We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay there!! It is not what you think ! Not safe” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Capitol Skyline Hotel to your Saves list
Capitol Skyline Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 I Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Greensboro, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not stay there!! It is not what you think ! Not safe”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

I booked a stay there for vacation with my children! I hadd a homeless man come up to at front door of hotel and ask me for money! ! It was old dark and dirty so I told Mgt that I would not stay and cancel my stay. She would not waive the 1 night fee! It was so bad I had to pay them 138.00 to leave. This manager sucked! They could at least only charge me 1/2 of fee !! Beware do not ever go there! This is probably how they make free money from out of state visitors ! Expensive lession to learn - from North Carolina

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    315
    230
    88
    78
See reviews for
208
230
83
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

We got what we expected as this is one of the better priced hotels near the Mall. Had a lot of families and a couple international teenage school groups staying, which was reassuring. Neighborhood is a little rough, but walking around in the daylight to the Metro posed no problems. Complimentary shuttle will drop off to key areas several times in the AM and a couple times in the PM which was a plus. Room was better than I expected considering the attempt of stylish metro decor in the lobby - comfortable beds and relatively quiet rooms. Overall, I'd stay again if I wanted to be close to the Mall (or Stadium) and was doing DC on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Clean, Cheap, Cheerful and with the exception of one shuttle bus driver very helpfull
staff.

But oh! the traffic noise is horrendous !!!

But if you are on a budget, I would recommend this hotel, if you don't ind traffic noise.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg,south africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

I stayed at the Capitol Syline Hotel in Washington DC. It was my first trip to the USA. I can not recommend it highly enough. The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean and my room was very comfortable. The hotel is walking distance to the metro, and there is a bus which takes you to the museums each morning twice a day. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

we chose this hotel for the big pool to relax with the kids after sight seeing on the weekend. What they don't tell you is every friday saturday and sunday they throw a huge crazy drunken pool party for non guests. the pool is packed with drunk 20 year olds and the music is earsplitting loud. You wouldn't even feel safe with your kids in the pool because it was so packed. the party starts as soon as the pool is opened and until the pool is closed. it was a big dissapointment to our kids and other family guests as well. stay away

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

We had a short stay in Washington and wanted some place to stay which was not far away from the places we see.
this hotel is 5 min walking distance from the US capitol and the library of congress.and 10 min distance from the union station.
The front desk was helpful and this hotel also has a 24 hr utility store which makes travellers life easy.
food is OK , not great.

  • Liked — closeness to the places if interest
  • Disliked — food options
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

This was one of the worst experiences I have had with a hotel. The staff was semi-polite but the amenities were an absolute JOKE!!!!! No coffee maker in rooms, no coffee in lobby. The restaurant opened at 7am with coffee but it was $2.20 for one cup and not very good at that. You have to pay $20.00 per night per vehicle parked in the garage so you need to add this into the hotel nightly rate. This is a terrible part of town and it was an absolute embarrassment. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The website portrays it as an upscale hotel but that is the farthest from the truth...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hil...
#52 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Days Inn Washington, DC - Connec...
#108 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#105 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#55 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#111 of 135 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#78 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Skyline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Skyline Hotel

Address: 10 I Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Skyline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Skyline Hotel is a boutique style hotel located very conveniently to all major attractions. We are located only 5 blocks from the Capital and Library of Congress, 3 blocks from the Nationals baseball stadium and less than 1 mile to the Air and Space museum along with other Smithsonian museums. The Capitol Skyline Hotel is a full service hotel catering to the needs of a highly international clientele. It is an ideal location for guests who need to see the sites, do business "on the hill" and for those who are in town to see a baseball game! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Capitol Skyline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Skyline Washington Dc
Hotel Capitol Skyline
Washington Dc Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Skyline Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.