We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Southern Cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acadiana

Acadiana
901 New York Ave NW, Ste 200A, Washington DC, DC 20001-4410 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202-408-8848
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Acadiana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #124 of 2,709 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Transit: Closest Metro is Gallery Place Chinatown on the Yellow, Green and Red Lines. Washington Circulator bus stops directly in front of restaurant on the New York Avenue Side.
Description: Acadiana offers the flavors, culture and the warmth of the seductive southern region. They offer the perfect balance of the old and new...taking advantage of the rich bounty found in the Mississippi Delta, Bayous and the Gulf of Mexico.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Southern Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Acadiana was great. The restaurant I think has been around for quite some time, and has a bit of a faded elegance feel to it. However both the staff and the food were great. They feature Southern Cuisine, and everything we had was outstanding. In particular the desserts were fantastic, the beignets and the key lime pie in particular. Very tasty!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    181
    58
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Awesome Cajun food, live mass musicians, and $2 spicy blood Mary or fun variations on mimosa (last time it was blood orange juice a d champagne, yum)! Run, don't walk, and it doesn't hurt to call ahead and reserve your spot!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good but not Fantastic New Orleans-type Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had llunch here with colleagues. I had the trout which was very good. But,I lived in New Orleans for over a decade, and thought the food wasn't fantastic, especially since a proclomation by Ray Nagin, the former Mayor, who botched-up the Katrina evacuation, is fully on display.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Acadiana never fails to delight! I always look forward to meals there for weeks, and remember them long after. Dined there last month; although it was a quiet weekend throughout the city, they were absolutely packed. However, our reservation was honored promptly. Service was well-timed, friendly and knowledgeable. Drinks were inventive and tasty (try the mint- and sugarcane infused lemonade!). While I love their interpretation of boudin sausage, the trio of nicely spiced meat pies with cool dipping sauce won me over--an insanely tasty starter! They get some little things just right--like a subtle pepper and peach butter... The gumbo was rich and very filling, and the duck succulent and perfectly cooked. An amazing meal!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline, SC
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Lagniappe....and then some!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellent Creole Cuisine in the Nation's Capitol. Very busy Saturday night, service was good. One thing I've noticed in DC is that ALL the servers tend to help one another out. It makes good customer service. We were well attended while dining. We started out with the Charbroiled Oysters. This oyster dish made a fan out of our two teenage daughters. They compared these to pizza. We were served a basket of warm biscuits with a sweet and spicy pepper jam. Yummy! Our dinners consisted of Louisiana Seafood Gumbo (delectable), Pecan Crusted Snapper (delicious Leek Bread Pudding), Spice Grilled Grouper (melt in your mouth) and Jumbo Lump Crabcakes (perfection). Every bite was fabulous. We finished off our dinner with the Peanut Butter Mousse Bomb. Decadent! The cocktails before dinner were good, and the other menu items looked fabulous. EVERY night of our DC visit we debated on canceling our reservation at our previously selected restaurant for a return visit to Acadiana. We never made it back, but we all voted on our last night that Acadiana was definitely our favorite restaurant for the week {we also visited Ceiba (#45 on Trip Advisor), Zaytinya (#4), Matchbox Pizza (#17), Oya(#114) and El Rinconcito (#79)}.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acadiana also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Acadiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acadiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.