We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous on the Fourth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Phoenix Park Hotel to your Saves list
Phoenix Park Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   520 North Capitol St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001 (National Mall)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous on the Fourth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed 4 days at the Phoenix Park Hotel during 4th of July festivities in the Capital. It was a wonderful location and a great value in the heart of DC. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the meal we enjoyed at the Dubliner Restaurant. The hotel staff was extremely pleasant and efficient, and our room was charming, clean, and very comfortable. We had no trouble accessing the Metro at nearby Union Station. We could easily walk to the Capital Building or catch a cab in front of the hotel to take us anywhere we wanted to go. It was a fabulous Fourth of July holiday and we will definitely keep the Phoenix Park on the list for our next DC visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    365
    106
    40
    44
See reviews for
216
305
109
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

When I booked my organization, the sales staff was amazing. Very helpful and responsive. However, when I arrived I was unimpressed with their front desk staff. It was extremely difficult to check-in our group, but we figured it out. The location is the best and the rooms are very cute. I would totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We booked a block of rooms for our family wedding and despite many parties pre-paying and most parties calling ahead to confirm their rooms, the hotel overbooked and did not save any rooms for our large block of patrons who arrived after the wedding at 11PM. They provided no apology or assistance in finding new rooms. They even kicked one family with small children out on the street on a night where all the hotels in DC were full. Luckily we had family step up in the area to literally SHELTER our guests but this was by far the WORST treatment I have ever seen from any business. This hotel ONLY exists to take money and I am confident they will cut every possible corner to get there and I look forward to them going out of business.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley City, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

High average is our rating. It is on the high end of the price scale but location, location, location! You are right there close to it all. It was very, very, very hot - upper 90s all three days but close enough to attractions that at a slower pace we all made it . We did like that Union Station was right there - use it. The room was small but clean and comfortable. Now on to the staff. They were all for the most part nice and very helpul. Then there was one man the best, most helpful and just a very, very, nice human being. WADE, the bellman, is who and what made my stay super good! So if you see WADE, shake his hand and give him a pat on the back and a $5 or $10 in his hand.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We took advantage of a prepaid stay offer of 5 nights at the Phoenix during the first four days of July. My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and the room was quite comfortable. In reading some of the other reviews, I'm amazed at some of the little things that people complain about!

I'd have to say that the number one attribute of this hotel is location. It is a very short walk from Union Station and access to the Metro. It is also just a 10 minute walk from the Capitol and the edge of the National Mall. We were able to walk to a park on the Capitol grounds to watch the fireworks without having to actually fight the huge crowds on the mall. After the final burst of fireworks, we were back in our room in 10 minutes!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed for a night in the hotel and they provide us a room in 3F where I feel it is for disable person due to some ammenities not for young couple. Our window view is a stagnant water. When we go back to our room there is a different smell. Im a bit disappointed but the location of the hotel is soo great!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Got a AAA rate for $99, couldn't have been more pleased! Small but cozy room, great location, clean and unique, warm and inviting. Incredible service, a great stay. Be aware that parking is over $40, but it was worth it. Our care was safe and we could walk everywhere.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Downtown / Chinatown
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill
Liaison Capitol Hill DC–an Affinia hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
The George
The George
#13 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,651 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Monaco Washington DC, a Kimpton Hotel
Capitol Hill Hotel
#55 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Park Hotel

Address: 520 North Capitol St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > National Mall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Phoenix Park, a premier option for downtown Washington DC hotels and just steps from Union Station, the offices of the U.S. Congress, and close to the city's most notable attractions, is the perfect choice for business or leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Phoenix Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Park Washington Dc
Hotel Phoenix Park
Pheonix Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.