We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for our family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Washington Circle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added One Washington Circle Hotel to your Saves list
One Washington Circle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Repeal the Prohibition
Ranked #36 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Perfect hotel for our family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I've never written a review before, but I had to write this one just because we had such a great experience. Our family of four (two kids age 12) made same day reservations on the spur of the moment. The price was very reasonable and the room was wonderful. We had a king size bed, a pull out sofa, and a rollaway bed. The two people at the front desk (Orlando and Mueed) were helpful, friendly, and informative. The pool was great for our kids after a day of touring the Mall. We took the subway to the hotel, and also the next morning to Arlington Cemetary. We also walked from the hotel to the White House in the early evening, and back. We ate at Johny Rockets which was a couple blocks away. Clean, quiet, reasonably priced, friendly; what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    295
    94
    31
    28
See reviews for
278
135
66
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlefield, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

You definitely get much more bang for the buck here. We booked in advance, in full, and rec'd 15% off total for room for great savings that put us in the price range of a standard double room anywhere else yet we got a suite with a full kitchen and one bedroom! The bedroom bed must've been a king...quite comfy and roomy! The kitchen was stocked for 4 (flatware, etc.). Tons of closet space. Two TV's. Pool (open til 8pm & provides big towels). Bathroom had hair dryer and plenty of liquid soap, shampoo & conditioner in shower. Loved the magnifying mirror so much purchased one for my own bathroom upon returning home! Staff was attentive and nice. We have nothing but great things to say about Hotel One. We weren't bothered by the sirens we did hear occasionally. If they were happening at night, we didn't notice. We did shop outside D.C. about an hour prior to arriving at hotel so saved on food costs. We stayed with our two boys, 10 & 14. (Cons: Parking our car did run $33 a day, the TV's did not seem to have any children's channels like Nickelodeon or such, and room did not have DVD player). Can't wait to come back to D.C. again!

Room Tip: This is a perfect place for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

I would recommend others to stay in this hotel as it was conveniently located at the beginning of Georgetown. It was a short 15 minute walk to the Lincoln memorial and 1 block from Trader Joes. The kitchenette was clean and convenient for us and there were good eateries in the area - Thai Coast, Roti meditterranean Grill across from the metro, and it looks like they are building a Whole Foods right next to the metro stop! We even tried the hospital food one night - cheap and good, and a good variety.

They charge for plastic bags at all areas in DC so bring your own recycleable bags. The Circulator bus was convenient to get to Union Station and is only $1 from the corner of 22nd and K Street. It is also a short walk to Georgetown or catch the Circulator bus. Again, very convenient and clean hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, S. C.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Bedbugs found in our room. Management very uncooperative. General Manager refused to appear after 4 requests. Stated they would clean all out clothes and mail them to us with shoes and suitcases being cleaned. Did not clean everything. Had to throw away suitcases and clothes. Very unsatisfied with hotel management response/resolution. Would strongly recommend not staying here!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

OK, that may be stretching it a bit but our family of five found this ticked all the important boxes - and at a very fair price booked through expedia (as per usual).
We had two rooms, one with a kitchen attached, and both were spacious, well decorated and maintained and with killer air-con, so just the place to chill after being out in the 90-degree plus Washington heat.
Staff, from front desk to cleaners, really helpful and friendly. Swimming pool is a bonus but think more 'family' than 'olympic'.
Not all areas of Washington are great but no problems around here. A bit of city noise, as you'd expect, but a decent and safe area. The metro is across the circle and its a short ride into the centre, the White House is within walking distance, Georgetown (and Dupont, though we didn't get up there) are 10 mins away for shops and eateries. There's a couple of supermarkets nearby, including a very popular Trader Joe's, for those eat-in evenings.
A couple of thoughts on Washington - not the biggest of downtowns, most of the urban life seemed to be in Georgetown, but many superb museums, some terrific sights and good tours (the Duck tour is highly recommended). Baseball is worth a visit for that all-American atmosphere and you can generally get tickets on the night.
And a weather warning if you are there in July/August, be prepared for scorching heat, dense humidity and occasional spectacular thunderstorms. Just as well there is so much to do inside.

Room Tip: Expedia very helpful but good to send hotel an email confirming your needs. Got a very nice reply fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband, 3 kids, and I stayed here for 3 nights on our recent trip to Washington D.C. We found the hotel on www.budgettravel.com and were attracted to it because of its location, price, and kitchenette set-up. We paid extra for a "corporate suite" where the bedroom was in a separate room from the living area. The bedroom had a king-size bed and the living room had a pull-out sofa. We found the room to be spacious and clean. The location is great as it is near to both a subway (Foggy Bottom - we had a lot of fun with this name:)) and bus station. It is also near a CVS and Trader Joe's, which was very convenient for us. Although the rates differed for each of the 3 nights of our stay, we felt the price was reasonable given the location of the hotel in a metropolitan area and that the room had a full kitchen. We also found the people at the front desk to be very friendly and helpful, especially when we asked them for recommendations for nearby restaurants.

While we did enjoy our stay, there were some inconveniences. At times, the hotel seemed understaffed and service was slow. The hotel did not have an ice machine. While they were able to supply us with ice from the adjoining restaurant, it was only a very small amount and we ended up walking over to the nearby CVS to pick up a couple of bags. Also, the pool closed at 8pm. This did not allow us enough time to enjoy the pool as we often did not return to our room until after 7pm from our day of sightseeing and dinner.

Despite the inconveniences, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMattheCircleHotel, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Hello Ohfamw3boys,

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time from your schedule to write a review about our hotel and staff.

It is our goal to exceed all of our guest’s expectations. We are very happy you chose our hotel for your stay and pleased you enjoyed your stay and your visit here in DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

My 17 yr. old daughter and I went on a summer college tour of the D.C. are . I had a hard time finding a hotel under $250 per night plus $30 and up for parking. I searched TripAdvisor for reviews and came across One Washington Circle and checked them out. What a find! Very clean, great location, walking distance to everything we wanted and a great price when I booked directly with the hotel. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 9th floor, no construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMattheCircleHotel, Front Office Manager at One Washington Circle Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Hello Phillygirl55,

We are very happy you chose our hotel for your stay and pleased you enjoyed your stay and your visit here in DC. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in the future.

Certainly, it is rewarding to read positive reviews on travel site; the benefits are two-fold as positive reviews boost our team’s spirit and allow us to grow reputation.

Again, thank you and we look forward to being your hotel of choice with any future reservations to the D.C area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Address: 1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Washington Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.