We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depressing and kinda gross.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Allen Lee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Allen Lee to your Saves list
The Allen Lee
2224 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Depressing and kinda gross.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Not filthy, but not very clean. Millions of ants. Freezing room because window had a gap in it. Bed was old and broken. I was too scared to look at the bed closely to see how clean it was. Breakfast was fine, and I loved the Costco peanut butter. This place is just kinda gross. I didn't look forward to coming back here at night. Convenient neighborhood and very nice staff.

Room Tip: Try to get an ensuite bathroom if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    17
    27
    57
See reviews for
7
25
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a very good zone: 3 blocks from the metro station and walking distance from the white house. However the rooms are really small, ugly and crumbling, nothing to do with the pictures they have on the website. They' also offer a breakfast: only bread and butter.. At least is clean. In my opinion the price is too high for what it offers (don't get me wrong is cheap but not for what it offers).
Btw no service at all.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The minute you set eyes on this dilapidated,collapsing shack is the minute you will be welcomed to hell on earth. The exterior says it all : rusting windows,horrendously tacky neon signage and smoky,blackened windows. Oh, Where to even begin with this revolting dump? Cockroach infested rooms,flithy, unwashed, blood laced linen. A lingering, nauseating musty smell pervades every pore of this slum. Floors squeak suspiciously and threaten to crack open as you walk on them. Bathrooms are health hazards, mildew and mold fester in every crevice. EVERYTHING is virtually coated in bacteria. Piles of ancient dust layer every surface. The carpet reeks of a sharp, vinegary smell. The same carpets appear to be decaying, and any type of pathogen could leap out of it and burrow into your feet, so wear thickly layered flip flops. There is a microscopic television from 1771 available.If you can bear to lay your hands on the filthy remote, you can look forward to a wide selection of ghost channels featuring noise and black and white dots. When you have had enough, rude staff holed up at the reception desk(surrounded by copious pots of plastic flowers) will interrogate you and demand proof that you are indeed staying at the Allen Lee.

If you are brave, I dare you to take the elevator. In addition to being as filth smothered as the rest of the building, it also boasts a selection of grimy ,broken mirrors and protruding shards of glass. Caution-Don't touch it lest you slice off a part of your hand.
I had booked the Allen lee for two nights, but could only barely survive one. I moved out immediately the following morning and went to stay with a friend.

They however serve complimentary breakfast, which is the opposite of a compliment. I would not eat anything produced in this cesspool if I were you. Be warned!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

First let me start by stating that originally the my colleagues and I were supposed to stay in the Gallery Inn, which is owned by the same person as the Allen Lee. 48 hours before we departed for our trip we were notified that our accommodations had been switched, and after reading the reviews on trip advisor, were horrified. Going in with an open mind, we were again horrified to find that we had to share our beds which was not the accommodations we had booked. The sheets were dirty, containing pubic hair and stains, as well as the towels. When I requested a cot so that I may have my own sleeping space, I was brought one that had obviously not been changed since its last use. In the drawers and on the box spring was bed bug feces. Another room has it's window patched by using cardboard, which was located on the first floor of the hotel. On another note, a halfway home is a wonderful organization, but having laptops and electronics with doors that barely locked, my colleagues and I were extremely uncomfortable leaving our belongings in the room. To make a long story short, after hours of arguing with the front desk manager, who refused to find a manager, we were finally brought to our original hotel space, The Gallery Inn. (which was fantastic by the way)

If you're looking for a cheap place to rough it in for a few nights, and don't mind bringing your own sheets and towels this is the place for you, if not, check out the Gallery Inn

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machipongo, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The Allen Lee is a cheap hotel in the heart of Washington, DC. It is not at all fancy and is a little run down, but it is in a safe neighborhood and the folks at the desk are nice. If you are looking for a place to sleep while exploring, stay here. My wife was concerned that I would bring bed bugs back. Didn't happen.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Arrived in Washington DC - it was cold. Hotel outside appearances were very deceptive - it looks a mess!. The Allen Lee Hotel private/en suite rooms were very warm and staff welcoming.. It's a cheap hotel but clean. Lots of University eating places nearby - healthy stuff on offer - and the Metro within two hundred yards. Very well positioned for visiting all momuments and memorials as well as the Smithsonian Institute. A great affordable hotel within reach of all amenities and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I thought a lot about reviewing this honestly. Before I booked it for my young adult daughter, I called them twice. The clerk who said he was a law student at Georgetown promised me that the negative reviews were exagerrated and inaccurate. He was lovely and convinced me that ithe hotel was safe, clean, and fun for a young person. She stayed there for about nine hours. (11:00 pm to 8:00am.) The door was duct taped around its lock. There was blood on the sheets. The carpet was also duct taped. She was bitten as if a stapler went across her shoulders, face, and arms. I called them right away and they said that she brought the insects with her. She was lucky that none of them traveled with her, though she spent the next day at the laundromat. Do not believe them. I was astonished that they were so blasee about her experience.

Room Tip: go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Allen Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Allen Lee

Address: 2224 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your The Allen Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Allen Lee Hotel Washington Dc
Allen Lee Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Allen Lee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.