We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice suite hotel in DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Washington Circle Hotel

Save Saved
You added One Washington Circle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One Washington Circle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot & Cold Summer Package
Ranked #46 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice suite hotel in DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I attended a conference here and was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The location is at 23rd and K St NW, close to George Washington University and the K Street lobbyist corridor. Not far from Metro and many other sights in DC as well. The room was clean and comfy and had a kitchenette. I did hear some sirens but that is typical for any place in DC.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear investroll,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We're always thrilled when the DC locals discover our wonderful hotel and we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    256
    92
    25
    29
See reviews for
227
116
59
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Location A+, walking distance to Metro, and Georgetown. We actually didn't even
use the Metro for two days since we could "walk" to the White House and beyond
to the Mall!!! We had a suite with kitchen and Trader Joe's and Whole Foods just
down the street! Staff was so friendly and courteous...restaurant bar and food excellent.
The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens very clean and crisp. House-
keeping was A+. The suite was roomy with a nice balcony. Swimming pool was
available but we didn't use it...too busy! Very, very nice!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite w/kitchen. Corner with balcony, 8-9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear CitySlickers2014,
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting DC! It's wonderful to hear about our guests experiences and their "tips" to our Trip Advisor community! Thank you for taking the time to share!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We arrived to such a warm welcome. The front reception staff are a real asset to this organisation. All of the ones that we dealt with came across as genuinely interested in assisting us with any of our questions.
Unfortunately our room was 'no longer available' when we arrived, but they upgraded us to another room. The downside to this 'upgrade' was that there was now only 1 bed for the 4 of us to share - the kids ended up sleeping on the sofa.

The main positives we found at this hotel were the friendliness/helpfulness of staff, the location (next to George Washington University and 15 minute walk to the White House, and it one of the stops on the 'hop-on hop-off bus). Also, there is a Traders Joe nearby for groceries as well as Thai, Indian and Burger restaurants within a few minutes walk.

The downside was the noise (constant sirens as it is across the road from a hospital) and the fact that the pool area was closed for the week whilst it was 33 degrees celcius each day. I would also not recommend the restaurant/bar. Very expensive and unsatisfactory service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear familydude72,
We're so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us while visiting DC with your family! However, we apologize that your room type was not available and you were unable to be as comfortable as you'd like! In regards to our pool, it did not open until Memorial Day as per our contract with our pool company---however, as it was unseasonably warm we can certainly understand wanting to use it and we will ensure that we monitor this next year at the same time!
We hope to welcome you and your family back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I am surprised by how many people rated this hotel so highly. I thought the pictures from the website made this hotel look pretty posh. But it's not, the decor is dated and the carpet worn and not very clean. There were even loose tiles in the shower. The shape of the room was odd and made me think this used to be housing for the university. We had a nice balcony but there was no furniture on it so we really didn't use it. And its really noisy, I live in a smallish town but only a few blocks from a fire station so I thought the ambulance noise wouldn't bother me too much. I was wrong. We were on the 9th floor and the sirens went off all day and night. The first night we were there was during Rolling Thunder and between the Harleys and the sirens I was thinking we wouldn't even make it the week. Fortunately things did settle down, but the sirens were a big deal for us.

The staff was always very friendly and helpful, they even let us borrow an umbrella one day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear 1_curly_girl,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay with us. We're sorry that it was not quite the stay you were expecting; while we cannot control outside city noises, we can work hard to ensure our rooms are up to standard. Our Director of Engineering has been made aware of the bathroom tiles and we are constantly working to continue to upkeep and upgrade our hotel. We hope the next time your travels bring you to DC, you will give us another opportunity to provide the experience we strive to provide for our guests.
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is convenient to almost everything D.C. has to offer. It's very comfortable. And, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The food is fantastic. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the room service menu is somewhat limited with options and timing. I plan on staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Shasta S,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us! We're so glad you enjoyed our hotel and our wonderful team! We have shared your feedback with our Food and Beverage Department to ensure our room service menu's are up to our guests expectations in offerings.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in October 2013, and found it very good indeed--helpful friendly staff, big room, and superb location. The price was OK, but DC prices can vary substantially from week to week.

I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear RJB1961,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us in October! We're so glad you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

- Everything is right there, from the Metro to dining/nightlife to shopping at Trader Joe's and Whole Foods (very handy when you have a suite with a kitchen, which we did).

- Convenient for walking to the White House and Mall, if that's your thing.

- Housekeeping was amazing; we never saw them, yet our suite and the common areas were spotless 24/7.

- The real rock stars were at the front desk - they were totally accommodating, knowledgeable, and just plain nice. Special props to Lauren. Thanks for everything!

- GREAT bang for the buck.

- Bedding, towels, balcony, pool, bar - all outstanding.

- Immaculately clean and super comfortable, but due for a cosmetic update. It's got the Y2K look nailed.

- Conclusion: We visit DC regularly, and this is the hotel we've been looking for. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a walk-out balcony. It's a great value! Be aware that there's a hospita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear jdarnbro,
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we LOVE to hear that we're the hotel you've been looking for! Thank you for recognizing our wonderful housekeeping team and our wonderful front desk team and Lauren. We know that without our team we could not be successful so it's great to hear that you also recognized that!
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Address: 1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Washington Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.