We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-located - but not quietly located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of One Washington Circle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added One Washington Circle Hotel to your Saves list
One Washington Circle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Well-located - but not quietly located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2006

The hotel is near George Washington University, close to shoppinig, accessible to the subway system.

The units are suites - with fully equipped kitchens, perfectly adequate baths, good closet space, and a sitting area.

A problem - and one about which the staff is honest if you inquire is that a 'quiet location' within the hotel is a difficult - to impossible- need to meet. The hotel is located next to the Georgia Washington University hospital, and the ambulences, with sirens, run night-and-day.

So . . if a suite with kitchen outweighs the importance of a quiet location, this can be a good place -- but if quiet is a priortiy, this is probably not the right spot.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    278
    94
    29
    29
See reviews for
261
126
62
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

i was very disappointed in my stay at this hotel. I had a guaranteed reservation, but they were oversold the night I arrived. They put me up in a terrible room--not a hotel room but a conference room with a very uncomfortable pull down trundle bed. To make things worse they insisted on charging me full price for this room. They were very condescending when I suggested that it was inappropriate to charge full price for such horrible accomodations, especially when they fail to meet a guaranteed reservation.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

My husband and I received a great big room with full kitchen and a lot of amenities. Very close to a convenient subway, starbucks and 20 min walking from the MALL.The crew was nice and helpful.

  • Liked — Location and Price!
  • Disliked — Some Washington Taxi drivers take high prices
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the subway it is very convenient, clean, safe and cheap
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

My husband and I chose to stay at One Washington Circle for 3 nights for the proximity to George Washington University where our daughter attends. We loved it for the closeness to her as well as the metro and Georgetown where there is great shopping and restaurants. The kitchen was convenient for meals and we really liked drinking our morning coffee on the balcony reading the complementary Washington Post and enjoying the urban views. We didn't do much of the DC touristy things this time, but if that's why you are there the location is great. Most things within walking distance or Metro accessible. Our biggest complaint was the bed which was so soft we rolled into the center. One of us ended up sleeping on the sofa bed after the first night. You have to put up with an occasional siren when you stay one block from a hospital. But the price was great for what you get and we will most definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2006

Once again, we stayed at the One Washington Circle after having read the TripAdvisor reviews. It has a fantastic location, just a short walk to the Metro and GW University, and a slightly longer one to Georgetown/M Street/Wisconsin Avenue.The lobby staff was very accommodating, particularly the bellman/valet (who seemed to be there all the time: does this man sleep?) who was helpful and pleasant at all hours. The room was spacious, and the kitchen was well-appointed (although they could stand to have a couple of stools next to a high counter which was clearly designed to serve as an eating surface). We had two minor maintenance issues (bathroom door hinge was broken, and the TV clicker was inoperable), both of which were attended to in literally less than five minutes. The room was clean, the bathroom spotless, and the maid service above average. The outdoor swimming pool is good for not much more than a place to cool off on a typical DC August day, but really no complaints. The parking fee of $21.50/day (unlimited in-out) is very reasonable for the area. Finally, upon arriving home we discovered that we'd left some items in the room; a phone call was all that was required to get them back, literally the next day Particularly considering the cost ($116/night through CheapTix.com), this is a great little hotel, with lots of international charm courtesy of the clientele. I will definitely return.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — really, nothing.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

My wife and I ,along with our 12 and 10 year old children, stayed at One Washington Circle from July 16-21, 2006. The rooms are very nicely decorated in a contemporary fashion with very comfortable beds. There is ample storage space, and the bath area is intelligently designed with additional closet space in the private dressing area. The Aveda bath prroducts are great!The kitchen, is a very nice addition with a working stove, full sized refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Although we did not cook ,we stocked up on juice and other supplies at one of the nearby CVS stores. One afternoon there was a small , but very nice farmer's market next to the Foggy Bottom Metro stop, alongside GWU hospital, so we were able to buy some delicious fresh fruit .

The pool was a nice addition , especially in the record hot weather. The aforementioned Metro stop is very convenient and makes this well priced hotel even more appealing, as every site in the district and beyond become accesible. By the end of the trip we felt like experts on the metro, and were even pretty comfortable on some of those unbelievaby long and steep metro escalators. ( Don't let them stop you from using the Metro) As an aside, we found that buying one day passes gave us a lot of flexibility. Also it is a nice walk to Dupont Cicle which we made frequently for dinner, fun at Kramerbooks and Afterwords , and the Phillips Collection. The Phillips should not be missed, especially with the return of Renoir's astonishing Luncheon at The Boating Party. George town is a longer walk, but that 's what you do in DC!

The kids were impressed with the hotel's very international guests who they frequenlty saw in the intimate lobby.

Overall this was an excellent experience and we all agreed we look forward to another visit. As for the sirens, they did not really distrub us that much. It's not a bad thing to have one of the newest most modern hospital in the District directly across the circle.Frankly, I heard more sirens throughout DC and saw more emergency and police vehicles than any other city which I have visited. The staff is accomodating in every way, although some members appear to lack some knowledge about basic information regarding restaurants and other attractions. That is a minor quibble, as we highly reccomend One Washington Circle.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a four night stay at this hotel. So glad that I chose it for the balcony but especially the location. It is less than a five minute walk to metro and about 10 to Georgetown.
Front desk staff were young but very friendly and pretty effecient. We arrived early and were able to check right in our room. Room was very nice; a queen bed, sofa and chair, tv, table for two and chairs, refrig, microwave,coffee maker. coffee grinder; the works!Bathroom was also very clean and not small as mentioned in other reviews.
Washington Post at your door every morning too.
Hotel was a little noisy on the first night but we were so exhausted, we didn't hear much!
Tried the restaurant downstairs for breakfast but did not have a good experience (waiter and cold food). Too many other restaurants in Georgetown to choose from so don't waste your time here.
Would definitely stay here again but maybe on the pool side of the hotel as it may be a little less noisy and more private.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Address: 1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Washington Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.