We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel in the heart of DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of One Washington Circle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added One Washington Circle Hotel to your Saves list
One Washington Circle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
“Fantastic Hotel in the heart of DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We came to DC for the July 4th weekend and booked this hotel based on reviews - it was great. Our room was a very reasonable price and with 700 square feet (including a proper dining room table), a great base for our family of 4. Only a short walk to the Foggy Bottom metro, loads of restaurants nearby and a few blocks to Trader Joe's (a Whole Foods is opening soon down the street too). The staff could not do enough for us! Also it was a bonus to have a lifeguard on duty at the outdoor pool.
Some reviews mentioned the noise of ambulances, etc (as the GMU hospital is across the street), but being city dwellers, we didn't notice a thing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    346
    106
    32
    31
See reviews for
343
160
70
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

My husband and I like this hotel because the location feels more like a "neighborhood". The front desk staff and the people who park the cars were friendly and helpful. There must have been a staff reduction since our last visit, though. We were out until late afternoon and our room was not serviced. Our request for towels was taken care of in a timely manner, but upon our return from an evening out we found that nothing else had been done. A special thank you to the young man who steered us to a nearby restaurant for breakfast. Overall, I would book this hotel again and recommend to others. However, I would certainly expect major improvement in the way they choose to handle cleaning and making up the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The restaurant in this hotel had a fire this past Spring, and the restaurant is under construction, which began July 1...not sure why no one else on this site mentioned the noise, because the noise from the jackhammer is incredible. We contacted Travelocity, the site we booked thru, to let them know, and they were not sure if something could be posted to their site...so this posting is going up in case Travelosity doesn't place anything on their site.

The construction crew works from 9:00am-6:00pm...so maybe the guests that posted weren't in the room during these hours. According to information provided by the front desk of the hotel, construction on the hotel restaurant will continue until mid-September...so if you're looking to sleep in past 9:00am...this is definitely not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: I'm sure every room in the hotel is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed at the One Washington Hotel during Independence Day weekend and had a great experience. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were very large which allowed us to spread out and feel more like we were at home. The full kitchen was a huge plus for us since it's more cost-effective to feed four kids instead of eating out all the time.

The hotel was a short one block walk to the Metro station which made it very easy to get around DC to see all the attractions and museums. There was also a Trader Joe's a couple of blocks away so it was very convenient for us to do our grocery shopping as well.

We will definitely stay here again when we make our next trip to DC!

Room Tip: After booking a room online, select the upgrade option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The apartment was very comfortable with good views over Washington. Full kitchen, with fresh coffee beans and grinder, was very welcome. Supermarket (Trader Joes) and Subway about 200 metres away. Noise was what you'd expect in a city and didnt disturb sleep

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at this hotel twice (once in Feb 2011 and once during the summer of 2010 - can't remember the date exactly).
The staff was helpful and polite, the room was clean (we had the studio room with kitchen) and the bed was comfortable.
Hotel is located about 20 minutes walking from White House and has a lot of good promotions if you book in advance.
The first time we stayed here we used the "Be Parked" promotion and that included the parking, 2 one-day metro passes and the room. It was great deal. Couldn't find it the second time around. We recommended this hotel to friends and I wouldn't think of picking another one if I was to visit DC again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We just stayed at One Washington Circle last week for a family trip and were very happy with everything there. My husband needed to use a mobility scooter to get around due to an upcoming knee surgery and they were more than helpful with this and everything else we needed. The room was clean and bright. The kitchen was was nice to have. We were so rushed with our time that we didn't get to use it much. The bed was comfortable. My 13 yr old appreciated the pool even though she only got to use it once, again with our rushed time. I just wish it was open later than 8pm. One reason we chose the hotel was so after a long, hot day we could come back and the kids could swim. Usually though, it was too late. As far as the ambulances, there were a lot of them when we were there but they didn't bother me any more than the dogs barking in our neighborhood do.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#23 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Quincy
The Quincy
#14 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#16 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,418 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Melrose Georgetown
The Melrose Georgetown
#37 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#5 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Washington Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Washington Circle Hotel

Address: 1 Washington Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — One Washington Circle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One Washington Circle Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Washington, DC's vibrant Foggy Bottom neighborhood, just one block from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. Enjoy cool, vibrant atmosphere from the moment you step through the front doors of our stylish hotel. Our friendly staff members welcome each guest with a genuine smile to our super comfortable, modern accommodations in a prime downtown DC location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your One Washington Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Washington Circle Hotel
One Washington Circle Dc
Hotel One Washington Circle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Washington Circle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.