We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommendable Foggy Bottom location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One Washington Circle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added One Washington Circle Hotel to your Saves list
One Washington Circle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #26 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Piedmont North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Recommendable Foggy Bottom location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I hesitated to book this property because of the negative reviews related to the noise level. I will address that issue first. Yes, this hotel is located near GWU Emergency Services and there are ambulance sirens at unpredictable times. Frankly, it was no worse than any other urban setting; we were on the first floor and were not kept awake by sirens. The neighborhood is otherwise remarkably quiet in the evenings.

I believe the more recent reviews of this hotel are a more accurate reflection of its desirability as a place to stay in this part of DC. The hotel management has clearly made an effort to correct any problems that may have existed in the past. The staff, for example, were commendably courteous and helpful

I had never stayed in this part of town before, but it is an excellent location for dining (the hotel will provide a list of recommended venues as well as make other suggestions for specific dietary needs) without having to drive or take public transportation. We enjoyed quick service at Roti Mediterranean Grill and Mehran Pakistani and Indian Cuisine, both about 2.5 blocks away.

The room was spacious, comfortable, clean and COOL! I say that because we were there during the blistering heat of early July and the room remained comfortably cool at night. The availability of in-suite kitchen facilities made breakfast so easy without leaving the hotel. Whole Foods is located about 2 blocks away for provisions.

Speaking of convenience, the Foggy Bottom / GWU Metro stop, serviced by both the Orange and Blue lines is just 1.5 blocks away.

All in all, One Washington Circle is recommendable and affordable.

Room Tip: If street noise bothers you, you should perhaps request a room on the upper floors, but book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Hello phil2u,

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time from your schedule to write such a wonderful review you gave our hotel and staff. It is our goal to exceed all of our guest’s expectations. We are very happy you chose our hotel for your stay and pleased you enjoyed your stay and your visit here in DC. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the future.

Again, thank you and we look forward to being your hotel of choice with any future reservations to the D.C area. Feel free to contact me with any needs you may have in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    353
    108
    32
    31
See reviews for
360
162
70
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I have stayed for a week at this hotel in my last visit to Washington, DC, this June. What a pleasant surprise! A spacious one bedroom apartment with a nice balcony and walk-in closet. Very clean, with a mini kitchen and complimentary coffee/tea. Service was great as well and the cleaning of the rooms as, too. It is a gem in DC and I would definately stay there again. For those taking metro, it is steps away from Foggy bottom metro and waling distance to Georgetown. I truly enjoyed it. The only disadvantage is the gym, which is really small and not well equipped. But hey - you can run on the streets...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We originally had a room reserved for their other hotel (I believe George Washington Hotel). The reservation desk called me last Thursday to advise me that she was going to have to put us at One Washington Circle as the other place was overbooked. We travelled with three other friends and I let Candi know that there were two other rooms involved. Well, it all turned out wonderful. She gave us each a suite at One Washington Circle and we were very impressed. The suites are very nice.....large living room, a little kitchen (with a coffee pot and fresh coffee beans to grind yourself), nice sized bedroom and nice bathroom. Also had a great balcony to sit out on. Room was clean, bed was very comfortable. Candi had also given us breakfast coupons for the inconvenience that she had put on us. Breakfast was downstairs in their restaurant and the breakfast buffet was very good. I would recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

Room Tip: Try and choose a room facing the pool. Our friends room faced the pool and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We just spent a week at One Washington Circle. There is a lot to like about this hotel. The location is terrific.... Convenient to GWU, Foggy Bottom metro station just across the circle, Whole Foods and Trader Joes an easy walk from the hotel.

We ate a couple of times in the hotel restaurant...food was good, but we would have appreciated some simpler fare...a burger or club sandwich would be a welcome addition to the menu. We really appreciated being able to pick up breakfast and snacks at the local grocery stores.

There was apparently a glitch with our reservation...we had reserved a King suite, but when we arrived we were given a room with two beds and no pullout sofa. We were promptly moved to a Queen suite, and the next day we were upgraded to an enormous room with a King bed, pullout sofa, full kitchen with a dishwasher, and 1 1/2 baths. The staff also comped breakfast and one night's parking for our trouble. They definitely did what they could to "make it right".

As others have noted, the rooms are a bit shabby. The window shade in our room was broken, and the bathroom doorknob in our first room was also broken. And, proximity to the GWU Hospital and fire station means that there are lots of sirens.

We were left with the impression that the hotel was understaffed...often, we'd be out for four or five hours, and our room would not be clean when we returned. One afternoon I went to the desk to get clean towels and was told they'd be sent right up. When I called 30 minutes later, the front desk told me that "housekeeping was slammed". We finally did get fresh towels...our room was cleaned sometime after 4 PM that day.

Despite these issues, we'd stay again. The valet/bell staff were delightful and friendly. We also had a great rate via Travelzoo, so the hotel was a great value.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in early June 12. We were able to book in early and even upgraded us to a one bedroom suite which was very good as my travelling companion was not well.
The hotel is very central to both the metro; supermarkets (Trader Joe and Whole Foods); university; George Town and Hospital. You can also walk to the Lincoln Memorial & White House from the hotel. Washington DC is very easy to navigate.
The hotel is very comfortable & spacious and whilst I read the reviews about the ambulance sirens, we did here them at the start of the night however after exhausting days of walking slept soundly. Ear plugs are available for free at reception.
The suite also had a full kitchen which was an extra bonus with supermarkets close by.

Would certainly recommend this hotel in location, service & cleanliness.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hello Lav_1971,

It is certainly rewarding to read positive reviews on travel site; the benefits are two-fold as positive reviews boost our team’s spirit and allow us to grow reputation.

Thank you and we look forward to being your hotel of choice with any future reservations to the D.C area. Feel free to contact me with any needs you may have in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed at One Washington Circle during a month-long tour of the US. Having never visited DC before, we weren't sure what to expect, but were delighted to find clean, spacious studio apartment in the fantastic district of Foggy Bottom, just one block from the Metro and the local Whole Foods. The latter was super-convenient and great as the apartments are self-catering, and Whole Foods is a fantastic store, stocking everything you could possibly need inc. Vegetarian food and beer, wine etc.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and a lovely little touch was the iced water with fresh lemon in the lobby.

The apartment was clean and comfortable, and although the bedroom was a little on the small side (my husband is 6'4"), it was a great pad to come back to after 6-7 hour days of sightseeing. Don't expect the height of modern trendiness, but there was nothing we could fault in that everything worked, was serviced daily, and was very clean. Also loved that they gave you coffee beans and a grinder as well as a machine to make your own coffee in the morning. It's these little things and the attention to detail that made our stay so lovely. Plus, it's a lovely area and it was a very warm October.

Super-good value for money, and a much more authentic experience than staying in a hotel. We flew in and out fron Baltimore DCI but used the cheap and convenient Blue Line shuttle service which cost $30 and got us there in about 40mins.

We would absolutely stay here again and are planning to just that, as our first trip to DC only allowed us 3 days in the city, when we could have done with another couple of days at least.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hello TheXPDesigner ,


I would like to personally thank you for taking the time from your schedule to write such a wonderful review you gave our hotel and staff. It is our goal to exceed all of our guest’s expectations.

We are very happy you chose our hotel for your stay and pleased you enjoyed your stay and your visit here in DC. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverett, MA
Level Contributor
309 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

In town for a meeting, this lodging was prearranged for me. Great choice. The location is good, withing walking distance to restaurants, transportation, etc. Check in was quick. All non-smoking. I was given a room, which was quite a room: bedroom, adjacent living room space, with a desk, internet and a good TV. There as a huge closet, a separate bathroom and a small separate kitchen. This would be ideal if you were in town for a week. The bed was comfortable. The lighting was good. There are drapes that shut out the light and some of the inevitable noise from city life. The hotel is across Washington Circle from the emergency room of GW Hospital. I thought that this would be a problem, but it was not. Breakfast is not included, but can be purchased in the hotel. But there is no need since very close by are fast-food (and not so fast) places were you can get a good breakfast. The lobby staff are helpful and can arrange things for you if you need them (taxi, driver and car, etc.) There is a printer and computer in the lobby in case you want to print out your boarding pass. In 30 minutes on the computer, no one else was waiting. All in all a very good place and I would stay again anytime. I don't know the price since this was arranged for me, but since this was a government agency that did the arranging the prince was likely reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for one that does not directly face Washington Circle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMattheCircleHotel, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Hello BobHLeverett ,

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time from your schedule to write such a wonderful review you gave our hotel and staff. It is our goal to exceed all of our guest’s expectations.

Certainly, it is rewarding to read positive reviews on travel site; the benefits are two-fold as positive reviews boost our team’s spirit and allow us to grow reputation.

Again, thank you and we look forward to being your hotel of choice with any future reservations to the D.C area. Feel free to contact me with any needs you may have in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#24 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#17 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,463 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Melrose Georgetown
The Melrose Georgetown
#36 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#5 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Address: 1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Washington Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.