We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and price, very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Save Saved
You added Capitol Skyline Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capitol Skyline Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 I Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-4299   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good location and price, very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has excellent staff at the front desk and working in housekeeping. Very helpful and patient!

The hotel itself is extremely clean and in pretty good shape. There are a few updates that could be made but overall it appears pretty nice. Some of the decorations are weird. There are TVs playing in the common areas with movie clips of tables floating by the beach and things like that. It certainly makes it memorable and they don't carry it over into the rooms, so it's not a negative. The rooms don't have a fridge or a microwave, but they are fairly rooms and very clean with a desk and TV. Another nice touch is that there are full-size towels!

The pool looked really nice, the fitness room is 24/7 and a good addition, and you can buy breakfast at a buffet downstairs for $12 in the morning. There's also a McDonald's across the street, and decent take out like Five Guys nearby. I couldn't find a vending machine for soda or juice in the hotel. There was a gift shop on the first floor with things like that, but they were only open sometimes.

This hotel is really close to Nationals Stadium, which is great! There are also some nice bars and restaurants around that looked pretty busy on a weeknight. This neighborhood has a lot of construction in progress and some completed nice apartment buildings. There's enough people walking around at nice that it feels safe to explore a bit. It's close to the Capitol, but the view from the rooms is somewhat obstructed.

Parking is a little more than $20 and in a garage immediately by the hotel with an internal entrance.

Room Tip: You'll have city noise in all of the rooms, but it's normal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapskyGM, General Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind comments. I'll share them with our staff. Our staff is our greatest asset.

We are located 5 blocks to the US Capitol, 3 blocks to the Washington Nationals Stadium and less than a mile form the Air and Space museum.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    250
    187
    69
    65
See reviews for
177
177
67
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there for 3 nights and it was overall pretty good. It's a 15 minutes walk to Capitol Hill and the neighborhood is pretty safe and quiet. We had a room at the end of a corridor and the wireless didn't reach it, a fact the clerk at the front desk didn't care about for a single second. The hotel restaurant is okay, breakfast are what you can expect, although the dinner menu was pretty meh. The pool is pretty nice though, being really big and everything. I would recommend this hotel to everyone but you gotta understand that you're paying a bit too much for what you get.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the left side (when facing the front of the hotel) toward Capitol Hill. When h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapskyGM, General Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments.

Our Lapidus restaurant offers a bountiful breakfast buffet serving a variety of hot and cold foods, cereals, fresh fruit, sliced meats & cheese, juice, coffee, teas and made to order Belgian waffles. Our dinner menu features a variety of appetizers, entrees and desserts as well as a wine list with very reasonably priced wines by the glass or bottle.

Our pool is the #1 rated pool in Washington, DC and many of our guests book with us for the
pool.

We are located 5 blocks to the US Capitol, 3 blocks to the Washington Nationals Stadium and less than a mile to the Air and Space museum.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good:

View of DC
Clean rooms
Morning transport to downtown
Pretty lobby
Beds were comfortable

Bad:

Very noisy
Long walk back from downtown DC
No fridge or microwave in room
Nasty very high parking fee charge
Pool is not heated and no hot tub
Area a little unsafe and ugly

Room Tip: You can take the train there. Just get off the side near the Nationals Stadium. Hotel is about a ten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapskyGM, General Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments.

We offer on demand hot water as well as a microwave oven on our lower lobby level which many of our guests use.

We are located less than a mile from the Air and Space museum which is nearly in the middle of the National Mall. Our complimentary shuttle makes stops at area attractions in the mornings and at nearby restaurants in the evenings. It is about a twenty minute walk to the National Mall.

Our underground secure parking garage fee is less than many of the area parking lots or other hotel garages.

Our neighborhood is very safe and walkable. We are 5 blocks from the US Capitol and 3 blocks from Washington Nationals Stadium.

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your room in particular the bed. We receive many compliments on our comfortable beds.

Thank you for staying with us we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night. Attended a Nationals baseball game and the hotel was only a couple of blocks from the stadium which was great. Room was a bit outdated but clean and reasonably comfortable. Parking is NOT included and is extra. This has more of a boutique hotel feel to it. The inside of the hotel is nicer than the outside. Hotel is a mile or so from the museums and monuments.

The major negative for us was he pool party the hotel held the night we were there. We spoke to the hotel manager around 4pm and he encouraged us to take our kids to the pool sooner rather than later because a pool party was scheduled to start. He said "it's not for everyone". We took our kids out to the pool soon after that and walked right into MTVs Spring Break if you will. There we're tons of people dancing and drinking to the loud music. Also there were people smoking hooka pipes on the side. There were all sorts of people at this party that were not staying at the hotel. This was disappointing as it really is a nice pool area. Too bad we were not able to enjoy it as this was no place for a 6 and 4 year old. The hotel should put its paying guests above those not staying at at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapskyGM, General Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback.

We are the #1 rated pool in Washington, DC. Many of our guests book with us because of our beautiful pool.

We are located 5 blocks to the US Capitol, 3 blocks to the Washington Nationals Stadium and less than a mile from the Air and Space museum.

We offer a complimentary shuttle which stops near many of the areas attractions and in the evenings drops off at nearby restaurants.

I will share your comments about your room with our housekeeping department. Our housekeepers do an excellent job. our staff is our greatest asset.

Thank you fro staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is not a luxury hotel, but good enough for about $100 per night. Staff was polite and attentive. The room was clean. It is located at a walkable distance to National’s Stadium. My kids enjoyed a clean swimming pool a lot. Good enough hotel for a family of 4.

Here are some tips:
- There was no coffee maker and fridge in the room, but ice and hot water are available in the basement. You may want to bring tea/coffee bags for refreshment.
- Breakfast is not complementary and costs around $11. We bought sandwiches for breakfast t a 7-Eleven store that is 5 min walk from the hotel.
- Parking is not complementary. $25 per night.
- If possible, pick a room on the garden side. Roadside rooms may be a little bit noisy.

Room Tip: - There was no coffee maker and fridge in the room, but ice and hot water are available in the basem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapskyGM, General Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments.

Parking in our underground secured parking lot is less than many of the surrounding parking lots and other hotel garages.

Our breakfast buffet is bountiful and offers something for everyone. We have a wide variety of both hot and cold foods, fresh fruit, sliced meats and cheeses, breads, assorted cereals, juice, coffee, teas and made to order Belgian waffles.

Our location is 5 blocks from the US Capitol, 3 blocks to Washington Nationals Stadium and less than a mile to the Air and Space museum.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we walked up to this hotel, I gasped at how ugly it was from the outside and wondered what on earth we had booked. This area of Washington used to be a place not to wander in, but this is changing and the immediate area being updated.

For a family of 4 who were taking a quick stay in the city for two night- this was fine for us. Good price for being in the Capital city. Free shuttle bus in morning to city centre. But it's only a 20min walk to the National Mall. Clean pool. Good breakfast (bit pricey at an extra price) The room looked a little tired and worn- but not too bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapskyGM, General Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments.

Our breakfast buffet features eggs, sausage, breakfast potatoes, assorted hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, sweet breads, toast, juice, coffee and teas and made to order Belgian waffles.
There is truly something for everyone.

Our neighborhood is very walkable. We are just 5 blocks to the US Capitol, 3 blocks to Washington Nationals Stadium and less than a mile from the Air and Space museum.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we had a great 2 night stay, so convenient to the park and the metro, great breakfast. Jessica, Denise, Natalie, and the gentleman who was working Friday and Saturday late afternoon where all lovely to deal with.

Trying to nap in the afternoon with a very loud pool party going on was my only little issue. The music was well over by bedtime, so no worries.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapskyGM, General Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments. I will share them with our staff.

We are located between two vey near Metro stations, 3 blocks from Washington National Stadium, 5 blocks from the US Capitol and less than a mile from the Air and Space museum.

Happy you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Our breakfast buffets offers a variety of both hot and cold foods, as well as cereals, fresh fruit and Belgian waffles.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capitol Skyline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Skyline Hotel

Address: 10 I Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-4299
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 130 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Skyline Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Capitol Skyline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Skyline Washington Dc
Hotel Capitol Skyline
Washington Dc Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Skyline Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.