We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great deal, right off the Mall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Washington Circle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added One Washington Circle Hotel to your Saves list
One Washington Circle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Big Time DC Package
Ranked #34 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great deal, right off the Mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel is chic and extremely convenient to the Capitol Mall area. Good restaurants and Whole Foods Store within walking distance. Very close to George Washington University.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMattheCircleHotel, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Hello, kcon001,

Thank you for your review. We look forward to being your hotel of choice with any future reservations to the D.C area. Feel free to contact me with any needs you may have in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    322
    101
    31
    30
See reviews for
309
153
68
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and were very comfortable. Rooms are large and well appointed.Staff was friendly and helpful. We had a plumbing problem at 8 am on Sunday and were impressed that they sent someone up to the room within 15 minutes and fixed the problem. Lovely pool and patio. Will definitely stay there on up next trip.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMattheCircleHotel, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Hello lynda_cooper_2004,

We are always excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to continue to wow our guests. We appreciate the feedback very much.

As I am sure you are aware, travel sites like tripadvisor.com allow for great communication to other potential guests regarding our hotel. Certainly, it is rewarding to read positive reviews on these site; the benefits is two-fold as positive reviews boost our team’s spirit and allow us to grow reputation.

Again, thank you and we look forward to being your hotel of choice with any future reservations to the D.C area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed one night (July 4th for the fireworks) and paid $99 for a one bedroom suite (plus taxes and parking - which you pay anywhere in DC) and can't believe how well this worked out for us! This hotel is showing it's age. Yes, you can hear sirens occasionally. And yes, the homeless have made the circle in front of the hotel their home. But where else could I stay in DC for that price? The hotel is clean and the front desk staff were great. I never felt uncomfortable walking in the neighborhood.

Plus, it was a 15 minute walk to the Lincoln Memorial where we watched the fireworks - perfect location! The next day was another scorcher, so we walked a block or two to the Foggy Bottom Metro station and took a quick ride to the Smithsonian stop so we could do some museums. There was a metro employee helping tourists (like us) figure out how to buy the appropriate metro tickets.

I would stay here again and would recommend it to friends. If you are looking for an upscale, 5 star experience, you may not be happy here. If you want to balance price and location, then this is a good place for you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Hello NJNancy1 ,


I would like to personally thank you for taking the time from your schedule to write such a wonderful review you gave our hotel and staff. It is our goal to exceed all of our guest’s expectations.

We are very happy you chose our hotel for your stay and pleased you enjoyed your stay and your visit here in DC. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

In short: we will book this hotel again for sure at our next stay in Washington. Very friendly staff; spacious room with fully equiped kitchen; hotel/room is clean and well maintained (although look & feel a bit old fashioned); location is super with metro station and the Mall within walking distance; quality meals in the restaurant; fitness room; free use of computer and printer for airline check-in. The few minor remarks we have: wifi is a bit slow and there is a bar in the hotel, but we discovered it by accident, the bar is not mentioned anywhere. And yes, sometimes a sirene can be heard, but that’s not so strange in the middle of a big city…

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Hello RobertvB,

I would like to personally thank you for your valuable feedback. It helps us to improve and helps others make an informed decision. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay; we do our best to make every guest feel comfortable and relaxed.

We’d love to see you again soon. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next visit to the world’s capital.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel was okay for us as gave us a suite with a balcony for the price of a regular hotel room.. but really still paying over $200 a night by the time they added the parking and crazy 18% taxes??

Our suite was really clean, had a lovely bedroom and nice living room and balcony and kitchen but that wasn't what they had us booked into! When we arrived they said we had a regular room and not a corporate suite - so I pulled out the printed off confirmation email and reservation! So they honoured that and apologized.. Then they tried to charge us $35 a night parking when our email said $30 a night (plus the 18% taxes).. So make sure you take your info with you..

The staff are very friendly.. the pool was great with the heatwave although one day the garbage smell from the restaurant was really bad.. the public areas need updated and new carpets.. but overall not too bad!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a corporate suite if you want a lot of space.. there is a sep bedroom and a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Hello 4rkidz ,

I would like to personally thank you for your valuable feedback. It helps us to improve and helps others make an informed decision. I am happy to know that you appreciated the hotel and that our staff was very friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I hesitated to book this property because of the negative reviews related to the noise level. I will address that issue first. Yes, this hotel is located near GWU Emergency Services and there are ambulance sirens at unpredictable times. Frankly, it was no worse than any other urban setting; we were on the first floor and were not kept awake by sirens. The neighborhood is otherwise remarkably quiet in the evenings.

I believe the more recent reviews of this hotel are a more accurate reflection of its desirability as a place to stay in this part of DC. The hotel management has clearly made an effort to correct any problems that may have existed in the past. The staff, for example, were commendably courteous and helpful

I had never stayed in this part of town before, but it is an excellent location for dining (the hotel will provide a list of recommended venues as well as make other suggestions for specific dietary needs) without having to drive or take public transportation. We enjoyed quick service at Roti Mediterranean Grill and Mehran Pakistani and Indian Cuisine, both about 2.5 blocks away.

The room was spacious, comfortable, clean and COOL! I say that because we were there during the blistering heat of early July and the room remained comfortably cool at night. The availability of in-suite kitchen facilities made breakfast so easy without leaving the hotel. Whole Foods is located about 2 blocks away for provisions.

Speaking of convenience, the Foggy Bottom / GWU Metro stop, serviced by both the Orange and Blue lines is just 1.5 blocks away.

All in all, One Washington Circle is recommendable and affordable.

Room Tip: If street noise bothers you, you should perhaps request a room on the upper floors, but book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Hello phil2u,

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time from your schedule to write such a wonderful review you gave our hotel and staff. It is our goal to exceed all of our guest’s expectations. We are very happy you chose our hotel for your stay and pleased you enjoyed your stay and your visit here in DC. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the future.

Again, thank you and we look forward to being your hotel of choice with any future reservations to the D.C area. Feel free to contact me with any needs you may have in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have stayed for a week at this hotel in my last visit to Washington, DC, this June. What a pleasant surprise! A spacious one bedroom apartment with a nice balcony and walk-in closet. Very clean, with a mini kitchen and complimentary coffee/tea. Service was great as well and the cleaning of the rooms as, too. It is a gem in DC and I would definately stay there again. For those taking metro, it is steps away from Foggy bottom metro and waling distance to Georgetown. I truly enjoyed it. The only disadvantage is the gym, which is really small and not well equipped. But hey - you can run on the streets...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Address: 1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Washington Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.