We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a special evening” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Beck

Brasserie Beck
1101 K St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4210 (Downtown / Chinatown)
202-408-1717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brasserie Beck is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #119 of 2,710 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Transit: McPherson Square or Metro Center
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“not a special evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I came here with a friend for a drink and dinner, and had a beer at happy hour for $3.50. Great. I went to the table and it was $7. I suppose that's normal, but this was the least expensive beer on the menu...$7. Not a special beer. I think I can get a six pack of a microbrew for almost that. I had a croque monsieur which was well, odd, and split an appetizer, and the bill was quite high. The waiter had memorized the specials and talked through them like the fine print at the end of the car commercials. Really? This place has too good of a reputation and is too expensive not to be special and on their toes at all times. Sorry.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    159
    55
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott city, md
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Classic restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you want to treat yourself a complete restaurant experience with great food and great service, you should visit Brasserie Beck. We tried their mussels and they came out steaming hot in a cast iron pan. They have 6 different sauces. We tried the veal sauce. It is like eating mussels in a cheese fondue. It is yummy but a bit heavy. Noneeless, it was unforgettable. We also tried the duck confit sandwich with Belgium fries. It was delicious. It is on the pricey side but you came out feeling well worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“Perfect meal. Perfect location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We often eat in D.C. but living in Annapolis there is premium on restaurants on the East side of the city as far as logistics. We have eaten at Marcel's in the past so we expected a lot from any restaurant associated with Robert Wiedmaier. We were not disappointed. My wife had a yen for mussels and after doing the museum thing on Sunday we decided to try Brasserie Beck. It was on the way out of D.C. for us so the location couldn't have been better. We arrived a little early for out 5 PM reservation and the dining area was not opened. We were seated at the bar area and found the noise level a little loud but soon we taken to our table. The service was cordial and efficient. We ordered a salad, mussels with frites, and the lobster pasta special to split between us. We also had a bottle of Alsace Riesling which went well with the meal. Each course was excellent and we actually took food home. I have to put the meal at the top of our recent dining experiences and will certainly come back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, pro staff, but a little pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Very nice, friendly and professional staff.
Scallops as a starter was a great succes, a very nice dish combined with a very good beer recommended by the waiter, though it was not poured very well.
Main course was the mussels in white wine sauce together with a glas of white wine, nothing less than superb, a really good dish.
To dessert I had Belgium waffels, once again a really good experience, though the amount of ice cream was on the low side.
To sum up. A very good restaurant, well worth a visit. But you also pay a noticeable price for it.
As a sidenote the acoustics of the room is quite poor, unfortunately making the restaurant quite noisy, even with an average amount of customers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

My wife and ate here for dinner and it was gourmet European food on k street. We had mussels as an appetizer. We shared the smaller portion, and the quantity was more than enough. We both had fish. It is a little pricey. First time I have ever paid $13 for a beer, but overall, the meal and service were outstanding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Beck also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Brasserie Beck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Beck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.