We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Washington Circle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added One Washington Circle Hotel to your Saves list
One Washington Circle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Repeal the Prohibition
Ranked #36 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Irmo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Brought my wife and child on this trip and we really liked the area. Great location walked to Georgetown and had a blast. Hotel was nice the room we were seemed to be an old apartment renovated into a hotel. Very nice! Great bang for your buck here!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear adam h,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay with us! We're so glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us! You're right, the hotel is a converted apartment which is why our room sizes are above average and why most of our rooms have full kitchens in the them!
we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    297
    94
    31
    28
See reviews for
280
136
66
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was the second time that I stayed in this hotel and like last time the room was great. Spacious, well appointed with a good work desk, dresser with tv, comfortable bed and a safe that could store your laptops. The safe was in a walk-in closet of ample size. the kitchen was well appointed too: 4 hub gasstove, oven, large fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, coffeegrinder (for the fresh coffebeans that were provided for you free of charge). Salt and pepper shaker in the cabinet. Just enough plates and cutlery to eat with two persons.
I know I will come back to this hotel.
NOTE; if your room is on the left side of the building (as seen from standing at the front entrance facing the hotel) you will have a lot of noise from emergency vehicles rushing to the hospital across the roundabout. On the right hand side of the hotel you would not have that problem as these are one way streets and less emergency vehicles rush from a hospital than to a hospital.
the left street is rushing towards the roundabout (and the hospital), the right street is running from the roundabout (and from the hospital). I like the left side more personally because of the sun. Although this tends to make the room hot during the afternoon. If you don't care about the sun, and are bothered by the noise of the emergency vehicles (which I am not) choose a room on the right hand side of the hotel (facing the hotel entrence.
the whole foods acros the street from Foggy Bottom metro station (only a 300 meters walk) is very convenient for shopping. Even if it always seems to be (very) crowded. However, lines move vast so wait time is not too bad.
I gave it 4 stars because of the heavy smell of candles in the entrance of the hotel and the heavy perfum in the corridors. Without the perfumed candles I would have given the hotel 5 stars. As it is the perfume makes me ill (needing to take about 4 tablets of Citrizine per day to stay on my feet). Most people who have astma, like I have, fall ill because of such heavy perfumes.

Room Tip: the rooms on the east side (right hand side of hotel) are more quiet, but also less sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Marsgoddess,
Thank you so much for posting such a detailed review of your recent second-time stay with us! First of all, we're thrilled that you returned to our hotel and thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We have taken note of your concern regarding our lobby's scent---we do have a scent machine designed to enhance our guests experience when entering the hotel but obviously never want that to be overpowering. We have looked at the calibration and hope that the next time you stay with us you will notice the difference! If not, please let us know immediately so we can make the proper adjustments so as not to impede on your stay with us.

Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

It was our first visit to Washington D.C and we picked up this property primarly because of the location. Hotel was central and convenient to all the main tourist sites, like the White House and the Lincoln Memorial. There was a bus station outside the hotel of the Big bus tour which we used.

The staff was approachable and happy to assist when we had a few enquiries.
Our room was modern with a large bedroom and comfortable bed, with separate kitchen ,and bathroom with good shower. We did not use the restaurant but noticed that was busy during our stay. There are plenty of restaurants, pubs and shops in nearlby Georgetown.

We will stay again as the accommodation and location ticked all the boxes. It is a big city so you should expect to be a bit noisy but it didn't bother us at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear DeLecq,
We're so thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us during your first visit to DC! You're very right, our location makes enjoying DC very easy; especially with the Hop On- Hop Off bus stop right in front of our hotel!
The next time your travels bring you to DC, we certainly hope to welcome you back!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kane, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Not usually a big reviewer, however, after reading some of the other reviewer comments I felt the need to weigh in. First, this is my 3rd stay at this hotel. For any GWU family, the convenience of this hotel location overrides any negative aspect. A common complaint seems to be city noise & ambulances going to the GWU Hospital. Really? It's a city - I've stayed in Denver, Philadelphia, etc and all the hotels are about the same for city noise. I felt that anyone who was being overly harsh about the city noises is simply someone who doesn't travel much. The ability to walk to any where on GWU campus within 5 minutes is a huge bonus. Georgetown access is easy and a safe place to hang out. Metro access is great. The hotel staff go out of their way to be accommodating, excellent service! Rooms are spacious, clean and beds are comfortable. No one likes to pay the parking fees but I haven't figured out a way to do it cheaper yet. Overall a really good hotel and I reemphasize that any negatives that are pointed out in previous reviews are overruled by the convenient location of this hotel. Enjoy your stay, I know I did.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear smcolson,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with the Trip Advisor community! You are very right, our location makes us very subject to the noises of the city but we work very hard to compensate through providing a relaxing and warm experience for our guests! We very much look forward to welcome you back throughout the year as you come to DC for visits!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed in a one-bedroom suite in this hotel and was impressed by the high standard of the accommodation, which included a separate kitchen and living area. The hotel felt luxurious. As an Australian, I had been told to expect to encounter Southern hospitality in Washington DC and this hotel fulfilled that expectation. The staff were exceptionally nice and went to considerable lengths to ensure that my stay was pleasant and comfortable. Excellent service is clearly their priority. The hotel is also in a very convenient location, close to the metro, Whole Foods supermarket, restaurants, pharmacies and not far from Dupont Circle and Georgetown shops. Medical services are also very close by, including the George Washington Hospital, where I unfortunately had to seek treatment for a problem unconnected to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Mazzy99,
We're so glad that we were able to provide you with warmth and hospitality you were seeking after your long journey! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and our location so much, of course, minus the trip to the hospital! We hope you recovered quickly and enjoyed the rest of your trip!
We hope to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to DC!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

First room left a lot to be desired but second room was perfect. They know it, ask.
Great location and restaurant. I think restaurant is important. Great staff. Good taxi access.
This will be our hotel of choice visiting our daughter at GWU.
Noisy, its a city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Spinner1123,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We're sorry your first room was not up to your expectation but very glad to hear the second one was! We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful restaurant, Circle Bistro. We certainly hope to welcome you back over the next few years as your visit your daughter at GWU!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We went during police week 2014 and had reserved a room with 2 beds a small kitchenette. We got there they had said since we planned on staying the whole week they upgraded us. We got a full kitchen, balcony on the 9th floor, 1 1/2 bath private bedroom off of living room, 6 person dining room table. .. but came with a sofa sleeper and they pushed in a roller twin sized bed. All employees made us feel welcomed with the exception of Emanuel. He was impatient and pushy. Several times rushed us in and out of our vehicle/ cabs. When I was trying to pack up to leave I took longer then he liked so he took my bags off the luggage trolly and set them on the drive around my feet. I think he even thought he was getting a tip for "helping" . But besides those few incidents with him the entire stay was great!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OWCH_GuestServices, General Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Jason D,
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us during Police Week. That being said, I do apologize that a member of our team came across as pushy. While we think he had the best of intentions, it is certainly not a feeling we want any of our guests to have and we have shared this feedback with him to ensure it doesn't happen again.
Otherwise, we're so glad to have hosted you and your family and hope to welcome you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Address: 1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Washington Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.