We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surreal reception” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tabaq Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tabaq Bistro
1336 U St NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-4445 (U Street Corridor)
202-265-0965
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: U Street Corridor
Cross street: 14 & U
Transit: 5 min walking distance to Metro Rail U Street/African-Amer Civil War Memorial/Cardozo Station on the GREEN Line.
DC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Surreal reception”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I went to Tabaq Bistro on July 4 around 5:30, after walking around in Adams Morgan/U Street looking for a decent place to get a drink and a bite to eat. It would have been our second visit, and we remembered the nice view, good drinks, and excellent small plate food.
When we walked up the three flights to the roof, we were met by a waitress or hostess (not sure which) who asked if we had reservations, a curious question considering there were NO patrons in the place at that moment. When we replied "no", she told us all their tables were booked and so they couldn't take us. No suggestion to sit at the bar; no invitation to sit as long as we'd be out by a certain time. Nothing. Just: TOO BAD. If the place had been half full, perhaps this would have made sense. But as there was NO ONE THERE, it made no sense at all, and in fact, seemed to us to be rather rude. In any case, it was bad business behavior. They could have had two more paying customers than they were expecting!
We won't be returning.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    16
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Somewhere
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not as impressed as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Came recommended from our B&B owner. Wasn't as impressed as hoped. Snarky manager - commented on how touristy we were -- buddy, we are the only customers you have in your restaurant at the moment, so perhaps you should be happy to see us. Sells on the view of DC - not really (in daylight). My companion ordered a vodka gimlet - seemed to reallly perplex the server. Didn't see anything in the entrees that either of us really wanted, so we had just a few small plates. Very good (lamb kebab, chicken kebab, spinach cigar berak). Was hungry later, though, since we didn't have a full dinner. For $30 more, the next night we had a terrific full meal elsewhere. Wouldn't return and would not include on list of suggestions for friends visiting.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great rooftop city view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Family group & friends... 6 of us.. everyone found something they enjoyed. Small plates and a to die for chocolate dessert....part cake / part moose.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Fantastic Mediterranean tapas...unique cocktails (a little pricey)...GREAT service (ask for Sam)...fun atmosphere...awesome rooftop views. Highly recommend this dining experience.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

After stumbling upon this restaurant website and seeing photos of the rooftop dining area, I was thrilled to schedule a recent business dinner with two colleagues at Tabaq.

I didn't mind the several flights of stairs we had to climb in order to get to the top; I found it exciting to be completely surprised when the climb ended and the stunning views of Washington, DC at night were revealed beneath us.

The ambiance was trendy and modern but not pretentious. The food was excellent (the stuffed dates and lamb meatballs were my favorite), and the service professional and well-timed.

I can't wait to go back when the weather is warm and the roof is retracted. Kudos to a phenomenal dining experience!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabaq Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabaq Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.