We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Watergate Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Watergate Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Watergate Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Virginia Avenue Northwest, (Closed for renovation until late 2009), Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
paris
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

I used to stay here when this was a 5 star swissotel... this is not the same anymore, but the price did not get down !

Nethertheless the rooms are still large, with marble bathrooms. It is a quiet place.

I arrived after a night flight from LA at 8 am : they allowed me to get the room at that early time in the mornong with no extra charge so that I could have a nap and shower...

Breakfast at the restaurant, with the view on the Potomac is a real pleasure.

There used to be a swimming pool here but there is no more...

The staff is not very numerous bau is quite efficient.

To summarize, this hotel gets old, and sometimes does not look as clean as it should be. It is still a good hotel but this will not last for years without refrurbishment !

  • Liked — marble floors
  • Disliked — getting old
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    10
    6
    10
See reviews for
3
4
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

i stayed in the Watergate for the first time in many years, on what turned out to be a very crowded graduation weekend in DC. the suite i had requested and was billed for was not available, but one of the nicest, most knowledgeable desk people i have run into in a long time offered me two other options, one of which made my stay here even more enjoyable than i anticipated. i was offered a "room" in the "17" tier (mentioned by other posters) on a smoking floor, which i took because there was no trace of smoke scent anywhere. this "room" was approximately 1400 square feet on a riverside corner of this landmark complex, and since it was on the 8th floor, had a commanding view from Arlington Cemetery to well past Key Bridge and Georgetown from its 8 enormous windows! the second morning i was there, i awoke to the subtle sound of drum cadence, opened the blinds and was treated to a morning of dragon boat racing on the beautiful Potomac River directly in from of the hotel. only in DC, and only at the Watergate! yes, as others have written, the rooms are a bit tatty (if things like wood veneer peeling up in spots and slightly stained white marble floors bother you, stay elsewhere), but the room service is perfection, the ambiance of the place is totally its own, and you feel as though you are a welcomed regular most of the time. one thing worth mentioning is that the staff is a bit odd in that the reception people range from charming and helpful (as above), to indifferent and even snotty. jaded older bellman and valet parking guys treat you like you might expect, but these are minor issues that only served to make the positives of staying here more obvious and wonderful. i look forward to having a reason to stay here again and again. (note: i had to change to a newer place that was over twice as expensive for my last night in DC due to an error I made in booking, and was really let down... try the Watergate if you get a chance!)

  • Liked — Amazing landmark complex; spacious room on the river side; a desk clerk who made my visit perfect
  • Disliked — i couldn't stay longer.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Watergate. I booked the hotel mostly because of its location and place in history. It is a short, nice, easy walk from the Foggy Bottom-GWU metro stop.

PROS:
1. Lobby is beautiful and well air-conditioned.
2. Showed up at 9:00 AM and was given my room even though check-in is at 3:00.
3. Great water pressure in the shower.
4. Nice toiletries.
5. Staff is helpful and polite.
6. The rooms are very spacious.

CONS:
1. My first room was over 80 degrees! The cooling system was malfunctioning, but they did change my room.
2. In the second room, the thermostat read 78 degrees, but the air conditioning cooled the room and the reading of the thermostat was incorrect.
3. The rooms are old and need to be updated. Some of the materials in the room still read "Swissotel" which was the old operator of the hotel.
4. There were stains on the carpet and bedding.
5. The exterior of the Watergate complex needs updating.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanside, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2007

My family and I liked our stay at the Watergate. The room was a bit dated, but comfortable and clean. The exterior is in serious need of repair but our view of the Potomic was spectacular. Service was acceptable. No ice machine, but the lower level Safeway and SavOn stores downstairs are a convenience. Bakery and pizza shops in the complex fell far below expectations. We found dining at the hotel restaurant and bar both a high quality and high priced experience. For us, the Watergate was within a short walk of the Metro station and, in fair weather, a realistic walk to Capitol Hill, the Mall, and nearby waterfront dining.

  • Liked — its history
  • Disliked — its condition
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

I enjoyed my stay at the Watergate.

The hotel is of course older and the furnishings in the rooms relfects the age of the hotel. However, everything was in fine shape.

I was surprised by the relatively low rate - I$159 - assume the location - a little off the main path for DC played a part in that. But taxis are plentiful and afforable in DC.

At check in I was given an upgrade to a very large room with two beds, desk, seating area & wrap around balconies on the "end" of the hotel overlooking the Potomac and the Kennedy Center. This was a nice touch especialy as it was my first visit to the hotel. The bath was nice with separate shower (marble?) and tub. Nice bathroom lighting - more options that 1 harsh overhead light like most hotels have.

My only two complaints were the windows are not well insulated. While the views were great, it was very cold in DC when I was there and there were a few noticeable drafts. Also my room had a connecting door to the room next door. This door had a gap underneath - I could see the lights in that room and hear some noise. Though it wasnt disruptive, it felt way too close for comfort - almost like you were being watched!

The staff is very gracious. Casual dinner in the hotel lounge area was delicious as was a very hearty room-service breakfast. So nice when room service food is still piping hot when it gets to your room.

Wil definitely stay at the Watergate again on return trips to DC.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

Staying at the Watergate, I've come to learn, is all about getting the right room. If you get one of the nice suites, it's a great place, if not it's hit and miss. The suites for rooms ending in 17 are excellent. The other rooms are ok. This trip, I got ok.

My room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. However, the furnishing were dated. The pillows in the room I had last time were amazing. These were amazing, but only because I was amazed at how bad they were. The same goes for the sheets and towels. They felt a bit cheap.

The single best feature of the hotel remains. Each room, I've come to find, has an excellent glass shower. The water pressure is unmatched compared to other hotels.

This trip I found the hotel staff to be much nicer than they have been in the past. The front desk folks were quite nice.

As other reviewers have noted, the hotel is suffering from a bit of a deferred maintenance issue. This seems to be predicated on the closing of the hotel. However, the desk clerk told me that the latest plan is to close the hotel in August to refurbish it and keep it open.

It seems that every trip to DC, I stay at the Watergate because it is going to be my last chance to do so. It's hit and miss based on the room, but overall, I enjoy the place. I hope they do go forward with a renovation and bring it back to the hotel it could be.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The towels.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

I typically travel to DC once or twice a month, and have unfortunately gotten stuck at the Watergate two times within the last 6 months - the travel agent claimed both times that the Watergate was the only hotel that had availability (I think now that the travel agent got a bonus commission and was lying). Bottom line: its one of those has-been places that is surviving on previous notariety, but should be completely remodeled or closed down. My visit sucked both times (rooms on floors 9 and 14) because:
- Room filthy, e.g. maid did dishes in my bathroom sink (from some other room since I didn't order room-service) and left sticky stuff on counter which attracted a million tiny ants. Called front desk & maintenance many times, usually didn't answer, talked to someone twice, they promised to send someone to exterminate but never did. Staff commented "that happens sometimes".
- TV didn't get some basic channels (e.g. ABC), staff commented "oh it should", promised to send some to fix, never did.
- Heat/ AC has two settings "Off" and "Freight Train"
- Windows wouldn't open
- Lost track of the number of times I had to get my room key card re-issued - it wouldn't work at all when issued, or would work once or twice then quit - staff was always surly about it
- Adjacent shopping area has many abandoned shops/ restaurants, looks run-down
- Don't even bother to ask staff how to get to the metro, get yourself a good map instead
- Always seemed to be a lot of drunk people around. e.g. on my last visit a well-dressed senior citizen, drunk as a skunk and bleeding profusely from falling down, stumbled past the staff at the front door and front desk, got in the elevator with me, fell on the floor and passed out.
- Shower dribbled water, temperature varied widely - How long has there been plumbing in the world? Why is it so hard to get a simple decent shower?

  • Liked — Within DC
  • Disliked — Noise, filth
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Watergate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watergate Hotel

Address: 2650 Virginia Avenue Northwest, (Closed for renovation until late 2009), Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 130 hotels in Washington DC
Hotel Class:5 star — The Watergate Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your The Watergate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Watergate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.