We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Abandon all hope, yee who entereth here'” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Allen Lee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Allen Lee to your Saves list
The Allen Lee
2224 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“'Abandon all hope, yee who entereth here'”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is for you if:
- you don't mind hair other then yours in the bedsheets upon your arrival
- you don't mind the sense-awakening smell of old carpet and pipes.
- you enjoy hair in your jam for breakfast
- you call breakfast bread with jam and socks juice for coffee (and nothing else). Rest assured, its included.
- you rent a room in a slum-like favela and found the experience rejuvenating. The building is indeed decrepit both inside and outside. Just like you like them to be.
- you like being told by the staff to fetch your own taxi when it can extend the pinky and call one for you.
- you appreciate conversing with the outer world while being in the bathroom. The curtain reaches only 7/10th of window in such a way that while sitting DC can see you.
- you're used to your room doorknob falling when you pull it.

That sums up my experience and I'm writting this review with still one night to go.

On a positive note:
- the staff is reasonably friendly.
- the location is great - 10 mn walk from Foggy bottom subway and 20 min from the city center and white house.
- AC works.
- the neighbourhood is safe.
- most importantly: it's cheap. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    17
    27
    58
See reviews for
8
25
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Don't expect more than a room and bed and you won't be disappointed. One night two blocks from daughters appt during graduation for under $100. Why waste money on anything better if all you need is a safe place to sleep. Close enough to GW that safety wa not an issue.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Was going to give it 4 stars for location and convenience but then we were woken up by a MOUSE at 2 am eating our bag!!!!!!!! The receptionist did not seem to care and ignored me when I asked about what was going to be done. They must not clean in between because there was a pile of pubes in the shower. Disgusting, unfriendly place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My room was full with cockroaches. Wifi only in the lobby - if you can speak of a lobby. I think the service could have been better: not really friendly or open. I strongly recommend to pay a little more for something better. I

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

paint is peeling everywhere, they have mice traps behind the heaters (never a good sign) and the rooms are pretty shabby.

However, it's very cheap and the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Also it's in a great location - right near a station, a wholefoods and positioned to be walking distance from Georgetown and the mall.

I'd recommend it if you plan on not spending much time in the room at all and it's for a short period, but if you want somewhere nice, don't stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed there this past weekend. The hotel is fine. It is in a great location down the street from the Lincoln Memorial, the Kennedy Ctr and the Foggy Bottom/GWU subway. The decor is basic (plain room with some shred in carpet) but it's clean (new towels, soap and shampoo provided for day 2). I would stay there again. It's by far one of the cheapest hotel in DC. So, for that it's worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Always a worrying sign when a taxi driver was shocked there would be a hotel at the address.... As you will see elsewhere on here it is a hostel rather than a hotel. The price we paid was excessive for what we received, but all hotels in Washington had put their prices up as it was Inauguration weekend, which is why the location was great for both the National Mall and the Kennedy Center where we attended a Martin Luther King Tribute Concert.

One member of staff was particularly helpful, which did make the difference.

If you are not worried about quality and want good location for Lincoln Memorial, National Mall, etc then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: We didn't share with anyone else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Allen Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Allen Lee

Address: 2224 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your The Allen Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Allen Lee Hotel Washington Dc
Allen Lee Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Allen Lee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.