We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uneven quality but worth exploring” 3 of 5 stars
Review of H Street (Atlas District)

H Street (Atlas District)
H Street, Washington DC, DC (Downtown / Chinatown)
Improve this listing
Ranked #233 of 485 things to do in Washington DC
Activities: Nightlife
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“uneven quality but worth exploring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

this is an area rapidly gentrifying and we've tried some restaurants (some good and some bad) and find our experience uneven. Always found parking though!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
249 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Don't Go out of your Way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I didn't rate this highly because visitors to Washington with limited time can find more interesting places to spend their time. This corridor is up-and-coming with some interesting places for eating and entertainment. Worth a look for repeat visitors to Washington who want to get a glimpse of an older Washington neighborhood's revival.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The "happening place" in DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Many, many fun, quirky bars and restaurants have opened here in the past decade, turning this once decaying eyesore into one of the most delightful places to spending a night on the town in the Washington area. Not just for young people, but they are its chief patrons; although we saw one of the "Supremes" dining there one night recently.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“H St Rocks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I was there for the annual H street fest and nothing can beat that experience. The options they hold fofr Bars & food is definitly unmatched. This can be easily called as DCs own Hell's Kitchen. Shawafel is a good on the way snack stop & when you are ready for a full course, any of them can be chosen. If weather is good, try out the ones with roof top bars...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“H Street is a Revitalized Neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I recently attended the H Street Festival in Washington dc on 9/15/12. I read about the festival in the post and decided to go downtown. The closest metro stop is union station. So you will need to walk a bit to get to the H street corridor between 8th and 14th street. Once there you will find many restaurants, businesses, theatres. I attended the festival and have never seen so many people. There were food vendors selling kabobs, gyros, ribs, lobster rolls and beer. Free music performances were everywhere with jazz and rock and roll most prominent. Art exhibits and weird car exhibits were present as well. If you visit H street during normal times it is very worthwhile as the neighborhood has gone through a revitalization or rebuilding. Perhaps in the past crime was a problem. The H street festival is considered one of DC's largest.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed H Street (Atlas District) also viewed

 

Been to H Street (Atlas District)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H Street (Atlas District), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.