We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One Washington Circle Hotel

Save Saved
You added One Washington Circle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
One Washington Circle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is convenient to almost everything D.C. has to offer. It's very comfortable. And, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The food is fantastic. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the room service menu is somewhat limited with options and timing. I plan on staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Shasta S,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us! We're so glad you enjoyed our hotel and our wonderful team! We have shared your feedback with our Food and Beverage Department to ensure our room service menu's are up to our guests expectations in offerings.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    278
    94
    28
    29
See reviews for
261
126
62
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in October 2013, and found it very good indeed--helpful friendly staff, big room, and superb location. The price was OK, but DC prices can vary substantially from week to week.

I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear RJB1961,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us in October! We're so glad you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

- Everything is right there, from the Metro to dining/nightlife to shopping at Trader Joe's and Whole Foods (very handy when you have a suite with a kitchen, which we did).

- Convenient for walking to the White House and Mall, if that's your thing.

- Housekeeping was amazing; we never saw them, yet our suite and the common areas were spotless 24/7.

- The real rock stars were at the front desk - they were totally accommodating, knowledgeable, and just plain nice. Special props to Lauren. Thanks for everything!

- GREAT bang for the buck.

- Bedding, towels, balcony, pool, bar - all outstanding.

- Immaculately clean and super comfortable, but due for a cosmetic update. It's got the Y2K look nailed.

- Conclusion: We visit DC regularly, and this is the hotel we've been looking for. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a walk-out balcony. It's a great value! Be aware that there's a hospita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear jdarnbro,
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we LOVE to hear that we're the hotel you've been looking for! Thank you for recognizing our wonderful housekeeping team and our wonderful front desk team and Lauren. We know that without our team we could not be successful so it's great to hear that you also recognized that!
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

If you're in DC with business at GW, American or G'town. This hotel is a smart choice as a comfortable and logistically functional base of operations, especially for an extended stay. The staff was completely customer service oriented. My daughter and I were completely satisfied with this hotel. I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear fishfanz,
We're so glad to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us while in DC! We certainly hope that despite being here for business, that you both were able to enjoy our wonderful city as well!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Brought my wife and child on this trip and we really liked the area. Great location walked to Georgetown and had a blast. Hotel was nice the room we were seemed to be an old apartment renovated into a hotel. Very nice! Great bang for your buck here!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear adam h,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay with us! We're so glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us! You're right, the hotel is a converted apartment which is why our room sizes are above average and why most of our rooms have full kitchens in the them!
we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was the second time that I stayed in this hotel and like last time the room was great. Spacious, well appointed with a good work desk, dresser with tv, comfortable bed and a safe that could store your laptops. The safe was in a walk-in closet of ample size. the kitchen was well appointed too: 4 hub gasstove, oven, large fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, coffeegrinder (for the fresh coffebeans that were provided for you free of charge). Salt and pepper shaker in the cabinet. Just enough plates and cutlery to eat with two persons.
I know I will come back to this hotel.
NOTE; if your room is on the left side of the building (as seen from standing at the front entrance facing the hotel) you will have a lot of noise from emergency vehicles rushing to the hospital across the roundabout. On the right hand side of the hotel you would not have that problem as these are one way streets and less emergency vehicles rush from a hospital than to a hospital.
the left street is rushing towards the roundabout (and the hospital), the right street is running from the roundabout (and from the hospital). I like the left side more personally because of the sun. Although this tends to make the room hot during the afternoon. If you don't care about the sun, and are bothered by the noise of the emergency vehicles (which I am not) choose a room on the right hand side of the hotel (facing the hotel entrence.
the whole foods acros the street from Foggy Bottom metro station (only a 300 meters walk) is very convenient for shopping. Even if it always seems to be (very) crowded. However, lines move vast so wait time is not too bad.
I gave it 4 stars because of the heavy smell of candles in the entrance of the hotel and the heavy perfum in the corridors. Without the perfumed candles I would have given the hotel 5 stars. As it is the perfume makes me ill (needing to take about 4 tablets of Citrizine per day to stay on my feet). Most people who have astma, like I have, fall ill because of such heavy perfumes.

Room Tip: the rooms on the east side (right hand side of hotel) are more quiet, but also less sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Marsgoddess,
Thank you so much for posting such a detailed review of your recent second-time stay with us! First of all, we're thrilled that you returned to our hotel and thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We have taken note of your concern regarding our lobby's scent---we do have a scent machine designed to enhance our guests experience when entering the hotel but obviously never want that to be overpowering. We have looked at the calibration and hope that the next time you stay with us you will notice the difference! If not, please let us know immediately so we can make the proper adjustments so as not to impede on your stay with us.

Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

It was our first visit to Washington D.C and we picked up this property primarly because of the location. Hotel was central and convenient to all the main tourist sites, like the White House and the Lincoln Memorial. There was a bus station outside the hotel of the Big bus tour which we used.

The staff was approachable and happy to assist when we had a few enquiries.
Our room was modern with a large bedroom and comfortable bed, with separate kitchen ,and bathroom with good shower. We did not use the restaurant but noticed that was busy during our stay. There are plenty of restaurants, pubs and shops in nearlby Georgetown.

We will stay again as the accommodation and location ticked all the boxes. It is a big city so you should expect to be a bit noisy but it didn't bother us at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear DeLecq,
We're so thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us during your first visit to DC! You're very right, our location makes enjoying DC very easy; especially with the Hop On- Hop Off bus stop right in front of our hotel!
The next time your travels bring you to DC, we certainly hope to welcome you back!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Address: 1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Washington Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.