We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BlackSalt

BlackSalt
4883 MacArthur Blvd NW, Washington DC, DC 20007 (Upper Northwest)
202-342-9101
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
BlackSalt is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 2,495 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Cross street: V Street NW
Description: BlackSalt is the much anticipated concept restaurant from Chef Jeff Black, featuring an upscale fish market fronting a vibrant bar and elegant restaurant.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The best restaurant we ate in and we are still talking about it now. Service was excellent don't be put off by the fact that it is in the suburbs it is so worth a visit as we have never eaten fish like this. I had black bass in a broth which was fantastic but my husbands starter of butter fish was to die for and his halibut was divine. Desserts are really good too I do really do chocolate but the mouse cake was worth it. Service very good and they will even take you back in one of their cars. GO you will not be disappointed. The only problem will be that no other fish restaurant will ever come up to expectations again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    96
    33
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lunch was average - Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I decided to go to BlackSalt based on the excellent reviews in Tripadvisor, We had lunch and ordered from the specials menu (wine appetizer, entree and dessert) for a set price ($20/25). The food was average quality and nothing memorable about the dishes. They seem to be a bit heavy handed on pepper in two of the dishes (fish tacos and gazpacho) which was overpowering. The menu doesn't indicate that the dishes are spicy so it was quite a surprise. It would be nice to put that information in the menu. The service was average. Our waiter was not too attentive and we had to flag down another wait staff member a couple of times. We have no desire to return again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Park, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best seafood I have had in a VERY long time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

After reading great reviews on TA, I added this restaurant to our itinerary. and what a great choice that was!!! Our hotel was on the other side of DC, so we had a great ride there, enjoying all of the beautiful homes in Georgetown. To start, we had the tuna tartar, the butterfish, and the oysters Rockefeller. All were amazing, and we knew we were in for a treat for the rest of the meal. For an entree, I chose the scallops, (normally an app, but the waiter recommended them prepared as the halibut is normally prepared)...THIS WAS AMAZING!!! And as for desserts, there wasn't a bad choice on the menu!! For a seafood place, these desserts reminded me of something from a Culinary Institute restaurant!!! Our evening ended with a convenient (and luxurious) ride back to the hotel in the house car, (which the kids will be talking about for awhile, as they want us to buy a Mercedes S600 now!!!) All in all...another place to put on your list for dining in DC!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Food speaks for itself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We visited Blacksalt for the first time during a short trip to Washington DC after reading good reviews on this site and elsewhere.

Our table wasn't ready when we arrived, despite us being slightly late after struggling to find parking. We ordered cocktails from the bar, but only received one of them during the 15 minute wait.

The restaurant area itself is a relatively small, pleasantly decorated section of the fishmarket/café/bar/restaurant combo. Tables are placed very close together, and when full the restaurant is very, very noisy.

But this is where the negatives ended.

Service in the restaurant was very efficient, and the food FABULOUS. We started with the cold house-cured anchovies and clam chowder. Both of these were probably the best examples of these dishes we remember tasting. Multiple flavours excellently blended, but still individually discernible and delicious.
As entrees we had the rockfish with gumbo and prawn & pepper stew. The rockfish was cooked seabass-style, and was very well executed & complemented well by the gumbo. The prawn and pepper stew was scrummy.

The dining experience was an unexpected surprise, and we strongly recommend the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

First time here and probably no desire to return. Upon arriving met another member of our party who had been waiting for rest of group and had already alerted staff we would need a table for four. One person in our group was my 87 year old(handicapped) Mother who has mobility issues. We were pretty much given the run around as to when we could be seated and we ended up waiting at the bar for almost an hour. No one seemed to really care about us and we were very patient and did not lose our cool with the staff . When we were finally seated the service continued to be slow and tedious. The food was good, but the ordeal in getting it was not worth it. I was quite perplexed by this experience since I thought this would be another enjoyable meal like Black's other restaurants which I have been to. I wanted to speak to someone in charge, but did not want to offend our friends who suggested dining here. You definitely failed in service and made our lunch a frustrating time. I realize this was restaurant week and maybe that created problems but I would think you are professionals in the hospitality industry and know how to deal with your customers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BlackSalt also viewed

 

Been to BlackSalt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlackSalt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.