We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Park Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Park Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2116 Kalorama Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Rixeyville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed at the Windsor Park to do some touring of Washington with my wife and son, and we had a great time. The hotel is one of your smaller ones, but it was more than enough for our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and actually pretty big compared to what I'm used to in big tourist city's. They served a breakfast that kept us nice and full until lunch, and on check out day they stored our bags for about 6 hours for free, making check out day still a nice touring day. Good times!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPHWashington, Manager at Windsor Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. Our staff puts forth a great effort to do everything possible to make our guests comfortable and happy. I will be sure to tell all of them that you appreciated all they did for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    60
    30
    14
    18
See reviews for
12
35
22
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

All other hotel rooms in DC were $500+ a night so I felt like this was a steal for less than $200. But it is super dated, musty smelling, and kind of dumpy. It was fine for 1 night of sleep and not much other time in the room. But I'm not coming running back anytime soon. I thought the walk to the metro station was lovely (over the bridge) and not too far. Nice location; good safe neighborhood.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPHWashington, Manager at Windsor Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. You are correct about the walk across Connecticut Ave. Bridge (Taft Bridge). The view overlooks Rock Creek Park. Its nice all the time but its especially beautiful in the fall. The trees turn so many different colors that it could be a destination in itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I had a reservation for two rooms for a business trip on June 11. Our flight was cancelled into DC so we obviously had no need for the rooms. When I called to cancel the reservation I was told I would still be charged for the rooms because of a 24 hour cancellation policy. I pleaded with the operator that the weather was out of my control and please refund my money. I was told that I needed to speak with the manager who would be in the next morning. The hotel manager has not returned numerous calls regarding this matter. Don't even make a reservation at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose another hotels with better customer service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Windsor hotel for 1 night.
Location: The hotel is located within 15-20min walking distance to the zoo, 5-10mins to the center of Adams Morgan (lots of delicious restaurants and interesting shops and a circulator bus stop) 10 mins to 2 metro stations (Woodley Park station and Dupont circle station). If you have small children or have a hard time walking you might want to consider a hotel closer. As for me, I enjoy walking everywhere and found the surrounding area wonderful for people watching and looking at the architecture.
Price : compared to most hotels in the DC area, the cost is much lower.
Room: I had a room with a twin bed and full bed on the 3rd floor. Elevator is available albeit slow. The size is adequate. Amenities included a flat screen TV, radio clock, refrigerator, iron, ironing board, old fashion hair dryer, shampoo, soap (no conditioner/body lotion). The room was clean and not musty smelling. My room had Windows but literally faced a concrete wall so I relied on the TV to check for the weather. The ceiling paint was peeling a bit. The bed was adequate, pillows very flat and cheap. The size was also adequate although I only stayed one night by myself so I didn't have luggage like. Bathroom was clean, well stocked, hot water was plentiful.

This hotel would be perfect for budget travelers looking to spend one or two nights see the major sights plus immerse themselves in the local scene as well. It is a very basic hotel at provides a clean room/bathroom and a place to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPHWashington, Manager at Windsor Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. I only wish that we could have given you another room. We have 4 rooms that are on the ventilation tower and do try to rent them out last when the hotel is full.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed at the Windsor Park Hotel for 2 nights. I had a conference up the street at the Marriott, but even with the conference's discounted rates, it was too expensive for the two rooms my coworker and I needed. The Windsor Park was half a mile away and in walking distance (although I took the cab while my coworker enjoyed the walk :) This hotel was very clean, although appears to need some updating. The bathroom seemed pretty new, however. My only complaints were a bad wifi signal, too soft a bed and pillows, and a very hot room. My trip was in April and they haven't yet switched to AC. The front desk told us to just open our windows, but without a breeze it didn't do much. I wasn't in the room that often, just to sleep. With that said, it wasn't a bad stay. If we decide to attend the same conference next year, for convenience purposes alone, we will probably just bite the bullet and spend the money at the Marriott since it was a pain in the neck getting a cab in the early morning hours.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

First, walked in to the room and made a joke about the message from the room service: on a greasy pink envelope what was left on the table was written: "Your housekeeper was Dina. We hope that everything done for you has met with your satisfaction." After noticed a dark hair in the sink I decided to keep quiet - OK happens..the location is good and a price is reasonable. BUT after I noticed a leftovers of condoms right next to my bed I started to doubt if covers are clean..Got curious and looked under the bed! DON'T EVEN ASK! PLEASE TELL ME : HOW ROOM SERVICE CAN EXPLAIN A FOOD PACKAGES AND CONDOMS UNDER THE BED? Usually I'm the type of the person who is cleaning up after myself even in the hotels ! BUT sorry - its disgusting to pick up after a bad room service IN MY VACATION! I have been in expensive Vegas hotels and cheap Spain hostels, but there are some limits to everything! Its too late now - but good to know that I will start my morning with a conversation with the people in charge!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPHWashington, Manager at Windsor Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello Leva B,
We appreciate that you have taken the time to write about your experience at our hotel but we are distressed that it was a negative one. If any of the things mentioned in your review had been brought to the attention of our management or staff there would have been immediate action taken. Since they were not, then I will take this opportunity to communicate with all future guests. Our hotel has come recommended for its cleanliness among other positive things. The situation you have described is highly irregular and we would have immediately given you another room and even an upgrade if you had said anything. We have used a copy of your review and have reprimanded the housekeeper of the floor you were on. Since oversights of this serious a nature have never happened before we will make sure they never happens again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My wife and I went to DC to visit our son. Normally stay at the Capital Hilton but that was booked. So we tried the Windsor Park because it was close to our son's apartment. The staff was nice but the hotel needs major overhaul. Paint peeling from the walls, don't like it, but could overlook, rusty medicine cabinet --stuff happens, furniture falling apart -- problem, sloping floor in the sitting area -- concerned, very concerned. Simply put way, way to much money for what get. End on a positive note - free wifi

Room Tip: don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPHWashington, Manager at Windsor Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear ehg1611,
We truly hope that your stay with us did not affect the pleasure of visiting with your son. Since you are used to staying at the Capital Hilton then a hotel that was built in 1926 may be a bit of a letdown. Our recommendation to all our future guests is to research the information provided on our website. There is a clear description of our property and at least 12 images of the rooms and common areas. If one is accustom to historic buildings they should know that there may be some imperfections that we have no control over and our maintenance staff works very hard to service were needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Days Inn Washington, DC - Connec...
#108 of 135 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#111 of 135 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#119 of 135 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 135 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
The Churchill Hotel
#24 of 135 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Park Hotel

Address: 2116 Kalorama Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 135 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windsor Park Hotel offers 43 guestrooms in a variety of configurations. Built in 1926, this charming hotel has been restored and updated to provide everything expected by those traveling for business or pleasure. All bathrooms have been recently renovated (2009) and there is free wireless internet throughout the hotel. Two computer stations are also available for our guests use and our free Continental Breakfast saves the time and expense of finding a restaurant in the morning.Windsor Park Hotel is in a charming, quiet, safe neighborhood with over 100 establishments offering shopping, art, entertainment and cuisine from around the world. Embassies, majestic homes parks and tree-lined streets are a pleasure to see throughout the year. Guests can walk to Rock Creek Park, DuPont Circle, Adams Morgan, the National Zoo and many other points of interest. There are three major convention hotels within a short walk and two metro stations -Woodley Park-Zoo and DuPont Circle- are within a few short blocks enabling our guests to reach all the wonderful sites in our Nation’s Capital. The friendly personalized service of this small hotel makes all our guests feel right at home. This is where yesterdays charm is today’s treasure.Hotel and Room Amenities24-Hour Front Desk AC/HEAT w Individual Comfort Control ElevatorBusiness Services Free Local Calls Voice MailVending/Ice Machines Iron/Board RefrigeratorSafe Deposit at Front Hair Drier in bathrooms Map/Tour InfoRollaway/Cribs available Comcast Digital TV w over 100 Channels We have only street parking but there are two large garages within a few blocks.We are a “Smoke Free Property” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Windsor Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Park Washington Dc
Hotel Windsor Park
Windsor Park Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.