We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Georgetown Inn to your Saves list
Georgetown Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1310 Wisconsin Avenue North West, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Georgetown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked what we thought was the 'Executive Room' at the Georgetown Inn for 4 nights at $300/night, but what we got was FAR from that. The room wasn't properly cleaned to begin with, the overall state of the room was tired and in need of an upgrade. The bathroom was horrendous - outdated, wonky fixtures that need to be replaced - the shower stall (there was no tub) was dirty, stained and encrusted with God knows what. The maid service was terrible - one day they didn't even come to service the room and whenever they did, there was always something they forgot. I had to call down for clean towels and when they did bring them, they were all hand towels and wash cloths. Just really sloppy service overall. We will not be staying there again. The only thing this place had going for it was the location which was great - central in Georgetown to all the shops and restaurants. The staff were friendly enough. To top it off, they stuck us in the room right next to the elevator (I should have asked for one away from it) so we heard constant noise from people coming and going, plus the ice machine room was directly across from our room so that was noisy throughout the day and night. There was a lot of noise from the street from cars, etc. but you expect that if your room is overlooking a busy street. For the kind of money we paid, I was expecting something much better than what we got. It didn't spoil the trip by any means, it was just disappointing.

Room Tip: Be careful when choosing the 'Executive Room' - the photos on their website are very deceivi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    102
    64
    29
    23
See reviews for
93
65
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Want to stay in the trendy Georgetown where all the cool stores and restaurants are located, here is Georgetown Inn.
Great staff.
Comfortable hotel, modernly designed.
Large and inviting bar with nice atmosphere.
Spacy room and bathroom.
And to top it off, very fair price.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here on a weekend getaway. I didn't make the reservation and wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was a suite with a separate living room and bedroom. It had a beautiful bathroom with a very large glass enclosed shower. There were two closets and they left us chocolates. There is a nice bar/restaurant downstairs. Which was really busy. We were able to walk the bustling streets, but we couldn't tell by the quietness in the room. We were able to easily walk around and sightsee. After a nice, casual stroll, we ended up at the waterfront and had a great dinner. This was just a weekend getaway that really turned into a sweet retreat.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 3 nights, rooms were spacious, beds very confortable, nice bathrooms and very central, breakfast was in nearby reataurants, one especially can't remember name but was like a bakery... Fantastic!

Room Tip: Confortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely stay, upgraded to a suite. Terrific location and great place for having breakfast. The rotating Madame Tussaud exhibit in the lobby was a hoot (we were pleased to have Jackie Kennedy).All and all, a very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK countryside
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel, but most definitely not an inn so don't expect one! Exceptional location; right in the heart of Georgetown amongst all the restaurants and bars. We had a lovely meal on our first evening in the restaurant (only because we were tired) but decided against breakfast. Superb service all round and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for one not overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgetownGM, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you --- you've captured the essence of a visit to The Georgetown Inn! We are happy that you enjoyed our location and hospitality and we appreciate your very kind comments. Please come visit us again soon -- but in the meantime, please refer us to other travelers to Georgetown and let them know about our affordable luxury in the nation's capital!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very pleased with the service and the kindness of the employees. The location is excellent to shopping, dinning and Georgetown University. Easy access to cabs, buses etc. The food was very good, especially the Idaho Trout. I would return here and hope to do so soon. The admissions people were very friendly, kind and professional which creates a most pleasant atmosphere for my stay and overall trip.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgetownGM, General Manager at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you - it's so nice of you to offer such kind comments about The Georgetown Inn! We have been serving Georgetown University families and its greater community for more than 50 years now. At this time, there are still a few rooms available for next May's graduation weekend if you have not yet made your arrangements. As you know, from our great location you can easily walk to the campus in only about ten minutes. Hard to beat, especially when the walk includes a tree-lined, cobble-stone street with a few trolley tracks from a by-gone era and a glimpse of the current Secretary of State's residence. All of us at The Georgetown Inn are looking forward to welcoming you back to Georgetown whenever you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Address: 1310 Wisconsin Avenue North West, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Georgetown, Washington DC. Full service hotel offering upscale amenities and the Daily Grill Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.