We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious suites hotel, but a little tired.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One Washington Circle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added One Washington Circle Hotel to your Saves list
One Washington Circle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Travel-N-Style Package
Ranked #31 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spacious suites hotel, but a little tired.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed here for a week in August with my family. We like suites hotels because the kids can stay in one room and the adults in another. We wanted to be in the city, not in a suburb of DC and selected this based on price and walking distance to the Metro. The location was great - two blocks to the Foggy Bottom stop and near a handful of restaurants and a Whole Foods grocery. The area isn't as popular as adjacent Dupont Circle (which is within walking distance). The hotel appears to be a 1970's apartment building, converted into a hotel. Space was great (large living room + desk area, small full kitchen, moderate sized bedroom), but all of the finishes were pretty tired. The lobby was pretty sleek and had been updated recently. Service was excellent. We were placed on the first floor, and despite its challenges (loud trash pickup in the a.m. and smelly balcony), the location worked out pretty well for this family (walk to pool, no elevator). The swimming pool (outdoor, unheated) was a good way to end the day, but it was downright chilly, even for kids. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant (pricey). Parking was about $20 per day, which seemed to be the going rate for the city. At the end of the day, the price, space, and the location drove us to this place.

Room Tip: Upper floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Greg O,
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us at One Washington Circle Hotel. We're so glad to hear that, for the most part, you really enjoyed your experience with us. You are right, our hotel is a converted apartment building which is why we have the luxury of such spacious rooms. In the coming months we are eagerly anticipating renovations to our hotels rooms and public areas and certainly hope that on your next stay you and your family can enjoy some of our upgrades (as well as a higher floor!).
We hope to see you again very soon,
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    324
    101
    31
    30
See reviews for
310
155
68
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Wonderful place!! HUGE rooms with great bathroom, closet, full length mirror, kitchen (frig with freezer, coffee maker with plenty of supplies, coffee mugs, glasses, microwave). If you need more ice to chill a bottle of wine, the front desk can bring you a large bucket with ice (no ice machines in hotel). Always cold bottled water in room and lobby for free! Also apples in lobby every morning for free. One evening I was here around 5pm and there was free sangria and appetizers, too! They also held my luggage the day I was leaving with no problem. The staff was great every day! The night of arrival was quite the late and the lady at the front desk handed out menus for late night delivery til 4am which was great! They were actually a good price and used again another night. Trader joes grocery was just two to three blocks to the right as you exit the hotel and whole food grocery was one block across from the foggy bottom metro, which was on the opposite site of Washington circle, 1&1/2 -2blocks. The hotel didn't have silverware (except spoons) but whole foods does for free (plastic & plastic wrapped) like at Wendy's. bar/restaurant w/ big screen tvs w/ ballgames on rt across from metro (circa?) $5.50 pints of draft. Exit hotel to right and Mcfaddens bar/rest is two blocks and open late. Some people talked about the sirens going to the hospital ....yes, I did hear them a little with my earplugs, but not to the point that it disturbed my sleep and that I wouldn't go back to this hotel. The fitness room had vending machines with snacks and another for soft drinks at reasonable prices compared to the two groceries nearby. Plus, the lady at the front desk can make change for the vending machines..very helpful! This was also a great location.. Easy Walk to DuPont circle and embassy row, also about 10 min walk down penn ave to Georgetown and other places.....great,great location!!!!!! Also, pool and loungers! Would come back here next time in dc for sure!!! Also, housekeeping was awesome! Very clean!

Room Tip: Seemed like all rooms had a walk out balcony. Mine actually had two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear pattyjxnola,
Thank you for your wonderful, enthused and informative review! We're beyond thrilled that you were able to truly enjoy not only your stay with us but your stay in D.C. It sounds like you really got to experience a variety of areas, restaurants, and attractions while visiting and we thank you for sharing this with other Trip Advisor visitors!
A tip to make your next visit with us even better, we can always provide you with more silverware and kitchen items so that you don't have to use plastic ones!
We certainly hope to welcome you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I'm in the hotel business and was in Washington DC to look at a couple of hotels to buy. When I got home, I found that my company was charged for the hotel and so was I. When I handed my credit card to reception for incidentals, it turned out that it was a revenue opportunity to charge a second time for my hotel stay. This place a really crooked. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear VacationHomeQueen,
First of all, I apologize that you have had such trouble with your bill. That being said, I'd like to get this resolved and do some 'investigating' to find why we have come to this point without resolve. Would you mind contacting me directly by calling the hotel at 202) 872-1680 and asking for Christine so that I can at least get some more information from you and we can go from there.
Thank you very much and I hope that we can speak very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our small non-profit organization booked One Washington Circle Hotel for our annual meeting, and the experience was wonderful. The event planning staff more than went the distance in accommodating our needs and offering excellent advice on out-of-hotel plans. The rooms in this hotel are beautiful, spacious (most of us had kitchens, balconies, etc.) and comfortable. We had one dinner together in the Circle Bistro, which everyone enjoyed. The hotel catered three of our other meals and the food was excellent and perfect for everyone's needs. The location of this hotel is convenient to many fine shops and restaurants as well as transit to get anywhere else you need to go in DC. We were there during an extremely hot week and the hotel staff provided several iced beverages in the lobby, which was such a thoughtful touch. We researched many other possible locations for this meeting and found that the price at One Washington Circle was very competitive, which made the wonderful accommodations we found there even more valuable. We will definitely plan to return for our next DC meeting.

Room Tip: Everyone in our group loved their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear pureblueskies,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us and your experiences with our meeting facilities and our catering! We're so pleased to hear that all of these outlets were a huge success to you and we certainly hope to welcome you and your colleagues back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great location and price. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Front Desk staff and bell hop were so helpful. We will stay here again. Close to Metro. Whole Foods and Trader Joes are within walking distance. Lobby always had fruit, fruit with water and bottled water. Nice after a hot day walking in the city. Suites were a good size. Room was clean. Have no complaints about our stay. Planning on returning in fall for another college visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Ann H,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at One Washington Circle Hotel!
We're so glad that you were able to enjoy our hotel, our team and our location despite the hectic schedules that accompany college visits!
We cannot wait to welcome you back next fall!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Prairie, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very convenient hotel located 2 blocks from a Metro station. The rooms were a bit worn but very clean and very large. There was a grocery store and a Trader Joes nearby and we used our full kitchen every day. They had complimentary newspapers, apples, and bottled water available in the lobby at all times. It was a great stay!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a quiet room on an upper floor away from the busy hospital across the street . Wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Ronn M,
Thank you for your wonderful compliments about your recent stay with us! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, our team and our location!!
In the coming months, we are looking forward towards beginning the renovation process to our rooms and our public areas. We certainly hope that the next time your travels bring you to DC that you will stay with us and have as wonderful of an experience as you did last time!
Best wishes!
The One Washington Circle Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I are most pleased to submit an excellent review of not only this facility, but also those who made our stay memorable. From the moment we arrived, we had our room upgraded to a spacious, clean, nicely-appointed suite. Bryan and Jillian were friendly and most gracious front desk staff, joined later in our stay by Andrew. They were not only consistently pleasant, but they went out of their way to help us locate restaurants, transit information, shopping opportunities, etc.
The hotel is ideally located, and we certainly believe that we received excellent value for what we paid for our room. We will certainly recommend this hotel to all of our Canadian friends and family who wish to visit Washington D.C.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, if available. Also, you may be disturbed occasionally by the ever-present siren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWUInnGM, Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Thomas family,
Thank you, again, for your wonderful feedback of your experience while staying with us. It is always such a pleasure to see our guests truly enjoy their time spent with us and, as a management team, it is so wonderful to hear that members of our team were so memorable to you.
We all certainly hope to welcome you back very soon!
Best,
The One Washington Circle Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Address: 1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Washington Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.