We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Destination meal not to be missed."” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Lunch

Market Lunch
306 Seventh Street SE, Washington DC, DC 20003 (Capitol Hill)
202-547-8444
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #451 of 2,564 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sandwiches, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Capitol Hill
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
189 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“"Destination meal not to be missed."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We lived in DC for 9 years and always eat here when we come back to the city for a visit. It is still the same fabulous food. The crab cake sandwich is deliciously done, not full of filler. The bread is amazingly fresh too. If you are lucky enough to go for breakfast then don't miss the Blueberry buckwheat pancakes. They melt in your mouth. If you like eggs, try a "brick" sandwich with your choice of bacon, ham or sausage. For a truly original treat, try the crab cake egg Benedict. Don't be put off by the long line. The wait is worth it. So clean, great market atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    29
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Extremely tasty, would recommend to everyone!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

After reading some good reviews and wandering over to this part of town to see Capitol Hill, we decided to pop into the Eastern Market for lunch. The Market Lunch stand was still relatively busy even though we arrived at 2pm so we joined the queue and eyed up the short but appealing menu. We opted for the grilled chicken burger, crab cake sandwich and a small side of fries with a lemonade. Unfortunately they had run out of chicken and only had crab cakes and whiting left so we opted for the whiting sandwich instead. The whiting consisted of two large golden fillets which were meaty in flavour and soft. The crab cake was smaller than expected but packed full of crab meat and flavour to more than compensate. The skin-on fries were tasty with fluffy potatoe in the middle, I only wish we had the appetite for a large portion!

In my opinion, a food stall that closes up when they sell out of everything on the menu is a sure sign of a good thing so I'd recommend this to anyone, just make sure you get there early enough!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
831 reviews
507 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

The Eastern Market is in a lovely section of Capitol Hill and quite accessible by Metro. A Saturday bonus is that there are stalls outside for porduce and crafts. There is a large room which focuses on foods to take home for cooking--not so vast as Reading Terminal Market or Ferry Market (and, in truth, both of those are better.) But the one place serving food is a treat. We went for the fabled Saturday a.m. breakfast and like the other reviewers found the line long. It moved swiftly,hwoever. There is ample seating int he adjacent room. We also had the blue bucks - yummy- free warm syrup availalbe. and the cheese grits with green chilis are amazingly creamy-not enough kick for anyone from New Mexico. There are 5 rule sposted--nothing compared tot hose Shopsin's used to post in NY. Prices gentle.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
377 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Food and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

A buddy and I went for Market Lunch's famous Saturday breakfast. We thought we'd arrived ahead of the crowd (8:45), but there were roughly 25 people in line ahead of us. It moved reasonably well, and was worth the wait. Market Lunch is a short order place in the middle of historic Eastern Market in DC. For seating, there is a single long plank table with bar stools. Rules are enforced which keep seats turning over quickly (no saving, no reading when they're busy). I had the Blue Bucks (blueberry buckwheat pancakes), which is the house specialty and green chili cheese grits. Both were wonderful! The other specialty is crabcakes which were available in several forms for breakfast. The place was very friendly and had an excellent vibe. Watching the activity in the surrounding stalls made the wait go much quicker.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
129 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Crabcake Sandwich”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The best thing about Market Lunch is it's location ~ in the middle of Eastern Market. My crabcake sandwich was tasty, but combined with the quality and atmosphere, I wouldn't go out of my way for it. Full disclosure: Generally, I'm a vegetarian and prefer whole wheat to white bread. The service was prompt and efficient. Coleslaw was fresh and delicious. Cash only.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Lunch also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Market Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Lunch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.