We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical US economy hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Capitol Skyline Hotel to your Saves list
Capitol Skyline Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 I Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Typical US economy hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Hotel is rather close to Downtown, can reach it walking. The noise was not so big like somebody wrote, some syrens, that´s it. Close to post office. Typical US economy class hotel. But dusts were not cleaned for 5 days.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapskyGM, General Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We appreciate the comments regarding the location and noise levels in the hotel. We are a city hotel and like most city hotels, you are correct, there will be some "city noise". Hopefully you slept well in our very comfortable beds.

I am sorry about the lack of dusting in your room and will address with the Director of Housekeeping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    329
    239
    95
    85
See reviews for
228
235
86
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Don't let distract you from the first look outside. Once your inside you will find a nice little hotel with clean rooms and very friendly employees. The location in in walking distance to D.C. attractions.

Room Tip: Try the restaurant. Good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapskyGM, General Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel, the location and of course its staff.

We have a great location, only 5 blocks from the Capitol and less than a mile to the Air and Space museum.

Thanks again and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is very basic. You can't rely on having all day access to a restaurant or giftshop. However, for the price it can offer what you need. It's clean. My room, the bathroom and linen were spotless. The overall interior is well kept. For conferences, their food is very good. The staff were very accommodating. And, it's a less than 15 minute walk to Capitol Hill. The downside, there are not restaurants surrounding to walk to other than McDonalds. And, there is no Starbucks, either. It's not a good sign when there are vending machines and a microwave on the ground level. And, there's no refrigerator or coffee machine in your room. That hurt! The hotel does need some work. They need to wash the exterior as it looks like it hasn't been cleaned since the '70's. That may be a turnoff as you approach it. It reminds me of a place that was once the happening spot way back when. If they invested a little, it could be more ideal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapskyGM, General Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for writing a comment about your recent stay. We very much appreciate you noticed how clean and friendly the hotel and staff are. We do have great staff and they all take great pride in what they do.

We are continuously upgrading and adding additional amenities to the hotel and will take your comments in to consideration as we move forward.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We arrived a few hours before check in and when asked if we could park our car in the garage so we could walk around the girl was very pleasant told us we could without a problem then found us a room right away so we where able to change after being in the car 11 hours. The location was great. Only about 10 minutes to walk to the capital and other buildings. We enjoyed the McDonalds right by it because it was convenient with young kids. The room was decent, we where not in it to long because we spent a lot of time walking around. The next day we where able to leave our car after check out and walk some more. I will book there again when we visit next time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapskyGM, General Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your most recent comments regarding your stay. We especially appreciate you identifying how accommodating our staff was with getting you a room. Since we have numerous international travelers who arrive early, we attempt to get them settled quickly, although because the hotel is so popular, not always possible.

The area is a great area, with tremendous accessibility to the metro system and less than 1 mile to the air and space museum. It is also only 5 blocks to the Capitol.

The McDonalds is very convenient, however; within a 10 minute walk, there are numerous NEW restaurants very close to the Nationals ballpark which itself is only 3 blocks away.

Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just back from a short trip to Washington. No tea/coffee making facilities in room. No fridge in room. Booked double room to take 3 people. 2 small double beds in room and no space for a roll out bed (which we would have been charged for). Tape on window which didnt open. The hotel is old and needs investment. Pictures make it look better than it is in reality. The area is under a lot of construction and regeneration. Wouldnt stay in this hotel again as the food was not good and there was no comfortable place to sit and have a drink at night. Only beer and wine served. Staff were nice but didnt make up for the disappointment we felt having travelled such a long way to visit the city. Its a shame because with the pool and some money spent this could be a really nice hotel to stay in but not right now sadly

Room Tip: View at the front is nice but the noise is bad. Go figure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapskyGM, General Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and offering your candid comments.

Our apologies for the condition of the window and will ensure our engineering department looks in to this immediately.

The hotel, although built many years ago by famous architect Morris Lapidus has been upgraded several times in recent years and continues to be.

Thank you for recognizing that the area is undergoing tremendous growth. We are very happy to see that many luxury condominiums, fantastic restaurants and popular retail is being built in "our backyard".

Thank you again for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Its difficult to stay in DC, and find an affordable hotel, but the Capital was in DC, and a short walk to the subways that can bring you to the heart of the city... Walking to the sites is a bit of a hike so be cautious of that... There are not any restaurants around the hotel, not even towards the National ball park, so that was a let down, but Ive found this seems to be the face for most of DC..

Super comfy beds, cute lobby, average rooms.... They do not have queens, only doubles fyi...
I enjoyed my stay here, and would consider staying again,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapskyGM, General Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and commenting on your stay.

Yes, our beds are "wickedly Comfortable".......We are happy to say that we get complimented on the comfort of the beds and staff often.

As for the restaurants in the area, I am sorry that we were unable to explain to you better how developed the area is and how many restaurants are in fact within a 10 minute walk. In just the past 6-9 months there are a number of very nice restaurants which opened within a block of the National's ballpark.

Thank you again and we look forward to you staying with us in the future should your travels bring you back to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel was selected for us when we purchased rooms of Expedia.com (where you can't see the hotel till after you purchase it) Big mistake!!! It is not within walking distance of any of the sights. The neighborhood is shady! Not the type of place you want to bring kids too. We could not sleep with all of the noise and sirens. The windows open which horrified us having kids with us. Tub and counters not cleaned durring the stay. And the room was hot. Pay the extra money and stay closer to the sights in a hotel with all the amenities a family needs.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapskyGM, General Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

First and foremost, I apologize that you were not at all happy with your stay. If you would like to discuss further, please contact us at info@capitolskyline.com.

Obviously you were not comfortable with the surrounding area. In fact, we are located in area which is probably one of the most developing areas of Washington, DC with luxury condominiums, great restaurants and retail.

We will talk with our staff to ensure they do a better job of communicating the amenities of the area and location as it relates to the many sites. We are in fact only 5 blocks from the Capitol and less than a mile to the Air and Space museum.

Thank you again for your comments and hopefully, should you return to DC you will give us an opportunity to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Courtyard Washington Capitol Hil...
#51 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Days Inn Washington, DC - Connec...
#108 of 136 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#106 of 136 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#52 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#80 of 136 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#113 of 136 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Skyline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Skyline Hotel

Address: 10 I Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 136 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Skyline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Skyline Hotel is a boutique style hotel located very conveniently to all major attractions. We are located only 5 blocks from the Capital and Library of Congress, 3 blocks from the Nationals baseball stadium and less than 1 mile to the Air and Space museum along with other Smithsonian museums. The Capitol Skyline Hotel is a full service hotel catering to the needs of a highly international clientele. It is an ideal location for guests who need to see the sites, do business "on the hill" and for those who are in town to see a baseball game! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Capitol Skyline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Skyline Washington Dc
Hotel Capitol Skyline
Washington Dc Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Skyline Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.