We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this hotel is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Allen Lee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Allen Lee to your Saves list
The Allen Lee
2224 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“this hotel is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Arrived in Washington DC - it was cold. Hotel outside appearances were very deceptive - it looks a mess!. The Allen Lee Hotel private/en suite rooms were very warm and staff welcoming.. It's a cheap hotel but clean. Lots of University eating places nearby - healthy stuff on offer - and the Metro within two hundred yards. Very well positioned for visiting all momuments and memorials as well as the Smithsonian Institute. A great affordable hotel within reach of all amenities and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    17
    27
    58
See reviews for
8
25
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I thought a lot about reviewing this honestly. Before I booked it for my young adult daughter, I called them twice. The clerk who said he was a law student at Georgetown promised me that the negative reviews were exagerrated and inaccurate. He was lovely and convinced me that ithe hotel was safe, clean, and fun for a young person. She stayed there for about nine hours. (11:00 pm to 8:00am.) The door was duct taped around its lock. There was blood on the sheets. The carpet was also duct taped. She was bitten as if a stapler went across her shoulders, face, and arms. I called them right away and they said that she brought the insects with her. She was lucky that none of them traveled with her, though she spent the next day at the laundromat. Do not believe them. I was astonished that they were so blasee about her experience.

Room Tip: go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the hotel during Veterans Weekend. We arrived rather late on Friday night and although we booked our room with ensuite facilities months in advance, the guy at the front desk told us that there was only one room left in the hotel and it did not have a private bathroom.
We were very dissapointed about it, but we were to tired to discuss. We did ask him wether it would be possible to change the day after to a room with private bathroom. The guy clearly annoyed about our question replied he wouldn”t know that before the day after and said it would be really hard to do so.

The guy didn’t even apologize for the inconvience, and immeditaly went on with the payment, charging us with the rate for a room with a private bathroom. To top it all he claimed that the deposit we were charged for on our card, was only a booking fee and that the balance still had to be payed. And this while our confirmation e-mail clearly stated dat the “booking fee was none” and that there was already a 10% deposit payed. After a whole lot of discussions, trying to explain the guy the difference between a deposit & booking fee, we agreed on just paying for the first night. I was only planning on paying for a second night after talking to a manager.

So we went up to the room, using the extreme old and very noisy elevator. After that experience we decided to take the stairs during the rest of our stay. And while using the stairs, it alsays seemed like there were people sitting there all the time.
We didn’t really know why then, but after reading reviews from other previous guests, it seemed that the hotel is often used as a halfway house for women and kids. It would have been nice to know that in advance, but that wasn’t mentioned on the hotel’s website.

Once up in the room, we got even more dissapointed. Small room with a super small double bed, after we specificly asked for a twin room.
I also noticed that the rain and bugs ware already invating the wooden window frames and that the furniture in steel was all covered with a rust layer.
About the situation in the public bathrooms: hairy residues of former users.
If they want to I can give them some proper advice about how to clean a bathroom.

The next morning the same guy was at the front desk again, and we asked if the manager was available. He was like “Why do you wanna talk to him”, we replied that we wanted to talk to him about the payment details of our stay. The guy said the manager was really busy, while he was actually just talking to another guest. We said we had no problem waiting for the manager and would wait until he was ready for us.
The guy started to discuss the entire matter all over again, which resulted in the same outcome as the night before, us explaining the difference between a deposit and booking fee to him.
Luckily the manager overheared the entire thing and asked what the problem was. After explaining the problem with the deposit and booking fee, he told us we were right about the entire thing, and made sure we’d only pay what we were supposed to pay.

We were happy that everything turned out to be ok, concerning the money issues. But we would defenitley never ever stay in this hotel again. I guess the only positive thing to say about this hotel is the location in which it is in. The hotel is located in a very nice street, and when walking around in the area the facade of the hotel seriously stands out.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

What a dump. For $30/night, you get smelly roach-infested rooms. Also, this "hotel" has some sort of contract with the government that allows homeless women and their kids to stay there. These women are rough-looking and the children are unruly. The staff is horrible...the skinny black guy with glasses used the "f" word a few times when I asked him he name of the manager. Worst hostel experience EVER!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumanovo, Republic of Macedonia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

It's an old building with poorly decorated rooms and very small bathrooms. Don't count on the breakfast because the bread is old and there is only butter and jelly to go with it. The housekeepers were usually having their breakfast sitting on the floor in front of our room. Our room was looking at the street and it was very noisy because the George Washington University Campus is near and loud students were passing all night long.
Anyway since we weren't staying in the room a lot we didn't mind these things a lot. The best thing was the location, the hotel is on walking distance from the White House, The Lincoln Memorial, The George Washington Memorial and the museums. If you are a walker even Georgetown is not so far away, maybe 20-25 min walk. If you are not, the subway is very close.
The receptionists of the hotel were very nice, they answered all of our questions and gave us some directions. They even arranged a pretty cheap transportation to the airport for us.
If you are a young group of friends looking for fun and sightseeing and not planning to stay much in the room, than this hotel is worth for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Stayed here in September 2011 with some friends. I have stayed in a lot of bad places but this is really one of the worst ever.

In summary, musty smelling halls, creaky beds, dusty walls, cockroaches, run-down elevator, funny noises from the walls at night, weird neighbors, the list goes on. I suggest going here only if you have no other choice. You have been warned!

Minor plus points that stopped me from giving 1 out of 5 were the friendly staff and the breakfast, but you have to wake up bright and early to catch it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Generally friendly and helpful staff. Close to attractions. Bit of a halfway house for abused women I think, occasional noise from outside and in reception area. But clean and good value considering other options.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Allen Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Allen Lee

Address: 2224 F St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your The Allen Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Allen Lee Hotel Washington Dc
Allen Lee Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Allen Lee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.