We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpectedly charming, hidden, wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Skyline Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Capitol Skyline Hotel to your Saves list
Capitol Skyline Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 I Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-4299   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An unexpectedly charming, hidden, wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My partner and I were having a stressful day from preparing for Hurricane Sandy from waiting in line in our car for 5 sand bags for 3 1/2 hours, packing, preparing our apartment, etc. We booked at another hotel who was actually closer to us and were utterly disappointed and grossed out and did not stay. Then, we came across Capitol Skyline Hotel also near our apartment and just a great location. Upon check in the gentlemen at the reception desk, Pablo truly made my partner and myself very happy and has shown us the best, most GENUINE customer service. From arrival though he was busy and working alone it seemed, he was simply very kind. He even upgraded us to a suite for the night for our troubles. He did not have to do this. We will remember this for a long time. I hope management recognize him and realize what a great asset he is; a great future is in store for him at this pace. Thank you Pablo!

Original room 416, upgraded suite 434.

Room Tip: Fantastic service, location, genuine hospitality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPDIRECTOR, Front Office Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for all the positive comments. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    277
    200
    73
    66
See reviews for
186
199
73
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel managers are clearly watching their spreadsheet. THere is, basically, no staff. The restaurant at night is run by one really nice but clearly alone guy. At breakfast, there are 2 people and maybe, I don't know, 30, 40 guests. THey waited for a $14 buffet but for most of an hour, all they had to choose from was stale eggs, toast and a few bagels. The people who work at this hotel are lovely but horribly exploited; they simply cannot cope with the number of people or the demands made on them. This isn't the first 'Flying Dutchman' hotel I've stayed in but I hope it's the last.
The other thing people won't tell you is it is a poor location. I should have known when the cab driver told me about its awful past. It is better now and the walk to the Metro is only about 4 blocks - not that anyone is around to tell you that. But unless/until you figure that out, you are stuck a VERY long way from anything you want to say or do. It may say Washington DC: truth is, you're way out there.
I think this hotel is mis-marketed and badly run. It doesn't need to be that way. It needs some good management that cares (what a shocking concept) and a few extra people to do the ridiculously valiant work that the few people here do do.
Also - it would not be a revolution in hotel management if the bookstorse stocked a guide to Washington DC. A good one would be nice, of course. But any one would be a great leap forward.
Who runs these places?

Room Tip: You can ask for smoke-free but go whistle. The whole place STINKS of smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPDIRECTOR, Front Office Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are sorry to hear you feel our hotel is understaffed. Our hotel is within a 10 minute walk to the Capitol and only 3 blocks to the closest metro station, this makes it fairly easy to get to all the main sights you would like to see in DC. We also offer a courtesy shuttle that will bring you into DC during the morning hours. We offer maps and guides at the front desk and also will guide you to plan your trip to the nation’s capital. Once again I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that may have occurred during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München, Deutschland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

All in all we were quite satisfied with the hotel but there were a few things missing to reach a good overall rating. First we had a bug in our hotel room, better to say in the basin, things like this could happen but they should not. The Capitol Skyline is close to downtown and National Gallery area but to reach the train/subway you need to go through a low-medium housing area.
The service was very good especially by the concierge who was all the time very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPDIRECTOR, Front Office Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are glad to hear you enjoyed the service and location of our hotel! You are correct when you say things like the incident in the basin should not happen, and we assure it will not happen again. We hope that when you make your next trip to DC we hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

On arrival, the building looked very run down and dirty. The inside is a little better, and clean. Cheap bedding and fittings throughout (IKEA), though the beds are comfortable.
Unfortunately during our stay, there were baseball games at the stadium across the road on the 2 nights we stayed. The management sell parking spaces to the patrons, which made it an absolute nightmare for the hotel guests. The underground parking garage was packed, including double parking in the lanes. No room for those of us who had secured a park earlier. Felt sorry for the poor guy who was at reception complaining that his car was blocked, and couldn't get out.
The shuttle service (Royal Trolley Tours) into DC is a one way affair. Find your own way back! The driver we had on the 2 mornings was not the friendliest, not even a thankyou or goodbye after we gave our non deserved tip. But, it is free!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPDIRECTOR, Front Office Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We apologize for the heavy flow of traffic in our garage during the Nationals game. We have organized a new parking system since those post season games so that next year we will not have the same issue. We regret to hear about the service you received on our courtesy shuttle, we will be sure to address this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nothing impressive, some ok stuff and lots of room for improvement.
No roomservice, expensive parking, rooms are very dimm (3 lamps in total), tasteless brown furnishing and painting, wifi is awfully slow, location does not feel very safe, no eating places nearby, no cable tv, and breakfast not included.
Reception service is ok, rooms are clean, reasonable comfortable beds, though noisy... so all in all, no real deal in this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPDIRECTOR, Front Office Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We apologize for any inconveniences during your stay. We read all of our guest comments and we are always looking to improve our hotel. We do offer cable tv in every room and we have just switched over our wifi to a new server. We hope you decide to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nothing is as promised. No coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, wi-fi. Breakfast is $13.95 and is less food than the average small motel free breakfast. No coffee or tea available except for purchase. Staff can only apologize when there is a problem but don't care or do anything to correct it. I called Hotel directly prior to making reservations and asked basic questions to make sure this place would be OK to stay at. Was given the answers I expected to hear but upon arrival found out information given was untrue. We are in our 70s, and have never been to Washington DC before. The experience at this hotel has gone a long way to try to make this trip into a negative experience instead of a positive one. SHAME ON YOU.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPDIRECTOR, Front Office Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
On behalf of the Capitol Skyline Hotel we apologize that you may have received information that misled you. We do offer refrigerators and microwaves at a separate cost; also we do offer free wifi throughout the hotel. Once again we apologize for any inconveniences during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a very basic hotel, but I loved my time there because the staff was so helpful and nice. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from Capitol Hill, and it's cheaper than most hotels in the area. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: The views of the Capitol are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAPDIRECTOR, Front Office Manager at Capitol Skyline Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you very much for the positive comments!! We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capitol Skyline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Skyline Hotel

Address: 10 I Street SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-4299
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Skyline Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Capitol Skyline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Skyline Washington Dc
Hotel Capitol Skyline
Washington Dc Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Skyline Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.