We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1121 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1522 (Connecticut Ave/ K Street)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #90 of 133 Hotels in Washington DC
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We booked this hotel, as we liked the idea of having a kitchenette (fridge is handy) and the extra safe would be nice. As other reviewers have said, the hotel is a bit out of date with interior design - but it's purely aesthetic. Everything works, the TV was flatscreen and the bathroom suite looked modern.

The staff were pleasant at the front desk and check in was easy. The room was huge, and the A/C was not right next to the bed and quiet - so great sleeping potential for fellow light sleepers! As long as you don't require a modern design/gadgets then this room is great. Lots of nearby restaurants and with a bike rental you can cycle around the main touristy locations.

Breakfast had a good selection, and lots of seats (with an extra room) - though the staff weren't the happiest people (probably because it's a very busy job?)

The hotel also had Laundry facilities downstairs if you need to do any washing.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor suites, and it was very quiet (though facing the road).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nana-Kojo A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Andy T,

Thank you very much for your response. I hope it helps others when trying to find out more about our location. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review about us. We hope you come back soon!

Sincerely,
Kojo Aboagye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    215
    93
    37
    20
See reviews for
160
113
34
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, CT
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Booked this hotel through Hotwire and got a fair price for this location (Georgetown/Foggy Bottom, near DuPont Circle.). Tariff came to just over $160/night including the onerous local taxes. Includes breakfast, which is good because this part of Washington is sadly lacking in breakfast places.
Hotel looks OK but still needs some upgrading. Entryway into lobby, while attractive, has strong smell of mildew. Fortunately, rooms did not share that odor. However, toilet stopped up, and they sent someone to fix it while we were out to dinner. Came back and it was not properly cleared. We were then told that the person who does this had left for the night. Front desk seemed to think that that was OK. On my insistence (but only on my insistence) they moved us to another room. Thus, I'd rate service no better than "C."
Room was comfortable, adequately spacious, and had small fridge and kitchenette sink (all to the good). Ceiling over bath had mold stains indicating some leakage from above. Another example of refurbishing work that still needs to be done.
Breakfast was the usual buffet of scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, rolls and fruit. Not fabulous but perfectly alright for an included breakfast.
Parking is across the street at the Ritz Carlton. So unpack before you park, because it's quite a schlep back from your parking space (with at least one flight of stairs or an arduous haul up a long car ramp.) Parking was an additional $26-$28 per night: Cheaper than New York, but that's about the best you can say about it.
Big plus is location in Georgetown, and easy walk to lots of restaurants. We liked Grillfish (about one block north) and went there twice. Note that the Best Western is limited service: No on-premises food or drink except breakfast. It ain't the Ritz, but then again, neither is the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nana-Kojo A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear RobertNorwalk_CT,

Thank you for your review. It is accurate and thorough! Because we are not a "full service hotel, we try our best to make accommodations available to our guests. Thank you for highlighting some key facts such as our parking, breakfast, location and our low price. We keep our rates (parking and room rates) lower than other hotels in our area, we love having complimentary breakfast available for our guests, and we love our location too! We even keep menus available at the Front Desk with delivery from restaurants like Chili's, T.G.I. Friday's, and more.

By telling us what you enjoyed, as well as possible areas of improving,you're helping us to implement a better experience for guests in the future-thank you! Come back soon!

Warm Regards,
Regina Childs
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcoa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is in a very convenient location--a 10 minute walk to the Foggy Bottom Metro station. The room was large and well furnished but the carpet is to the point of needing repair. Check in was very efficient and shortly after we got to the room the receptionist called to ask if there was anything we needed--a nice touch. The breakfast was good and the breakfast room was very inviting. Considering that more expensive hotels do not provide breakfast that helps the room rate here seem reasonable. The hotel was quiet so we slept well. Would definitely stay here again. We had no car as we came to DC by train but I would not suggest staying here if you have a car as parking is some distance and expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nana-Kojo A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Bill531,

We are happy to have met your expectations during your stay at our hotel. We appreciate you taking out the time to say so. Come back and see us again. We would love to host your stay again!

Kind Regards,
Regina Childs
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, england
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Spent 4 nights here, the location is perfect, most of the major sites are within walking distance, and the Foggy Bottom metro station is a 5 minute walk away if you want to travel further.

We had 2 good size double beds in the room, a smallish bathroom and a kitchen area.

The room was clean and well maintained, we were on the second floor in room 207 and there was no view from the windows.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and was ok, cereal, tea, coffee, fruit juice, toast, bagels, scrambled eggs,cakes and fresh fruit.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again without hesitate.

We are a family of 3 travelling from the UK.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nana-Kojo A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Tony_nufc,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your time with us! We change up the breakfast menu frequently-next time we hop that you catch it when there pancakes and sausage are available! Thanks again for leaving your kind comments on our page we hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Regina Childs
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Older hotel that has been updated. Very comfortable and helpful staff. Bathroom was very small for us, but we made that adjustment. No view to speak of, but in a good part of town and we could walk to restaurants and the Kennedy Center if we wanted to.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nana-Kojo A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Sharon C,

Thank you for sharing your experience on our page. We appreciate you taking out the time to do so. We have updated more at our property. You should come back and visit us soon! We are happy you enjoyed our hotel and the location as well. Here's a tip for the next time you come back: There is also a free shuttle that will pick you up from Foggy Bottom Metro Station that takes you to the Kennedy Center. And as you probably already know, Foggy Bottom is just about at 5-7 minute walk from our hotel! We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Regina Childs
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed for business over a holiday weekend and got an amazing deal. Check-in was smooth and easy, the room was spotless and comfortable (if a little lacking in personality), and the included breakfast was far more expansive than the 'continental' it claimed. Staff were extremely helpful. Wonderful experience all around.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nana-Kojo A, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Julia J,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to our nation's capital! Every day we strive to ensure our guests a superior experience. We are happy to have met your expectations. We truly appreciate your feedback.

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice compliment on our TripAdvisor page. Please come back and see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Regina Childs
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, nice and helpfull staff. Huge rooms with separate sleeping department and own kitchen. Poor mobile coverage, but free wi-fi. For a scandinavian like me, the breakfast was "different". Missed more full grain products. Noisy air conndition....
Will recommend and return:-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nana-Kojo A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2014
Dear Ulvifaareklaer,

Thank you for a great review! Letting us know what you liked and what we need to work on is very helpful. We appreciate it! See you again soon!

Kindly,
Kojo Aboagye
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites

Address: 1121 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Connecticut Ave/ K Street
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step up to all-suite amenities when looking for a hotel in the Washington, DC, Georgetown area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Best Western Georgetown Hotel And Suites
Best Western Washington Dc
Washington Dc Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.