We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experiencing the Best of DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Beck

Brasserie Beck
1101 K St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4210 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202-408-1717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brasserie Beck is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #83 of 2,494 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, Belgian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Transit: McPherson Square or Metro Center
Emeryville, California, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Experiencing the Best of DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Brasserie Beck is a Belgian with a French fusion restaurant within walking distance from the Four Points by Sheraton. Went there for a late dinner, enjoyed the Sea Bass filet, grilled to perfection! it was seasoned, olive oil and cilantro, great flavors. Eat with caution as there are some bones on the fish. The reason is a few are left on the fish when cooking as it adds flavor (bones releases its own oils for flavor). The head is shopped off but tail is kept in place. Don't recall name of vegetable, but is a spinach like, with a sour taste. My preference is red wine, so I paired it with a Pinot Noir, It was light, healthy and delicious. The dish is $32.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    173
    58
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Slice of Europe found in DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This restaurant has some of the best mussels in Washington DC. The preparation options are unsurpassed. The menu has a variety of highlights on both meat and seafood sides of the menu. Wienerschnitzel rivals anything I had in Vienna. The wait staff are knowledgeable, friendly and spot on with recommendations, based upon your like and dislikes. The decor is lovely, fantastic wine and beer choices, heavenly desserts, what more could one ask? You truly feel as if you are in the middle of Europe. Fabulous downtown dining experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great service, delicious mussels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I ate here for a work lunch, so while I can't speak to value for money, I can definitely say something about the food - the ahi burger, and mussels (I had the thai curry) and french fries are incredible- they do a fantastic job on classics and unique dishes. The service was outstanding, attentive but not overbearing. It's quite a 'suits' place at lunch time, with a lot of buzz and chatter, but the atmosphere is great. What a treat!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of my DC faves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place is one of my favorite spots in DC. The food is phenomenal. If you go, I would reccommend the mussels (any of them) and the charcuterie board as musts. They also make a mean French 75 or have ample beers on their lists. On top of that, the service is outstanding. The waiters are extremely knowledgable about the encyclopedia they call a beer list. They are attentive, not annoying and make great suggestions. The atmosphere adds to the experience in that it's relaxed and loud, hardly the stuffiness you get at some DC restaurants. Love, love, love it here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I ate here Saturday night of Presidents Day weekend. I had the Saturday special which was the grilled lamb chops. I think it was one of the best things I have ever eaten. It came with brussel sprouts and mashed potatoes. Truly incredible. My wife had the chicken. It was also very good. The atmosphere is wonderful as is the beer. This is a good place to go with a group of friends as it has a loud but good vibe that a group of people would enjoy. This place is a winner and I will definately be back on a Saturday night for the grilled lamb chop special.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Beck also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Brasserie Beck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Beck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.