We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the heart of DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aiko's Bed & Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington DC
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aiko's Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Aiko's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1411 Hopkins St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 49 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Cagliari, Italy
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Aiko's B&B is actually a furnished 1-bedroom. I spent here 3 months in 2000, 2 months in 2007 and last April in 2011 and I would not look for any other lodging in DC every time I spend time in the city.
The location is among the very best of DC: 2 minutes from Dupont Circle metro station, plenty of great food/books/yoga/culture/nightlife places all around and, if you like to walk, you can reach other great DC locations as Georgetown or the White House or the National Mall in about 20 minutes.
Hopkins street is very nice and quiet and the apartment itself is quite charming and cozy and, very important for me, it includes a full kitchen. Once a week the apartment gets cleaned, apart from this you live in the apartment as you would live in your own.
Last but not least, Aiko is always very kind and helpful and a pleasure to deal with.
I highly recommend Aiko's B&B for short and long term lodgings.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

Location, quality and value all in one. A couple of minutes from the nearest metro station and then about a 5 minute ride to Pennsylvania Ave., or walk the 6 blocks to the White House; and in a nice residential area. I loved this cozy (but good sized), fully furnished apartment. The well-equipped and stocked kitchen was great; I could save money having breakfast in rather than going out. I was surprised to find a cloths washer/drier, which is a great cost saver on long stays (though I didn't use it for my brief stay). And all this at a cost of less than a mid-range hotel room. Aiko was so helpful in handling my last-minute booking, and checking up on how my stay was going. I will definitely stay there on my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

Aiko has a separate clean and tidy apartment to rent out, while she and her husband live in the unit above. One comfortable bed, plus a sofa bed (can't be sure how comfy that is). Bathroom is roomy with lots of towels. Kitchen is well-stocked with utensils, dishes, and a full fridge. Could not be sure how old some of the left-over breads, jams, etc. might have been; Aiko would do better if she cleaned the fridge out more often. Breakfasts are strictly DIY, but you come and go on your own schedule. When she learned one of us needs decaf even in the mornings, she ran right out to buy some, and threw in some bagels as well. Location is perfect - about 2 blocks from the Metro at DuPont Circle, only about 4 stops from Smithsonian and the Mall. Neighborhood was lively and seemed safe even in the evenings. Many restaurants to choose from. Aiko has ideas as to where to spend your time, and she has many folders for tourists. Most people come here by plane and Metro, but Aiko can manage to squeeze one car next to her own. Once parked, we never moved the car.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WC1, London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

I've never left a comment on this site before but just wanted to say that I very highly recommend Aiko's B&B.

I was in Washington for work for a week and booked the apartment as it was close to where some of my colleagues were staying.

The apartment is extremely large and very, very comfortable. It is also only a couple of minutes from the nearest Metro station and in walking distance of a number of very nice bars and restaurants.

When I am next in Washington I'll certainly be returning.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Maine
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

Aiko is a very nice Japanese woman who rents an apartment (not a bed and breakfast when we were there) that sleeps four. The apartment has its own entrance. It has one bedroom with a very comfortable bed and high quality sheets. The living room has a nice sofa bed that is also comfortable. The bathroom is tiled with an over-sized tub. Really good quality towels. Kitchen has everything you need in the way of dishes, pots and pans etc. Lots of tourist info available. Original Art throughout. Excellent location, a few blocks from DuPont Circle Metro. It is badly in need of paint both inside and out (that was in March '06) and the carpet could use a good cleaning. Also when we were there the cupboards looked like they could use a good sorting. But otherwise it was clean, quiet, safe and affordable. Has a washer/dryer! $150 per night for 2 people in March.
Whole Foods is about 1/2 mile away on P street. Bus goes right there.
Phillips Gallery is just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aiko's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiko's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1411 Hopkins St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Aiko`s Bed And Breakfast
Aiko`s Hotel Washington Dc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aiko's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.