We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long walk but worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DC by Foot

DC by Foot
1740 18th St. NW, Suite 304, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Dupont Circle)
+1 202-370-1830
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: DC by Foot is proud to offer an extensive schedule of pay-what-you-like Washington, DC tours, including the National Mall, Arlington Cemetery, Capitol Hill, Georgetown and more. In addition to walking tours, we also offer food, bike, bus and photography tours. Our tours come with no upfront costs, allowing you to pay what you thought a tour was worth, or what you could afford, at the end of the tour.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Long walk but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

What a way to see all the Washington sites. We were staying with friends living outside of the city. We travelled in by subway and just walked and walked. We saw everything and then stopped off in China Town for a wonderful lunch. I can't even remember all the sites now but needless to say we enjoyed each and every step. Our friend was a local and knew his american history. Everyone should visit Washington DC.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,414
    115
    9
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Informative & Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is the first time I have taken one of their walking tours and I really enjoyed it. The lady who took us round was very informative and attentive to all. We didn't feel too pressured to leave a tip, but why wouldn't you when she did such a good job.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect walking tour of the National Mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I did the two-hour walking tour of the National Mall and it was perfect! Our guide, Chis, was super knowledgeable and friendly - we could have listened to him all day. This is a much better way to see and learn about the memorials than a large bus tour or trying to do it on your own. We live in DC and have been to these memorials plenty of times, but we learned so much new information this time around. I highly recommend this tour for anyone visiting DC or for locals who want to learn more about the history of our city. We can't wait to do one of the other tours soon.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ghosts of Georgetown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We took the Ghosts of Georgetown Tour with Canden. It was cold but well worth going. Our guide was great and very knowledgeable. We got to see a lot of great places and learn about historical events and myths. You should try it!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I did three of these tours Christmas week -- the National Mall, Lincoln Assassination and Georgetown at Night. We had three different guides -- Canden, Erin and Erin (yes, there are at least two Erins) -- but enjoyed each tour equally. Our experience was that the guides are very organized and knowledgeable. And their speaking styles are loud and clear (important because the groups can be large). Washington has a lot to offer, but walking tours are a great way to see the city, enjoy the weather and learn something that you would not learn otherwise. We have done walking tours in many cities, and DC by Foot compares favorably with the best of those.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DC by Foot also viewed

 

Been to DC by Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DC by Foot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.