We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Graham Georgetown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Graham Georgetown to your Saves list
The Graham Georgetown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1075 Thomas Jefferson Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Formerly Hotel Monticello) (Georgetown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cherry Blossom Package
Ranked #25 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Abu Dhabi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Above Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Down side:- out of the way for the main attactions, not on a metro line but can use the buses, restaurants in the area quite expensive, on the flight path for the local airport so can be noisy, no free water or slippers, we had no handles on our bathroom doors, and heavy to move, safe is movable so not very secure, roof top bar not open, slippery grated area outside the hotel, had problems getting towels for 2 people,

Good things:- large room, but lots of useable empty space especially in the bathroom, large TV, nice seating, reception staff/door men,

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as there is a lot of noise at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    49
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
44
76
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely boutique hotel in the heart of Georgetown. As a result, the rooms are SMALL. Our luxury king room was barely big enough for the bed, and it certainly gave you the sense of what all the cute little houses feel like from the inside. The room and bathroom were clean and nice BUT some free bottled water would have been welcome as would qtips, cotton balls and a nail file. These are the standard amenities we expect from an upscale hotel. Most importantly, the hotel needs new towels - these were gray and thin and more what you would expect at a cheap healthclub or holiday inn rather than a boutique hotel in Georgetown.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 2 nights over Easter weekend in this lovely boutique hotel right in the heart of Georgetown. Short walk to everything, M street and Wisconsin Ave right around the corner, the Potomac a 5 minute walk downhill. The staff was incredibly helpful, friendly and accommodating-- they let us check in much earlier than we expected (thank you, Abdullah). And the one suggestion, to get coffee at Baked & Wired 100 yards away rather than at St*rbucks, was great advice. Turns out they have better cupcakes than Georgetown Cupcakes, and delicious quiches too. Great vibe inside as well. Go early-- they had long lines most of the weekend.
Back to the Hotel: We had a couple of suggestions for improvement. We and several other couples there for a wedding could never get the A/C to work well, and were hot all weekend, despite several requests to management. Our work-around was to open several windows on the cooler second night, which is not a practical solution if you are on the lower floors, due to noise. Also, in our room (710), all the bathroom fixtures were installed backwards and turned the wrong way. We thought we had no hot water in the shower, until we figured out to turn the faucet to "cold". I would also get rid of the cheesy items for sale in the bathroom-- e cigarettes, panties, condoms, razor, etc. They don't belong in an upscale hotel room.
Overall, we were very happy at the Graham Georgetown, and would be pleased to stay again.The staff was truly what made it such a nice place.

Room Tip: 710 was a terrific corner room-- we could see the Washington monument in the distance & the cana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I recently spent a night at this hotel in Georgetown. The location is absolutely perfect. Close to shopping and restaurants! The hotel staff were super friendly and we felt really welcomed. Valet parking was such a huge help and once you park your car, you will not need it again because everything is so close. The only problem we had was with the temperature of the room, no matter how we adjusted the control, it was incredibly hot. If we would have stayed longer, I am sure it could have been fixed. The room was great overall and the bed was extremely comfortable. Very charming boutique hotel. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to DC. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abdulla_Almutairi, Director, Rooms Division at The Graham Georgetown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sarah F,

I can not stay thank you enough for your review. With such a small gem here in Georgetown, we strive ourselves to present the most memorable of experiences for our guests and I am delighted to hear that your experience met your expectations. Our close proximity to all the attractions, shopping and restaurants allow us to be such a valuable landmark for our guests and we are pleased to hear that you took advantage of our location. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance, do not hesitate to reach out.

Sincerely,

Abdulla Almutairi
Director, Rooms Division
abdulla.almutairi@thegrahamgeorgetown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The suite (507) where my daughter and I stayed was AMAZING! Clean, well supplied, tons of room! But the staff was AWESOME!!! As soon as I walked through the door, I felt like a princess! Everyone "bent over backwards" to make sure I was welcomed! The staff was very polite and professional. The hotel is within a half mile walk to the Mall. Thank you Robert Clark, Abdulla Almutairi, and everyone else for making my trip to DC pleasant.

Room Tip: Suite 507 had 2 rooms, one with a king and the other with a pull out sofa. Both beds were very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abdulla_Almutairi, Director, Rooms Division at The Graham Georgetown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear seperrino,

I was so delighted to have met you during your stay with us and we are collectively grateful for your kind review of your stay with us. On behalf of our general manager, Mr. Robert Clark and the entire staff, we are looking forward to your return. We take large pride in what we do and the staff is committed to leave each guest with a memorable experience. I was very pleased to have connected with you and look forward to hearing from you during your next visit to us. Until then, do not hesitate to reach out or say hello.

Sincerely,

Abdulla Almutairi
Director, Rooms Division
abdulla.almutairi@thegrahamgeorgetown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice, clean upscale hotel. We had a nice suite at a reasonable price that was very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable with sheets that one would expect at a nicer hotel. Two bathrobes in our room, as well as a blow dryer, iron/ironing board and safe. The location is great; nearly dead center, certainly within walking distance of nearly everything. Some minor concerns that I did not mention to anyone.
1. A single very small bar of soap for two people.
2. A single face clothe for two people.
3. A TV Channel guide would have been appreciated.
4. Parking is expensive -NYC prices. $49 a night - we parked at our sons hotel.
5. The sink stopper would not function without a little help.
6. If you have a fridge in the gym for water, please keep it full.

Even with these small issues we liked the place and found the staff to be great.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved this hotel. Boutique glamour makes a nice change from bigger chain hotels. Super comfy and attractive room, very good desk for work. Wifi not free but it works well. Good food (and even better, they've got New Zealand wine on the wine list), friendly staff, great location in Georgetown, an easy stroll to the river in one direction and to all the shops and cafes in the other direction. I felt safe there. Easy to get cabs into town. Suited me as a business traveller but I also saw a number of families and couples there too. I look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Level 4 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Graham Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Graham Georgetown

Address: 1075 Thomas Jefferson Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Formerly Hotel Monticello)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#67 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Graham Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Graham, where cultured sophistication meets modern luxury in one of the most refined residential hotels in Georgetown DC. Named after famous Georgetown resident Alexander Graham Bell, inventor of the telephone, our Georgetown hotel draws inspiration from Bell's inventiveness and consummate poise, offering a mix of innovative style and gracious service that fit naturally with the spirit of the neighborhood. Nestled along the banks of the Potomac River, The Graham sits in the heart of DC's most affluent and historic area. Our central Georgetown location makes it easy to walk around this intimate neighborhood, home to important landmarks and historic estates, prestigious universities, and numerous independent shops and restaurants. Georgetown University, George Washington University, Washington Harbour, the Kennedy Center, and the National Cathedral are all located nearby, and the area itself is within close proximity to downtown Washington D.C. When the day is over, retreat to one of our Georgetown hotel's 57 guestroom and suites, stylish and spacious with luxurious residential comforts and amenities designed for the discerning guest, including complimentary Wi-fi and a 24-hour fitness center. Experience our new craft cocktail cellar and small-plate dining concept The Alex, and afterwards head up to The Observatory, The Graham's open air rooftop bar and lounge, to take in one of the most stunning views of our nation's capital-martini and cigar in hand, of course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Graham Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monticello Hotel Washington Dc
Monticello Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Graham Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.