We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms, good location, something missing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Graham Georgetown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Graham Georgetown to your Saves list
The Graham Georgetown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1075 Thomas Jefferson Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Formerly Hotel Monticello) (Georgetown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% + Cocktails
Ranked #26 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Big rooms, good location, something missing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed here for a two-night business trip based in Georgetown, and was not disappointed. While not as lavish as the neighboring Ritz Carlton, it's located on a quiet, tony block, and the accommodations appear top-notch. My room was much larger than expected, though in line with some local Kimpton offerings. If you have to park, this might not be your first choice, but if you need a comfortable place to stay on the border of D.C. proper and Georgetown, this is a fantastic place. Bonus: The rooftop view is fantastic, and the service is top-notch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    50
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
45
76
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at this boutique hotel for one night on 09/28/13. Right in the heart of Georgetown. Walking distance to whatever it is you're looking to do. Very friendly and accomodating staff. The hotel was very safe and well managed. We arrived late and were upgraded to a suite without asking. The rooms were stylish, clean and had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in (It rivaled the Westins Heavenly bed). The rooftop bar was great as well, nice views. I would definitely stay here again if in the Georgetown area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Excellent location in heart of Georgetown...only 1/2 block off main drag (M st.) ...yet very quiet and secure. Wonderful beds / very clean well appointed baths. Terrific open air roof top bar w/ 360* views of Georgetown rooftops and surrounding hills. Staff was very attentive and accommodating (gave us late check out w/o hesitation - on a Sunday). Canal path is only 100 yards down the street ...miles of beautiful bike/running/walking paths. Also from hotel easy stroll down to waterfront Restaurants and fountains and easy walk to Kayaking rentals. Baked and Wired good spot for coffee/breakfast. My girlfriend and I are frequent travelers (from 5 star hotels to B and B's) and we both were thrilled with our stay.

Room Tip: We happen to face the back of the Hotel.....Not sure if it would be noisy on low floors in front?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Small rooms done up nice. No Lounge chair. Less than three feet from bed to TV. Nice upgraded bath but no place to put toiletries in the bath. Lame Quiet... Kinda... Now there is some bozo yelling outside my window at 10pm.

This has been taken over as a corporate venue for the night. Not totally up to snuff.

Cannot believe how small the upscale expensive bedrooms are.

Catering is done offsight by good caterers? Good experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Since returning home from our stay at the Graham Georgetown I cannot stop talking about our stay at the Graham. The service was extraordinary and the room and the roof-top bar were amazing. I have never been to a hotel where the room and hotel amenities were better than presented on the hotel's website. Believe me, this hotel is even better in person than it looks online. Great location, great staff and probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. A must stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Charming hotel in Georgetown, but found so many things wrong....dishes from room service out in hall for over 24 hours, room not made up at 3 pm when we returned to rest and prepare to go to a wedding, not enough light to put on make up, faucets that didn't work, long wait to get ice delivered to room, front desk put me on hold and didn't ever return. These little things indicate a hotel that needs lots of help in customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Graham is an exceptional boutique hotel in a prime location. The generous rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Valet parking was easy-- a little pricey-- but easy. Service was terrific. The location is wonderfully close to shopping and restaurants. This was a first stay-- but will certainly not be the last. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Graham Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Graham Georgetown

Address: 1075 Thomas Jefferson Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Formerly Hotel Monticello)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Graham Georgetown 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Graham, where cultured sophistication meets modern luxury in one of the most refined residential hotels in Georgetown DC. Named after famous Georgetown resident Alexander Graham Bell, inventor of the telephone, our Georgetown hotel draws inspiration from Bell's inventiveness and consummate poise, offering a mix of innovative style and gracious service that fit naturally with the spirit of the neighborhood. Nestled along the banks of the Potomac River, The Graham sits in the heart of DC's most affluent and historic area. Our central Georgetown location makes it easy to walk around this intimate neighborhood, home to important landmarks and historic estates, prestigious universities, and numerous independent shops and restaurants. Georgetown University, George Washington University, Washington Harbour, the Kennedy Center, and the National Cathedral are all located nearby, and the area itself is within close proximity to downtown Washington D.C. When the day is over, retreat to one of our Georgetown hotel's 57 guestroom and suites, stylish and spacious with luxurious residential comforts and amenities designed for the discerning guest, including complimentary Wi-fi and a 24-hour fitness center. Experience our new craft cocktail cellar and small-plate dining concept The Alex, and afterwards head up to The Observatory, The Graham's open air rooftop bar and lounge, to take in one of the most stunning views of our nation's capital-martini and cigar in hand, of course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Graham Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monticello Hotel Washington Dc
Monticello Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Graham Georgetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.