We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a home than a hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol City Hostel

Capitol City Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Capitol City Hostel to your Saves list
Capitol City Hostel
2411 Benning Road NE, Washington DC, DC 20002   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“More like a home than a hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

When you stay with Bill at the hostel, it's as if you're staying in a home, not a hostel. Most people hangout in the common room at the front of the house where the tv and computers are. The bedrooms are upstairs.
The bedrooms themselves are great because of the beds, they're massive and very comfortable.
Bill is a handy host who can tell you anything about DC and give you some great tips on what to do or see around the city.
The price is right, and the location is great. You can catch the X2 bus out the front and head straight downtown for $1.70 a ride.
I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hostel and would recommend it to anyone who wants a cheap, clean, homely hostel to stay in when in DC.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
1
6
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Having travelled across the length of the U.S., staying in lots of hostels of all different types, this was one of the best. The man who runs the place is very kind and helpful, providing lots of maps and guides to us novices about the area, along with hints and tips on how to see the sites in the limited time that we had. We wouldn't have had just a great time if it wasn't for his advice! There was a TV area and several computers, which made the whole place very social and meant that we could meet lots of different people. Whilst a little rough around the edges, the room was clean, and quiet. This isn't really a hostel, but a friendly home that you're invited into and made to feel welcome by everyone. Washington DC as a whole isn't the nicest of places in terms of crime, but this hostel made me feel genuinely safe. The only advise I would give that I would give to future travellers, is that the there isn't a great number of bathroom/shower facilities (3 or 4 showers for the 16 or so people who stay at one time), so during busy periods I would recommend getting up in plenty of time (just in case!). Overall, this hostel is a very traditional, warm and friendly hostel, which was great value for $$$!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was my third stay at CCH but it was the first time with my wife and 15 year-old son. As usual, Bill met us at the front door and warmly gave us a thorough tour of the house. I really like the fact that it is a house. No locked dorm-room doors and 24-hour access.
The second night, at midnight, Bill came upstairs to our floor to gently stifle a number of hostellers who were talking loudly with their door open. I really appreciated that.
The hostel was clean, bed linen fresh and plenty of pillows.
My son enjoyed the free WiFi and I made extensive use of the free Internet to plan our 3-day itinerary.
I highly recommend this hostel with its friendly, helpful owner Bill.

Room Tip: Back rooms are away from the street but the noise is tolerable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Looking at other reviews, I had to leap to the defence of this hostel which I stayed in with my girlfriend for 7 days (longer than a lot of those previous reviewers). Sure the neighbourhood is grimy and a bit dodgy. But in all the 7 days there, where we took the local bus at least twice a day, not once were we put in danger ie its not as scary as it seems. The hostel is as basic as it gets, but the sheets we had were clean, and NO BED BUGS, and certainly no complaints of that nature from anyone else there, and it was a packed household.
Bill is as friendly as can be and welcomes you like he knows you - you wont get this in a lot of hostels. Free internet, free toast and peanut butter all day...fantastic for the long weary traveller. Thanks again Bill!
Tip - check out Bills wall of "thank you" notes - the entire wall is covered with them from people all over the world.(we left some Scottish coins glued to a piece of paper with a thank you message )

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

This Hostel is a bit outside the city center but walking is only half an hour and there is a bus in front of the door. The Owner is really really nice and helps you with everything! There is free Internet with free Computers which is very comfortable if you don't have an Notebook but there is free WiFi, too. Only 24 Dollar with Taxes included is very good for this nice place and there is always some free food if you are hungry!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstherWNZ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010 via mobile

I stayed there last week and am still being attacked by those burry little creatures. I can't get rid of them. My friend in another room also suffered at the mercy if the creepy crawlies!

Location isn't great but public transport is easy to where you want to go.

This isn't really a hostel but more of a converted house with bunk beds in the spare rooms while the owner lives in a room of the kitchen.

Last resort hostel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I'm not going to lie.......Bill is a legend. He will help you with anything, and after nearly being homeless I was very grateful to be able to stay here.

But good grief......we were ravished by BED BUGS, they literally made a 3 course meal out of us! Ive never been so itchy in all my life....

Me and a friend went next door to the Chinese takeout place.....BIG MISTAKE! A local approached us telling us about how he'd just got out of jail and was prepared to rob people (while eyeballing our handbags)...Hmm. Scary.

Positives....Bill is lovely, free internet, free peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

If you can see past the bed bugs, and scary local people then go for it! Be be warned....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capitol City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol City Hostel

Address: 2411 Benning Road NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Capitol City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol City Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.