished with comfortable surroundings and great views - we we on the 8th floor. They have a wonderful Irish Pub - Dubliner - downstairs that has great food. The valets are amazing, and can get you a cab in no time. It was a short walk to the Capitol, as well as the Mall. Since we had walked so much the White House was too far for my feet, but it was easy to get a cab and make the trip. It is a great hotel - make sure to walk up to the 2nd floor and look around!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCalloway, Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent stay with us. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of our amenities and our central location in the city. I'm glad that our bellmen and doormen were able to accommodate your needs and provided great service in the process. We look forward to providing your lodging needs during your next visit to Washington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    317
    96
    38
    41
See reviews for
184
275
106
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very close to bus stop and DC Metro Station (right across the street). Also close to Capitol Building. Great Location to be able to walk to the National Mall area. Went for Memorial Day, 2013. Bed was comfortable. Didn't use the internet-only used my phone for my google maps. Internet on my phone was horrible throughout DC, and I have the new HTC One. Of course, naming my own price gave us one bed, but it was fine. We didn't spend much time in the room, just to sleep, and it was fine for that. The shoer always had hot water with good water pressure. In room safe. The valet parking is $45 a night! We got there on a holiday weekend, on a Friday after work hours and parked in a "zoned/permit only" area, but since the workday was over and so began the weekend, I never moved the car until we left. Monday was Memorial Day, so the parking enforcement was off! I parked for free the whole time! The bus is cheap if you decide to take it after a long day of walking. DC is soooo pretentious and overpriced, but you can do it cheaply!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your visit and sharing your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. Yes, overnight parking is very expensive in Washington. As well as very limited for 24/7 access in a secured location. You were fortunate to find street parking and I am glad you were able to park event free. Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Me, my husband and my daughter stayed at the hotel back in May for three days of sightseeing & touring. On our way to the hotel i called ahead to confirm that we had a room with two beds. the woman on the phone assured me that we did. When we got to our room we only had one king sized bed, i asked the woman at the front desk, who i spoke with on the phone by the way, why we only had one bed when she confirmed we had two beds. She told me that she was told to give our room away because the hotel was short on rooms with two beds. Are you kidding me?????? It was already late so we just went with what we had, we had a very uncomfortable 1st night stay. The next morning i came down and spoke with the front desk manager Essi and told him what happened. He immediately apologized and gave us a free upgrade to a much LARGER room with a spiral staircase. He was even kind enough to have the bellhop move our luggage while we were out seeing the sights and had the common courtesy to call up to the room just to make sure that we received our upgrade. i thought that was very professional and he made our stay whole lot better, We will be visiting Washington again next year and will definitely stay at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. I apologize for your rough beginning and am delighted that Essi saved the day for you and for us. He is a valuable member of our team and he joins me in thanking you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Arriving at the Phoenix Park Hotel at 11pm local time after 30 hours in transit from Australia meant my wife and I were initially looking for not much more than a comfortable bed and room. We certainly got this and had a great night's sleep, not just that first night but the next two as well. It took us approximately half an hour to reach the city from Dulles Airport by shared van (US$29 per single, US$39 for two) but sharing a van means taking your turn to be dropped off and that took another half an hour. It was nice to find reception still 'manned' at this hour and by a very pleasant, welcoming young man. (We have had experiences in the USA of reaching closed hotels and having to go through various hoops to get someone to come and let us in!)

In the light of day we were able to appreciate the hotel's proximity to Union Station, a 3-4 minute walk to a significant transport hub as well as one that served us well for quick meals in between catching buses and trains. It was great to be able to catch tourist bus services or the (unintuitive) Metro rail system virtually from your doorstep. It was also within reasonable (30-45 minutes?) walking distance to the various Smithsonian Museums, although doing this in mid-summer could prove a little taxing depending on fitness levels. The Postal Institute (not visited as it didn't open until 10am and we only had two days) is directly across the street.

The room we received was compact but adequate, with a comfortable bed, TV, small fridge, iron and ironing board, complimentary WiFi, safe and coffee filter. Tea bags were also available but our experience of boiling water for tea in well used coffee filters meant putting up with coffee flavoured tea.

The Directory of Historic Hotels of America includes the Phoenix Park Hotel and describes it as "infused with sophistication and history...old world European charm blending seamlessly with modern amenities". With our experience of the hotel restricted to the small lobby and our room, it is difficult to make judgement on this description. However, adds: "the Dubliner Restaurant and Pub offers authentic Irish menu with American favourites". Located on the ground floor with a small external area just next to a fairly busy intersection, we decided to give the hotel restaurant a try for dinner. If my choice of what turned out to be a tasteless hamburger with half fried, odd tasting potato wedges and glass of unsweetended ice tea was reflective of authentic Irish and American flavours, then I'm afraid the gastronomic reputations of both countries were being sorely misrepresented. I cannot recall my wife's selection but her diary entry describes it as "very ordinary".

We decided to give it a shot at redemption by returning for breakfast the following morning and, while we both enjoyed the pancakes with strawberries followed by coffee, the final bill of US$43, which included a hotel-added US$6 gratuity, seemed a bit overpriced.

We'd certainly return to this hotel, although will almost definitely give the "Irish" restuarant a miss. It's probably closer to a 3.5 rating than 3.0 but this option is not available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and found our hotel location ideal for your needs and our staff so friendly and helpful. The Dubliner is well known throughout the world as an authentic Irish pub but its charms are not always appreciated by everyone. I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal and experience with them. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at the Phoenix Park Hotel in D.C. as part of a package offered by Yankee Holidays. What a big mistake. The package was expensive and not worth the money. Our room was tiny with an inadequate bathroom that had a rusty shower/tub. The final straw came when the valet who went to get our car as our trip was ending couldn't find our car key. Needless to say, my husband and I were very upset. it took an hour and a half before the key was found. The desk folk took no responsibility.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHotel520, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
I am sorry to hear of your experience with the valet parking failure. There is no excuse for this lapse in service and while sometimes a mistake can occur, resolution should be prompt and I will remove the parking charges from your bill. Thank you for sharing this with us so that we can personally follow up and apologize to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

When we booked the Phoenix Park Hotel, we thought it would be quaint. Boy, were we mistaken. I would stay away if you are claustrophobic at all. The elevators fit two people and two carry-ons. The rooms are also very small with low ceilings. This hotel reeks of fish from the pub on the first floor. Our one tiny room window wouldn't close all of the way, so the traffic noise and the construction noise from nearby was unpleasant. The front office staff wasn't very friendly or welcoming. I would never stay here and have told several people to avoid here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHotel520, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit. Our classic architecture and traditional decor does provide a quaint atmosphere but as with older buildings, lobby and room sizes often are not large and there is little we can do for that. We strive to provide excellent Irish hospitality and service and I apologize that this did not seem to have occurred here. I would welcome the opportunity to learn more if you might contact me directly. Thank you for reaching out and providing your frank comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Hotel is a couple of blocks from Union Station and vibrant Capitol area. Staff was helpful. Room was a bit small, but clean, and nicely furnished. Free wifi is a plus. Lots of cable tv channels, coffee pot in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHotel520, General Manager at Phoenix Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your very kind remarks and we are delighted to have been of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Park Hotel

Address: 520 North Capitol St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > National Mall , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Phoenix Park, a premier option for downtown Washington DC hotels and just steps from Union Station, the offices of the U.S. Congress, and close to the city's most notable attractions, is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phoenix Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Park Washington Dc
Hotel Phoenix Park
Pheonix Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.