We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique find, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One Washington Circle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added One Washington Circle Hotel to your Saves list
One Washington Circle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique find, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend & I came to DC to visit for the first time and a friend recommended this cute little place. I loved it!! It's in a great location, in the middle of a quick walk to White House in one direction and George Town in the other direction. The service was excellent as the people working there are knowledgable of the area and gave great recommendations. The room was nice, but the bathroom was small. I really liked that the room looks like an apartment with a kitchen, powder room and a balcony.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    346
    106
    32
    31
See reviews for
344
160
70
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located, near to Foggy Bottom metro and in walking distance to Georgetown and Dupont Circle. My room had a kitchen and a spacious bedroom, but was quite old. The bathroom was okay but not very new.

My room was on the circle side so it was a bit loud at night.

Given the prices in DC, it was a relatively good deal, but in any other place this would be very bad value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed in DC for one night last week. The room was arranged by a travel agency that does travel arrangements for this company that had invited me. I wonder what kind of cut do they get! It is a very average hotel. The lobby is small, almost like club quarters. The room was large but bathrooms are dated. Instead of a king size bed, the room had a queen bed. And whats with this mini pillows!!! The pillows were half the size of your normal pillows. The room was clean. For $250/night I am sure I could have found something else closer to where I wanted to be and better.
Will I stay here again- I would if the price was right and I had no alternate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I really like One Washington Circle, having stayed here several times. It is in a great location--five minutes to the Foggy Bottom metro stop (so only 15-20 minutes from DCA by metro,) easy walking to the monuments, White House, etc., and lots and lots of great restaurants close by.
It has many great features including a full kitchen in every room. It isn't fancy, but it's nice, and I've always felt it was very clean.

There are a few cons that travelers should be aware of. First, it is right across from the GWU hospital, so in some rooms you can hear ambulances all through the night. This doesn't bother me, but it might be a problem for some. My main problem is the lack of electrical outlets. When I travel with my spouse and we both have computers and phones, it is a struggle to keep everything charged. But that said, it is a minor problem for a hotel I like a lot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HONOLULU
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Was expecting the hotel to be a bit more elegant given the room rate - about $250 per night for WEd-Sat in March. It was a convenient location b/c of the location of the meetings I attended and upscale restaurants in the Washington Circle area, and close (2 miles - 30 min walk or 15 min metro ride) to the Smithsonian museums and Georgetown shopping. The 'fitness' room was pathetic - a small room off the hotel lobby, with one BROKEN treadmill and a few cable machines... The room is alright - comfortable, clean, stylish, very large.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here in early March 2013 while at a conference at the Ritz down the street, looking to save a little $$. Did the same thing last year and was given a fabulous suite, #715, with L-shaped living- dining area, full kitchen, bedroom, 1-1/2 baths, and a balcony overlooking Washington Circle. As the weather was spring-like in 2012, it was fabulous, despite the sirens from the GWU Hospital emergency room across the circle. This year, though, I had to change rooms after two nights in #715 - absolutely no fault of the hotel - DC public works had seen fit to dig a hole in the pavement right in front of the hotel and cover it with a loose metal plate that went tha-thunk ALL night as cars and trucks rolled over it. Despite being full to capacity, the hotel very graciously accommodated my request to move to a room at the back of the building. 3rd night sleep was quiet, yay! A smaller suite with less than full kitchen, but still two rooms so it felt very spacious. Food at Circle Bistro is very good, and a special shout-out to Lamar the bartender, who is very accommodating. This is a gem of a boutique hotel, reasonably priced in a very expensive city. My friends who stayed at the Ritz were jealous when I described my room and especially when I told them what I paid. And, oh yeah, FREE wi-fi, coffee beans with a grinder (get some milk or cream at the store down the street if you don't like the white powder, though), and very cordial and accommodating staff.

Room Tip: If sirens bother you, ask for a room at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aimeeseminole
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived at 10 AM expecting to just store luggage and go explore DC. To our surprise, staff was able to check us in, so we were able to unload and unwind a bit before exploring. The room was very clean and met our expectations. The kitchen was outdated, but clean and functional. The bathroom was small, but also super clean. We loved the large balcony overlooking the circle. This hotel is 0.2 miles from the metro which we used to go everywhere. There are restaurants and bars within walking distance as well. We ordered room service from the attached Circle Bistro which was very good. The only con is that it is across the street from the George Washington University Hospital so there was a lot of ambulance and other siren noise. Also, if you need the fitness center, it has one treadmill (which was out of order during my stay), one elliptical, one stationary bike, and an all-in-one weight machine. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#23 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#16 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,420 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Melrose Georgetown
The Melrose Georgetown
#37 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#5 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Address: 1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Washington Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.