We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One Washington Circle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added One Washington Circle Hotel to your Saves list
One Washington Circle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travel-N-Style Package
Ranked #26 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect for our family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed here from 7/26-7/28, so just a quick getaway. We have three kids (8, 6 & 4) and this was a perfect selection due to location, service, room size and the price.

First location - the walk to the metro station is 5 min max (about a block and half). We were able to walk to the White House and the Lincoln Memorial (about 1 mile /20 min each with the kids). We didn't eat around the hotel, but looked like lots of good restaurant choices.

Next, service - this is where they really make a difference here. All the staff are so friendly, accomodating and great with the kids. Nothing but good things to say!!!!

The room - this is why I really chose this hotel. We don't fit comfortably in a standard hotel anymore so the Executive King Suite is a perfect answer (especially for the price). Spacious and convenient (with the full kitchen and a dining area.). The bathroom was small, but upgraded and clean. I do have to caution, though, my kids are still small so the sofa bed was great for them. They slept all night, no complaints. However, I'd find it hard to believe that a teen or adult would find it comfortable at all as the mattress and springs were either cheap or worn out ? (but note super clean). So, not a deal breaker for us at all, just a warning.... I think I may have read in the reviews that they are going to be upgrading some of the furnishings soon? So may want to check up on that.

So, in the end, we will be back to DC in the coming years and I'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Stayed high and on other side from the hospital. Did hear the sirens, but not any more than expecte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineS_OneWash, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Traveler10012,
We were so thrilled to host you and your family this past weekend! We're so glad to hear you all enjoyed your visit with us!
We have shared your feedback regarding the sofa bed matresses and will follow up on the one that was in the room you stayed in; thank you for letting us know!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best,
Christine and The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    336
    105
    31
    30
See reviews for
327
156
70
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Better late than never, I'm catching up on reviews. This great find was our own DC apartment for 5 days. We got a room with balcony overlooking the circle. Loved sitting out there at the end of a long day, watching all of the different kinds of people walking by.

Decor was somewhat dated, we didn't care, it was amazingly clean, spacious and comfortable - not common in large eastern cities in the US, at least for a reasonable price (our room price was great compared to others with similar amenities/convenient location).

The staff was both personable and professional and the restaurant downstairs was handy, if a little over-priced. Normal noise for a large city hotel, it didn't bother us a bit, but if you're sensitive, ask for a quiet room. About a 15 minute walk to the Mall. Some excellent restaurants nearby, and a Trader Joe's around the corner. Easy walk to DuPont Circle, great strolls in quaint and historic neighborhoods, too. We are an older couple and had no problem walking to Georgetown, The Mall, indeed, everywhere!

Special thanks to the marvelous staff. It would have been a good holiday without you, but your humor and attentiveness made it extra special - you guys were so busy, I don't know how you do it!

Room Tip: Upgrade to balcony, it's worth it. Ask for a quieter room if that's important to you, it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineS_OneWash, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear jjbryce,
Thank you so much for taking the time to revisit your stay with us and post your experience on Trip Advisor! We were so thrilled to have had a postive impact on your holiday and truly hope to welcome you back to DC very soon!
Best,
Christine and The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Washington Circle Hotel. The staff was very nice and very accommodating. My daughter was taking a tour of GW university and they were able to give us a later check out time. Very helpful.

Room Tip: We were on the side where the ambulances came down the road for the ER at GW hospital. I am a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineS_OneWash, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear BEth J,
We're so glad that you and your daugher were able to enjoy your stay with us as you toured GWU's campus!
If she decides to go to GWU; we hope that we can welcome you back as a member of our family of GWU parents!
Best,
Christine and The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed here with our daughter, who is interested in attending GWU. We got there Saturday afternoon 7/19. The scene was pretty hectic, as not all the rooms were ready as people were checking in. I know that can happen sometimes, and the staff worked hard to try to keep people happy while they waited. They even brought out champagne.

The young lady at the front desk (I'm sorry I can't remember her name) was particularly helpful in trying to get us into a room. Even though she was unable to immediately get us a room, she did a great job, patiently and professionally dealing with the guests (some of whom were much more rude to her than she deserved!) We got into our room after about 30 minutes.

The room - a queen suite - was perfect. Plenty big enough and with a separate kitchen it gave us all the space we needed. Yes, it's near GW Med Center and there are sirens but if you walk around sightseeing the way most people do in DC, you should be tires enough that it doesn't matter :)

We would definitely stay there again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineS_OneWash, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Barry P,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback of your experiences with us! While it's not ideal nor our norm, we do run into times where rooms aren't ready on time and greatly appreciated your understanding and patience! That all being said, it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and your room so much!
We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Best,
Christine and the One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We visited DC recently for a week and stayed at One Washington Circle with two elementary aged kids.
- Room was spacious and the kitchenette was nice to have.
- Staff was extremely courteous, friendly, and professional.
- The hotel was fairly quiet at night. There were occasional sirens but we did not end up needing earplugs and slept well.
- Pool was great for the kids to unwind a bit and have some fun after long days of sightseeing.
- Location was perfect. It was close to the metro, buses, and we could walk to the White House. Plenty of restaurants nearby for families.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineS_OneWash, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear K A L,
it was such a pleasure to host you and your children as you visited DC! We're glad you were able to enjoy our hotel as well as all the sites you saw!
We hope to welcome you and your family back next year!
Best,
Christine and The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at One Washington Circle. We have stayed there before. This stay occurred on our Sabbath when we needed the bellboys to unlock our door. The bellboys and front desk staff were very courteous and attentive about helping us with this and we felt overall that they just could not do enough for us. The suite was clean and comfortable. The locations is excellent an near the Metro. We will stay there in the future and we will recommend this hotel to our friends. There are many nice attributes of this hotel but first and foremost is the outstanding performance of the staff. Thank you for making our stay so warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineS_OneWash, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear GKap4th,
We were thrilled to host you as you celebrated the Sabbath and got to spend some time with your family! Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Best,
Christine and The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel didn't get as high a rating on some reviews as I think it deserves. For a quick business trip into DC, I chose this location as part of a flight deal.

Having stayed in other DC hotels, I had an idea of what I should get for the price, and what I should expect from the location.

Location -- fantastic. A couple of blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro stop -- and across the street from GW Hospital. It's located about halfway on K street from the White House to the east, and Georgetown to the west. If you like to walk, a very convenient location.

When I checked in -- and it was very early, before noon, my room was ready. The front end staff was excellent and friendly. There were actually two rooms available, but the staff directed me to the choicer of the two.

My room was ENORMOUS. Having spent the past months traveling to Europe and New York City, this was a supreme pleasure. King sized bed, full kitchen, separate bath, balcony. And absolutely soundproof. Well done.

I didn't stay long, so I couldn't eat at the hotel restaurant, but my brief experience was excellent. If you are a business traveler in need of a quick, tidy, and oversized room, this is a perfect spot.,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineS_OneWash, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear rml01752,
Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us! We're so glad to hear how much you got to enjoy the hotel's location, room size, restaurant and team despite your short stay with us!
It was a pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back to DC very soon!
Best,
Christine and The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Address: 1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Washington Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.