We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Georgetown Inn to your Saves list
Georgetown Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1310 Wisconsin Avenue North West, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Georgetown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Wall Township, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great hotel in Georgetown. Walk to super restaurants, shopping, walk to Georgetown University (sports, chapel, historical). Location is ideal. Hotel: still a gem, a little tired, comfortable beds, wifi, nice reception. If you need to be in Georgetown, this is a good place. We paid $179 a night including parking, breakfast not included. Average for DC area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgetownGM, Manager at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for such a positive response -- we're thrilled that your visit was a perfect one. It is very gratifying for all of us at The Georgetown Inn to have been part of your successful visit to this nation's capital. We hope to have many other opportunities to host your visits to Georgetown and Washington, DC in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    107
    66
    30
    24
See reviews for
102
68
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in the heat of July. AC works but blows constantly and loudly. The double queen room is sized well, we were not in the room much. This hotel could be a gem,but it clearly is not. The shower has black mold, the fittings and cabinets are worn out. Toilet runs periodically. The furniture in the sitting area may be as old as my Grandmothers, however my Grandmother kept hers cleaned. We had to request that the carpet at least be vacuumed, it was so dirty looking. The bed skirts around the beds seem to be original from the inception of the inn, they are faded, ripped and just nasty looking. We stayed on the 5th floor so street noise wasn't an issue, in fact didn't hear much noise at all since we are at the end of the hall. Ate at the Daily Grill was just as grimy.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgetownGM, Manager at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
First of all, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experiences at our hotel. We are disappointed that we did not meet or exceed your expectations. We can only hope that we will have other opportunities to host your visits to the nation's capital. In the meantime, we will continue to work hard toward improving our hotel facilities and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The service is still good as is the smaller room selection - old school charm. The new rooms are modern and sparsely furnished (on purpose). The contrast is confusing. I personally prefer the older style which feels more comfortable and is more consistent with the neighborhood

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgetownGM, Manager at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful and balanced comments about our the new décor in some of our guestrooms. We are very interested in your opinion as we decide to move forward with improvements to our facilities. We hope that we will have many opportunities to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I probably haven't written one of these in seven or eight years, but felt compelled because I am so in awe of how overrated and overpriced this place is. I am a Georgetown resident who often stays in area hotels when I want to get out of the house. I had never been to this place until this week because there are lots of great options and this is always on the expensive side, but this week it happened to be a reasonable $219 nightly so I booked. I arrived late (around 1.30 am) and things got off to a bad start. There was no security and no one at the reception desk. I had to shout "hello?" to get someone to come out from the back office. He had the air more of a disgruntled mall cop than a staff member of a luxury hotel. He was brusque and provided no info about wifi, parking — really nothing but the room number and the breakfast plan. The room was even worse. The sheets were damp because of poor ventilation and though the floors have been re-carpeted and the walls repapered, the dials and bathroom fixtures probably haven't been changed since the hotel was built in 1962. The desk continued to be unmanned when I entered and exited throughout the following day. Really what you're paying for is location; it is in the heart of Georgetown. But Georgetown itself is as much of a mirage as this hotel; it's a mecca of overpriced and un-unique shops, restaurants, and bars. I beg you to stay somewhere else in DC — there are much cooler areas like Adams Morgan, Dupont, etc — but if you must stay in the area, stay at The Graham. It's beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgetownGM, Manager at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to The Georgetown Inn. We are very sorry that our facilities and services did not meet or exceed your expectations. In the future, we hope that you will reconsider staying with us as we make improvements in our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Local to the area, we decided to have a special night in the city so we got a room in Georgetown. The customer service was fabulous from everyone to the bellman to the man who delivered our room service. But the overall hotel needs a little TLC. The interesting fixtures in the room, while unique, made me feel like I was staying in my grandparents house (literally, my great grandma had the same couch...). The bed was only OK and the fitted sheet didn't fit! We were in the room really only to sleep so this was a major factor. Although we did not hear a peep from the street all night, a plus!

Would definitely recommend as the price is right for the Georgetown Area, but I am sure there are much nicer hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgetownGM, Manager at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your balanced and thoughtful comments regarding your recent stay at The Georgetown Inn. We appreciate your willingness to recommend us and look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Georgetown Inn when our other favorite DC hotel was not available. Our room was nice sized, but a bit dirty ( We found peanuts on the floor.) We asked for ice, but were sent on a wild goose chase and came up empty handed so service & amenities were lacking during our visit. My daughter quickly noticed that the staff did not greet us when we returned to the hotel whereas at our preferred hotel they always say hello or welcome back. Little things matter and young people notice the smallest gestures!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgetownGM, Manager at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very interested in your opinion as we move forward with the necessary improvements to our facilities and services. We hope that we will have many other opportunities to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, VA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife, son and I stayed the evening if the 4th and had a very good experience. The location is in the heart of Georgetown and within walking distance of great shopping and restaurants. Room was large and comfortable with nice view of the Mall fireworks. Recommended for a stay in the DC area

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#23 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#87 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Georgetown University Hotel and ...
#104 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown
#31 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Georgetown
Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Melrose Georgetown
The Melrose Georgetown
#36 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Address: 1310 Wisconsin Avenue North West, Washington DC, DC 20007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Georgetown, Washington DC. Full service hotel offering upscale amenities and the Daily Grill Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.