We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i miss the watergate!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Watergate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Watergate Hotel to your Saves list
The Watergate Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Virginia Avenue Northwest, Reopening Fall of 2015, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“i miss the watergate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

I am seriously going to miss this hotel. From the lovely suite (bigger than my apartment) looking out onto the Kennedy Center, to the impeccable food and service at our business meeting to a late night at the bar - this place was fabulous.

  • Liked — great service!
  • Disliked — well, it closed!
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    10
    6
    10
See reviews for
4
4
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

I have stayed at the Watergate numerous times when I am working at the Kennedy Center. This last time I had a great room and no problems. The Watergate has not been consistent though. There have been times the staff has been rude at the front desk. The elevators don't always work properly also.
The Watergate is now closed for what they call renovations. I heard 2nd hand while I was there that it really was permanently closed as a hotel and is being redone as apartments and condos like the rest of the Watergate complex.
I will miss it.

  • Liked — Plush bathrooms
  • Disliked — Pricey restaurant
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

After booking the Renaissance Hotel for $325/nite, a friend recommended the Watergate. I was leery at first, given that rooms were available at almost half that rate, but couldn't pass up the chance to save some money. I was dropping off my son at GWU and didn't want to spend a fortune. What I got was a fine hotel, in a good location for access to both Foggy Bottom and Georgetown, at an insanely low price by DC standards.

The White House is maybe a mile away, but I walked it with no problem. There is a Metro station within a few short blocks to take you anywhere you need to go.

Well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

I used to stay here when this was a 5 star swissotel... this is not the same anymore, but the price did not get down !

Nethertheless the rooms are still large, with marble bathrooms. It is a quiet place.

I arrived after a night flight from LA at 8 am : they allowed me to get the room at that early time in the mornong with no extra charge so that I could have a nap and shower...

Breakfast at the restaurant, with the view on the Potomac is a real pleasure.

There used to be a swimming pool here but there is no more...

The staff is not very numerous bau is quite efficient.

To summarize, this hotel gets old, and sometimes does not look as clean as it should be. It is still a good hotel but this will not last for years without refrurbishment !

  • Liked — marble floors
  • Disliked — getting old
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

i stayed in the Watergate for the first time in many years, on what turned out to be a very crowded graduation weekend in DC. the suite i had requested and was billed for was not available, but one of the nicest, most knowledgeable desk people i have run into in a long time offered me two other options, one of which made my stay here even more enjoyable than i anticipated. i was offered a "room" in the "17" tier (mentioned by other posters) on a smoking floor, which i took because there was no trace of smoke scent anywhere. this "room" was approximately 1400 square feet on a riverside corner of this landmark complex, and since it was on the 8th floor, had a commanding view from Arlington Cemetery to well past Key Bridge and Georgetown from its 8 enormous windows! the second morning i was there, i awoke to the subtle sound of drum cadence, opened the blinds and was treated to a morning of dragon boat racing on the beautiful Potomac River directly in from of the hotel. only in DC, and only at the Watergate! yes, as others have written, the rooms are a bit tatty (if things like wood veneer peeling up in spots and slightly stained white marble floors bother you, stay elsewhere), but the room service is perfection, the ambiance of the place is totally its own, and you feel as though you are a welcomed regular most of the time. one thing worth mentioning is that the staff is a bit odd in that the reception people range from charming and helpful (as above), to indifferent and even snotty. jaded older bellman and valet parking guys treat you like you might expect, but these are minor issues that only served to make the positives of staying here more obvious and wonderful. i look forward to having a reason to stay here again and again. (note: i had to change to a newer place that was over twice as expensive for my last night in DC due to an error I made in booking, and was really let down... try the Watergate if you get a chance!)

  • Liked — Amazing landmark complex; spacious room on the river side; a desk clerk who made my visit perfect
  • Disliked — i couldn't stay longer.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Watergate. I booked the hotel mostly because of its location and place in history. It is a short, nice, easy walk from the Foggy Bottom-GWU metro stop.

PROS:
1. Lobby is beautiful and well air-conditioned.
2. Showed up at 9:00 AM and was given my room even though check-in is at 3:00.
3. Great water pressure in the shower.
4. Nice toiletries.
5. Staff is helpful and polite.
6. The rooms are very spacious.

CONS:
1. My first room was over 80 degrees! The cooling system was malfunctioning, but they did change my room.
2. In the second room, the thermostat read 78 degrees, but the air conditioning cooled the room and the reading of the thermostat was incorrect.
3. The rooms are old and need to be updated. Some of the materials in the room still read "Swissotel" which was the old operator of the hotel.
4. There were stains on the carpet and bedding.
5. The exterior of the Watergate complex needs updating.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanside, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2007

My family and I liked our stay at the Watergate. The room was a bit dated, but comfortable and clean. The exterior is in serious need of repair but our view of the Potomic was spectacular. Service was acceptable. No ice machine, but the lower level Safeway and SavOn stores downstairs are a convenience. Bakery and pizza shops in the complex fell far below expectations. We found dining at the hotel restaurant and bar both a high quality and high priced experience. For us, the Watergate was within a short walk of the Metro station and, in fair weather, a realistic walk to Capitol Hill, the Mall, and nearby waterfront dining.

  • Liked — its history
  • Disliked — its condition
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Watergate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watergate Hotel

Address: 2650 Virginia Avenue Northwest, Reopening Fall of 2015, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Watergate Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Watergate Hotel, a luxurious urban resort located along the banks of the Potomac River. Completely rebuilt over the course of 18 months, the hotel will once again welcome guests this summer. Individual reservations will be accepted starting this spring, and group business is currently being contracted for September 2015 and beyond. Steeped in history, located centrally and convenient to all forms of transportation, The Watergate Hotel, will soon offer superior service to travelers and guests of the nation's capital. With an updated vision of mid- century modern architecture, this historically significant structure provides an environment that guests will find gracious and modern. With numerous food and beverage venues, The Watergate Hotel offers something for everyone. Our newly designed roof-top bar features panoramic views of the city complimented by our menu of craft cocktails and beers or our exemplary wine list. With a view unrivaled by any other in the city, it will soon become the hottest venue in town. Located on the lobby level, our whisky bar will offer a more intimate setting, while the dual concept restaurant will offer a choice of casual fare or a more formal dining experience. For those wishing to dine in the privacy of their own luxurious guest room or suite, or perhaps on their private balcony overlooking the sweeping city views, in-room dining will be offered on a 24-hour basis. The newly envisioned guest room at The Watergate features all of the amenities that you would expect to find in our luxurious setting. From all marble five-piece baths and lush Italian bath amenities to carefully selected linens and finishes, are rooms are a true urban oasis. Upscale coffee makers, fully stocked mini bars, state of the art technology and artful design all compliment the sweeping views of the Potomac River, which is enjoyed from 95% of our rooms. The newly renovated Watergate brings back the era of fine dining, luxurious accommodations, and gentile service focused on the comfort of our guests. When seeking a place to call home in Washington, DC, return to an era of mid-century modern in our hotel where history will once again be created. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Watergate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Watergate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.