We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Watergate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Watergate Hotel to your Saves list
The Watergate Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2650 Virginia Avenue Northwest, Reopening Fall of 2015, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

I had reserved a nonsmoking room and one was not available when I checked in.So I was upgraded to a fabulous suite that we could never have afforded.WE had fun imagining which politicians stayed there,the parties,espionage,the plumbers!It was a hoot!

Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    10
    6
    10
See reviews for
4
4
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

I was truly impressed with all aspects of this hotel.

Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Surprise visit to DC to see Placido Domingo at the Kennedy Center. We stayed at the Watergate. I found it a stately, beautiful hotel. Classic design and aging very well. I would definitely return for the wonderful restaurants and amenities.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

We booked online and when we arrived, we were allowed to check in early and were provided with an upgrade to a Georgetown room. The room was huge, and very nicely furnished, but showing its age. The TV
was old and small, with a CRT screen (and electrical tape on the frame!!). The bathroom was nice, with a fabulous walk-in shower and separate tub, but the bathroom door had a gap in it, which you faced when you were using the toilet. It made me feel a bit exposed! The bathroom had an excellent magnified mirror in it, and the toiletries were very nice.

One thing that annoyed us over the course of our stay was the way higher-end hotels charge separately for everything that is included in business hotels or lower cost hotels. For example, internet access
was $10 a day (but if you have a wireless connection, you may get lucky and find a network that is open to use from your room!). A mini-fridge cost extra as well, as did local phone calls (or access to 800 numbers). Parking is valet only (I think it was $26 / day) so you also have to keep in mind all the tips you'll be handing out, especially if you are going in and out a lot. There was a coffee machine in the lobby, and it cost $2 (I think) a cup (it said it was Starbucks coffee). When you get a good deal on the room, it can kind of be eaten up by things like the parking and internet fees, so keep that in mind (this is typical of higher-end hotels, particularly in DC, I realize). The room had a refrigerated mini-bar that was kind of old-fashioned.

The view we had was beautiful. If you don't like airplanes, though, you might not like it - we were right on the flight path for DCA. We like watching planes, so it was very good for us. It wasn't super noisy, but if you are a light sleeper, you would probably notice it (I'm not sure how late planes were landing).

The location was quite good, but we didn't try out public transportation (in our experience, the traffic wasn't quite as horrendous as the guidebooks all make out, but it could be kind of confusing to get to the hotel during rush hour, as they made a 2-way street into 1 way, and our GPS unit didn't know this).

There is a Safeway, a CVS and a liquor store right nearby - you have to go down below street level to get to them, so you might miss them.

Overall, this was a nice hotel to stay in, and I'm glad we chose it, but we will probably try somewhere else next time.

  • Liked — The room was very nice
  • Disliked — Everything cost extra, so the room rate was artificially low
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

I am seriously going to miss this hotel. From the lovely suite (bigger than my apartment) looking out onto the Kennedy Center, to the impeccable food and service at our business meeting to a late night at the bar - this place was fabulous.

  • Liked — great service!
  • Disliked — well, it closed!
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

I have stayed at the Watergate numerous times when I am working at the Kennedy Center. This last time I had a great room and no problems. The Watergate has not been consistent though. There have been times the staff has been rude at the front desk. The elevators don't always work properly also.
The Watergate is now closed for what they call renovations. I heard 2nd hand while I was there that it really was permanently closed as a hotel and is being redone as apartments and condos like the rest of the Watergate complex.
I will miss it.

  • Liked — Plush bathrooms
  • Disliked — Pricey restaurant
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

After booking the Renaissance Hotel for $325/nite, a friend recommended the Watergate. I was leery at first, given that rooms were available at almost half that rate, but couldn't pass up the chance to save some money. I was dropping off my son at GWU and didn't want to spend a fortune. What I got was a fine hotel, in a good location for access to both Foggy Bottom and Georgetown, at an insanely low price by DC standards.

The White House is maybe a mile away, but I walked it with no problem. There is a Metro station within a few short blocks to take you anywhere you need to go.

Well worth it.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton, Georgetown
#30 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#39 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#24 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Washington D.C.
Four Seasons Washington D.C.
#4 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#6 of 136 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,239 reviews
Georgetown
Capella Washington D.C., Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Watergate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watergate Hotel

Address: 2650 Virginia Avenue Northwest, Reopening Fall of 2015, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Watergate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A LUXURIOUS URBAN RESORT LOCATED ALONG THE BANKS OF THE POTOMAC RIVER. MODERN DESIGN BLENDS WITH A STORIED PAST TO REDEFINE LUXURY. Completely rebuilt following an extensive $125 million renovation, The Watergate Hotel, originally built in 1961 on the banks of the Potomac River, exemplifies Washington DC past and present. From the flowing avant-garde architecture, built to compliment the mighty Potomac, to the elegant redesign of the interior of the hotel, The Watergate is a true DC landmark. An American icon, situated just steps away from Georgetown, the capital's most chic and exclusive neighborhood and centrally located to all of DC's attractions. The Watergate Hotel's 337 guest rooms and suites define luxury with lavish finishes, sleek furniture and lush bedding, all artfully chosen with the guest in mind. Custom-made bath amenities, exclusively created by La Bottega, perfectly complement the floor-to-ceiling marble bathrooms. Champagne in hand, guests can revel in these extravagant surroundings while taking in striking views of the Potomac River on private balconies. Located on the lobby level, an undulating copper wall leads you from the lobby to the dignified whisky bar, illuminated by a soft amber glow and filled with a selection of the world's finest spirits. The Top of the Gate, a soon-to-be iconic rooftop bar, has unrivaled 360-degree panoramic views-with charming Georgetown waterfront views in one direction and The Washington Monument in the other. See and be seen in the restaurant's casual portion, where you can soak in views of the Potomac River from an outdoor terrace, or enjoy the refined elegance of Washington's heyday in its more formal dining setting. The Watergate Hotel takes the classic elegance and bold mid-century modern design and refreshes it with all of the extravagance and warmth of a true luxury lifestyle hotel. From the tranquil spa and the state-of-the-art fitness center, to the indoor pool and dining venues, this one-of-a-kind hotel pays tribute to its own storied past, while paving the way for a new chapter to be written. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Watergate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Watergate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.