We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Graham Georgetown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Graham Georgetown to your Saves list
The Graham Georgetown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1075 Thomas Jefferson Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Formerly Hotel Monticello) (Georgetown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 131 Hotels in Washington DC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. King suite was spacious and comfortable, then bar in the basement was cozy and the location was perfect for Christmas shopping in Georgetown. If only the the rooftop lounge was open to take advantage of the unusually warm weather!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, General Manager at The Graham Georgetown, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experiences at the Graham Hotel Georgetown.
It is such a special time of year in December when you visited and the shopping in Georgetown is always a plus! We are delighted that you and your wife were able to enjoy the intimacy and feel of our lounge and restaurant, AGB, as well as the comfort of the room! We certainly look forward to the warm weather and the excitement that Springtime brings to Washington DC as our open air rooftop re-opens. We will be happy to share another great experience with you and your wife when you return to Washington DC to partake in the beauty and uniqueness of our destination rooftop, The Observatory lounge. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Robert Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    37
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
63
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillcrest, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have just stayed here for one night on our way back to South Africa. What a lovely hotel. The location is brilliant - close to shopping and restaurants. The staff were brilliant. They are so friendly and could not have been more helpful. From Keith who carried all our luggage for us to the ladies at the front desk we can not fault them at all. They kindly upgraded our room for us and allowed us to check out late with absolutely no charge. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my clients who visit Washington.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, General Manager at The Graham Georgetown, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
On behalf of everyone at the Graham Hotel Georgetown, I thank you for taking the time to share your experiences while staying with us. It is very rewarding to hear from you and know that not only the location and product were outstanding but also our fantastic and experienced staff.

Your comments will serve to strengthen our resolve to providing outstanding service and accommodations in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you bcak to the Graham Hotel Georgetown on your next visit to Washington DC.

Be Well,
Robert Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We only stayed two nights, but this was what we found:
1. The staff are brilliant. Starting with Cartrell (apologies for the spelling) at the main desk, all the way through to Evelyn two days after we left who hunted down the iPad we left in the room, and arranged for it to be Fedexed to our next hotel.
2. The rooms were brilliant. We slept in until 930am the rooms were so dark and quiet (I should be complaining about that, but we didn't set an alarm, and we had the best night of sleep we had had in two weeks in the US).
3. The location was excellent. Just at the start of Georgetown, so you're not in the thick of it, but you walk 50m to M Street, and 500m to Wisconsin. You're also a very short walk (250m?) to the canal.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a room (perhaps a suite) on the second floor, but I reckon most of the rooms wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here! For sure, the location is tops. Just off M street in the heart of Georgetown. The front desk staff were friendly and though I declined the turndown service, he was also warm and helpful. I was upgraded to the larger size suite, and it was really spacious. The bathroom was also very large (though others have noted, with no racks/hooks for towels). There isn't much to find fault with, but I did find the lighting a bit dark. I had to turn on every possible light for it to be comfortable to work in the front room. I couldn't figure out how to get the light in the closets on, sometimes they magically lit, other times no, making it almost impossible to see anything (e.g., coffee/tea, safe, minibar). My view was also not great, just across a courtyard (with a sofa in it?) to another building. I'm not sure if there are other better views. I liked that the window opened, especially because the heater was a bit tricky.

A few tips--if you are coming from Union Station, there is a wee bus called the Circulator that goes to the exact corner on M street where the hotel is located. It costs $1. I don't know where you pick it up, but I took it from the hotel to the station, which was fabulous, not having to trek with luggage to the train (there aren't any metro stops very close by) and then take the train to the station. It took a good 45 minutes when I left around 11 so if you go during rush hour, allot plenty of time. There is also another route that goes to DuPont Circle. Again, very handy. Look for the little red signs on the street, they are easy to miss. The one staff member I asked about the bus didn't really know about them, but they do have maps at the front desk.

Two great dining choices are Le Pain Quotidien, especially if you are looking for a good breakfast, and DAS Ethiopian. Both just a couple of blocks up M street.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Location, Location, Location. Can't beat the location - close to shopping and restaurants and bars of Georgetown. Top it off with great service and you've got one wonderful hotel. After arriving Thanksgiving night and nothing open at the hotel, the desk clerk called around to find a restaurant that was open and within walking distance. Other staff gave excellent restaurant recommendations and directions to all the local sights. Room was very large (a suite) with clean and spacious bathroom, complete with Bulgari toiletries. Bed was super comfortable. In the end, it was the staff that won me over - so helpful and always kind and considerate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We spent four nights (2 adults, 2 teens) this fall at The Graham Hotel and were very pleased with the experience.

Positives
-Great location. The Graham is right in the heart of Georgetown, but on a quiet side street, so we absolutely loved the location. Yes, there is some city noise, but nothing out of the ordinary.

-Awesome value. As the hotel is relatively new, we thought the price point for the quality of the room and the location were unbeatable.

-Excellent rooms. We reserved the Luxury King suite plus another Luxury Queen where the boys stayed and both rooms were very spacious and well furnished. On the negative side, the rooms lacked bath tubs, seemed to be missing wall art, and were inadequately lighted.

-Public areas. Very solid reception, downstairs bar, but thought rooftop bar would be a great place to hang out in the summer time.

-Beds and pillows. Top notch and very comfortable.

-Reception. We found the reception staff extremely accommodating, giving us an extended check-out in one room, and then finding availability when our stay extended beyond what we expected.

There are a few drawbacks. Here are some:

Negatives-
-Elevator. There are only two, and one is labeled "Service," so waiting times seemed excessive.

-Breakfast. We opted for the included breakfast. This was a mistake. Breakfast was fine, but the menu was limited and service a tad slow. There's a great crepe place across the street; that would have been a better choice.

-Housekeeping. Unbearably slow. When housekeeping tries to combine cleaning with evening turndown service, you know there's a problem. This occurred several times.

-Temperature/climate. We had a lot of difficulty maintaining a desired temperature in both rooms, ultimately choosing to open windows to keep the room cool.

All in all an excellent stay, would definitely be the top value in Georgetown. No doubt Capellas and the Four Seasons are probably nicer, but for value the Graham can't be beat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Europe
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed at the Graham for a week while visiting friends and seeing the sights in Washington DC. Even though there is no immediate access to the DC metro, the Graham is a great location if you want to be close to the shops, sights and restaurants of Georgetown. Buses and taxis are easily available at the top of the street and the walk to Foggy Bottom Metro and beyond is very pleasant and easy. There was never any issue with street noise, the canal path by the hotel made a good running track and the cupcake shop opposite does fantastic expresso. The Potomac is visible at the bottom of the street and there is a Loews Cinema moments away. The Hotel get's 5 stars for it's location. The Hotel experience was a little bit more mixed - I was lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite from the junior suite I had booked. The room was extremely large but lacked any character and tended to be on the stuffy side. As another review mentioned the bathroom had nowhere to hang towels and I found it to be darker that normal. Overall, it felt more like a very large room rather than a suite. However, full marks for cleanliness and the comfort of the bed. I would be happy to recommend and return

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Graham Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Graham Georgetown

Address: 1075 Thomas Jefferson Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Formerly Hotel Monticello)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Graham Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Graham Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monticello Hotel Washington Dc
Monticello Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Graham Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.